GALLERY: Kia Sportage – new QL together with old SL

Kia_Sportage_New_Old-5

The fourth-generation (QL) Kia Sportage was launched in Malaysia nearly a month ago, bringing with it a completely new design compared to the previous third-generation (SL) model. Just how radical are these changes? Well, we’ve prepared an extensive gallery of both for you to get a closer look.

Here we have the Sportage QL in the top-of-the-range 2.0 GT Line variant (the red car), while the SL is the 2.0 2WD version (the white car). As you can tell, the new Sportage’s looks are nothing short of striking. Visual highlights on the exterior include automatic HID projector headlamps (with auto levelling), “ice cube” LED fog lights, 19-inch alloys, circular tri-LED DRLs and LED rear combination lamps.

While it may appear that the new car stands taller next to the old one, the figures reveal that both cars actually have the same 1,635 mm height. The width remains the same as well at 1,855 mm, but the QL is slightly longer by 40 mm, at 4,480 mm.

Sportage SL 2.0 2WD (left), Sportage QL 2.0 GT Line (right)

Stepping inside, the Sportage 2.0 GT Line’s cabin echoes the same radical overhaul as the exterior. The new dashboard sports a cleaner and more upright design than before, with a touchscreen multimedia headunit taking centre stage, flanked by new air-con vents. Soft-touch material is also applied on the top dash, accompanied by piano black accents.

Moving downwards, you’ll find new switchgear for the dual-zone automatic air-con, followed by a pair of power outlets (now rated at 12V/180 W each). For the driver, the centre console has been redesigned to accommodate not just a new gear selector, but also buttons to operate the car’s Drive Mode function, hill descent control and parking sensors. Other niceties available include a flat-bottomed steering wheel as well as paddle shifters.

All occupants will have their posteriors resting on leather seats, with those at the front each having eight-way powered ones. Rear passengers meanwhile, now benefit from rear air-con vents, with the convenience of a USB charging port and power outlet located just below it. The rear bench and also be folded down (60:40 split) if needed, expanding the available boot space from 466 litres to 1,455 litres.

Sportage SL 2.0 2WD (left), Sportage QL 2.0 GT Line (right)

For power, the Sportage soldiers on with a 2.0 litre Nu MPI four-cylinder petrol unit that outputs 155 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A six-speed automatic transmission handles the power delivery to the front wheels.

As for pricing, a retail price of RM141,888 on-the-road with insurance is set for the 2.0 GT Line. The SUV comes with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty, and comes in a choice of five colours – Mercury Blue, Fiery Red, Snow White Pearl and Mineral Silver. The lower-spec 2.0 KX Line can be had for RM121,888, with a few equipment differences that you can find out in our launch report, here.

What do you think of the new Kia Sportage? Are you a big fan of its looks, or do you think the third-generation model is the better looker? As they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Kia Sportage QL 2.0 GT Line

Kia Sportage SL 2.0 2WD

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• meejawa on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:27 pm

“..The lower-spec 2.0 KX Line can be had for RM121,888, with a few equipment differences that you can find out in our launch report, here…”

The link for “here” is not there.

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Sorry about that. Thanks for pointing it out.

• Same L00 on Jun 21, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Kimchi no RV, Proton no quality. Every Malaysian knows it.
        However, for a RM138k Perdana, this Sportage is a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
        • And Toyota only gud for afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Same L00 on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Those safer Proton models (Iriz, Preve, Suprima S), no one buy.
            Those popular Proton models (Saga, Persona, Exora), everyday got ppl die in the cars.
            When john said Proton cars are safer, he meant the cars are safe when no one buy it, no one drive it. This point I agree with him!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Different segment, bub. Not all customers prefer sedans and not all customers prefer SUVs

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Brand new

Kia RM141k
      Nissan X trail RM125k (OTR)
      Mazda CX5 RM126k (OTR)

2 Years Later

Kia RM60k
      Nissan X Trail RM100k
      Mazda CX5 RM100k

When you sell the car, you will cry and cry like a newborn baby when the Bank ask you to top up the loan by RM30k

You will ask this, “But two whole years, ie 24 months, what did I really pay huh?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
      • Morgan on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Are you sure Nissan X trail (RM125K?)and CX5 (RM126k?) RV = RM100k after 2 years?

By the way, since you’re comparing base model then it should be,

Kia Sportage = RM121,888 OTR with insurance
        Nissan X-trail = RM142,800 OTR with insurance
        Mazda CX-5 = RM132272,63 OTR with insurance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Lol this guy really doesnt have any idea of what he’s talking about haha. Sportage is cheaper than its rival but still want to talk about RV after 2 years lol

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:56 pm

Now nobody is buying kimchi. 10 years ago, Hyundai and Kia was sold cheaper, so, people thought it was a good deal.

