DBKL to reveal revised parking rates for other areas soon – Mont Kiara, Bangsar, Sri Hartamas and Kepong

Public-Parking-Lots

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will reveal the revised parking rates in other areas within the city soon, said Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor in a report by The Sun.

“It is being reviewed and we will decide soon. Wait for the announcement in a few days’ time,” he told reporters recently, adding that the areas that are being reviewed are townships such as Mont Kiara, Bangsar, Sri Hartamas and Kepong.

Last week, DBKL-owned parking bays within the city’s central business district (CBD) saw a hike in parking charges by 150% from RM0.80 an hour to RM2 for the first hour. Beyond that, it will cost drivers RM3 for the second hour and each subsequent hour after that. Additionally, a maximum parking cap of just two hours was implemented in selected areas.

tengku adnan bernama pix

Suffice to say, the move was not well received by drivers based on the comments we received in our earlier report. Following negative public feedback, DBKL has since scrapped the implementation of the new parking charges in TTDI with immediate effect.

“We received feedback from the public and some are happy with this measure to improve parking issues in the city, some are not,” Tengku Adnan said, assuring that the review of parking fees will be in the best interests of the rakyat.

“The city needs to work towards becoming a green city with zero carbon emission so we have to implement programmes in line with this,” he added. Tengku Adnan also stated that the city’s parking rates have not increased in 40 years.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• DBKL bodo piang. If we got Pinoy Harry, those who wanna park in CBD wun persoal and shaddup just follow, otherwise kena piang piang. We need leaders like Pinoy Harry cuz all here nobolas

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 1:42 pm

This is so shameful. It shows the DBKL mayor is like a yoyo and has no telur. Do you know why TTDI got exemption? According to my sources at DBKL, TTDI has the highest concentration of INFLUENTIAL government servants and Tan Sris and Datuks.

A few Tan Sris made noise cause their drivers and wives now got to pay more when they go to TTDI pasar to buy their ikan tenggiri.

After they complained, the KL Mayor bola kecut and DBKL telur terus kecut also Now, they quickly say TTDI is following old rates. And today, they say another story, revised rates for certain areas.

Hello DBKL and Mayor, please grow some telur lah. Be fair. If every area go up, all areas must go up. You cannot pilih kasih sayang. Next, you will give exemption to Damansara Heights cause there got highest concentration of Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

Today, we see that. All rich man areas have complained. Mont Kiara, Bangsar, Sri Hartamas. Ku Nan bola also shrunk.

What does this tell you? Rich people got influence and power. they get richer. The poor kerani or student still have to pay at exorbitant rates in city centre because the kerani and student has no power.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 1:43 pm

This what happens when before passing a new law, you have 20 meetings. But the 20 meetings, 90% of the time, you minum teh tarik and makan kuih lapis and karipap.

Before any decision can be brought about, you bersurai the meeting and say, “Jemput makan kuih lapis dan makan karipap, kita boleh bersambung minggu depan”

So, just for a small decision, you take 6 months of meetings which is mainly minum teh dan makan karipap (KL Mayor’s relative is the caterer!)

This is why like yo yo now.

• Kuku nan, you say you want the city center to be zero carbon my ass, with this corrupt gomen policies what type of cars are we getting and at what price? Where is the efficient reasonable public transport?…Us motorist pay road tax…but where is the smooth roads? All filled with bad patch works or potholes….just tell the truth that the gomen is broke now…need to squeeze more monies from the rakyat.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 27, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Wait, you mean you all never do any study beforehand?

• (1) Why is that there isn’t a government dept after all these years that specializes itself in regular quality inspection checks on road conditions for motorists and bikers ? Many bikers have experienced driving over sharp bumps built to cover drainage pipes for years before re-leveling repairs were done.
    (2) Why does not the government make it compulsory for all motorbike models to have the signal-lights alarm be installed. Many bikers carelessly leave the “silent” signal lights on after making a turning, endangering themselves, other bikers and motorists around them.

• Fatah on Jul 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm

In mont kiara especially, there is no lrt or bus. If you ride taxi to go there, it will cost you rm20 to rm50 a day. Not economic at all. So the best way to go there is only using car. Before think about green city or zero carbon emission what so ever, think about rakyat first. If dbkl want to put high parking fee there, put lrt and more buses there!