But in Malaysia, the bodoh distributors of Hyundai (GLC Sime Darby) and Kia (Naza GLC) got arrogant and decided to price their cars either SAME or higher than Japanese cars. This is how our BODOHs think. Typical Proton mentality who thinks they build Rolls Royce quality and prestige.

So now, 10 years later, buyers are keeping away from kimchi because they cost more than cars like HRV, CRV, X Trail and CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
      • bro, i think it’s thier world wide strategy, thier pricing is no longer on the cheaper side but similar range with japs which normally with better specs, so i am really disappointed with them being not giving any better specs for their lately launch model which is kind of sad. even mazda and honda started better specs as in better and more advanced active safety system for example.

• Ex VGM staff on Jun 22, 2016 at 9:59 am

Low pricing was the key to success for both hyundai and kia in Malaysia.
          Kia had several magic tricks with the original Spectra in 2002 at 84k, then naza citra at 86k and naza ria at 103k in 2003. Hyundai success was at the same time with the low slung Sonata, selling at 120k when altis and civic were selling at 110k. Now though the prices have been pushed up to make believe Korean products have achieved the same level of sophistication, looks and engineering reliability of Japanese counterparts.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:41 pm

Some people doesnt bother to do their own research, nuff said. Kia is well known for their better specs than its rival, cheaper as well. That one u dont want to complaint?

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Only in Malaysia the mindset still cannot be changed. Kia is highly appreciated in Europe because of their quality.

• Is it just me, or does the front scream too much wanna-be-Porsche Cayenne/Macan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Fanta Strawberry on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:02 am

Yes, the Macan from Orient.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:43 pm

At least the Sportage gives a better look and sportier than its rival! Continental touch, i like!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:51 pm

No comparison of side profile? Cos I think the general shape looks almost identical from the side.

When the SL came out, it was a breath of fresh air. A very good looking SUV. Made the CRV looked ugly. But fast forward now, the evolutionary changes from SL to QL, while still a handsome car, is no longer turning heads. The sexy thing now is the CX-5, and the class smaller, CX-3 (and soon the CX-9 as well). The competition, especially Mazda, has caught up, and Kia is slow to react. In fact, even the new Hyundai Tucson looks better (though I found its predecessor dull looking).

• Paul Tan on Jun 21, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Try using these two links

old – http://paultan.org/2016/06/21/gallery-kia-sportage-fourth-gen-and-third-gen/kia_sportage_old_ext-10/

new – http://paultan.org/2016/06/21/gallery-kia-sportage-fourth-gen-and-third-gen/kia_sportage_new_ext-12/

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:44 pm

CX5 is sexier? Are u kidding me? The price is also much expensive Sportage is better

• i thought kia always fully loaded wit specs, but the 4″ touch screen just does not match the modern looks…why the sister Tucson can offer 8″ with gps and 3 years free service with just additional 3k? anyway, Tucson looks more handsome and manly

• CS Tan on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:56 pm

4″ touch screen (original from Korea) because of the stock JBL 8 speaker (including sub-woofer). Unlike Tucson’s after market 8 inch touch screen with 6 speakers, the sound quality of this sportage is extraordinary. Go feel the different in showroom for yourself.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Bro if u want to compare is has to be apple vs apple u cannot compare an apple with peach. Tucson rival is Kia Sorento.

• Why buy RM 122K without a keyless system/sun roof and no signal light at the side mirror/2WD + high depreciation cost?

You have plenty of options like for honda HRV/CRV/Mazda CX5/Nissan Xtrail.

They will provide RM 20K discount later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:47 pm

You may look at the Sportage GT now. Its has all the features u mentioned and even better than all of them!

• choha on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:11 pm

the old one looks better, and cut the bmw broken-nosed bonnet style

• diablo on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:31 pm

ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Kelvin Kong on Jun 21, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Poor CRV, still low quality . Hahaha

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:49 pm

I dont know why people still going for the low spec CRV. Branding over quality and features? *facepalm* Sportage and Sorento beat their rivals easily

• Sammy Loo on Jun 22, 2016 at 1:07 am

No need to compare with CR-V, CX-5 and X-Trail, even the Forester will be selling better than this junk.

• Comparing a GT with a 2WD version? Maybe you can’t compare with High Spec because the previous AWD version comes with Sun and Panaromic roof?
    Owned 2 Kia, Forte and K5, am disappointed with what they finally offered with GT. Its 2016 model and they spec down this beast. All the best Kia.

• Got the Porsche Macan shadow…

• Aikon on Jun 23, 2016 at 8:52 am

Wonder why they left out cruise control in the new model. Useful for highway driving and I do use this feature almost all the time. Hope they put that back in for the mid cycle enhancement, or life cycle impulse or whatever they may call it.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:51 pm

U may find it in the new Sportage GT CRDi 2017. Lots of features!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 25, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Get a new Tucson instead. Forget about KIA as they cannot be traded in