• Mohd Faiz on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:48 pm

if they put more buses, then defeated the zero emission motto! they are encouraging cycling practice at those area with future expansion plan for bicycle lanes and pondok for cyclist rest and relax..

• Fatah on Jul 28, 2016 at 12:05 pm

That future expansion you talk about is when? 50 years later? I old already that time la. Not working anymore. You expect people from far like from Ampang, Gombak, Puchong, PJ ride basikal to go there? Jauh la abang. If they want to make bicycle lane, I really doubt that they can make roof covered one. Kalau hujan macam mana? Malaysia is not like oversea. Our country have so much rain. And hot day is really hot. Don’t you get it? Zero emission my a**. Puih.

• Peter on Jul 27, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Yet, gov claim that inflation rise < 1% this year!

• Wanna create green city with zero carbon emission in kl? Can no problem.. Increase parking rates 1000% then see business all die, no more rental and turn it into ghost town. Mission complete

• Nak cakap bod*h, semua educated.

Motive: To show angelic face. “We listen to the rakyat” and all of those propaganda.

Sorry to say KuNan, seriously it is a moronic actions: increase & decrease.

Thank god I am not Putrajaya voter.

• Sri Hartamas actually has the biggest hike. Before the hike, the area is categorized under outside city centre. Rate is RM0.50 per hour. Now, it’s considered as CBD. So, it’s 300% hike!

But now, I noticed rate has been revised to flat rate RM1.50/hour (RM0.10/4 minutes after that) with maximum for 4 hours. Still it’s 200% hike. The good news is, you can get vacant parking space where it’s almost impossible before.

• You’re absolutely right about the rate hike at outside city centre areas as I have observed the same for Brickfields this week. It’s now RM 1.50 an hour, with a maximum limit of 4 hours.

• I wonder do they realise that public transportation isn’t exactly the most efficient nor is it the safest? Actually I am asking a stupid question, these people are never out in public without a troop of bodyguard or a parade of police escort in their tinted up S klasse of course they don’t.

I do agree that pricing should go up to limit the usage of cars in the city( I park in malls where it is already priced exorbitantly and I expect that rate to go even higher still) but it should be introduced in stages and proportionally to the efficiency of public transport, now with the MRT up and about.

I was in Tokyo the other day and you never really need a taxi or a vehicle; trains and buses do the job because they are so damn efficient(There’s a train every 3mins on the Yamanote loop line), so the concept is feasible. But that complements the cool and humid less weather and the perfect disciplinary of the Japanese culture(line up, walk fast, no escalator hogging), things that Malaysia lacks….. And also safety, every dark corner seems like an invitation to be mugged in KL.

• tokmoh. on Jul 27, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Sugoi, AVH-san got go Akiba? I still yet to visit Japan, wanna see real world Gundam hewhewhew.

I’ll give u a hint : DBKL parking collection had been outsourced to some yayasan something. U know I know la why they suddenly adamant to increase rate, some cronies perlu cari makan lettew.

• Yea went to Akihabara almost nightly during my week in Tokyo, for dinner as my transit involves changing train a station down at Okachimachi, the food are still below ¥1000 which is impossible to get elsewhere like Shibuya or Ikkebukuro. No where is the stench of virginity stronger than Akiba haha, but good place, spotted my first Cayman GT4 and 675LT there along with nismo GTR and other JDMs. Gundam is at Diver City at Odaiba, pretty inaccessible compared to other parts of Tokyo as its only accessible by some private line and not the usual Tokyo Metro or JR lines.

Yea we all know that the parking is fed to some crony or rather. I just thought about it, just the other day at Subang, I was ticketed for not paying the parking ticket, the reason I didn’t pay was not because I was ignorent…. But 2 out of the nearby 4 parking machine was down and the other 2 won’t accept my bloody coins. A far cry from Japan where every machine is coin operated and you don’t have the troublesome “insert coin-by-coin” like Malaysia, throw the ceilings into a hole/bucket and the machine will sort out the right amount and eject the spares. And with the machines now counting in ringgit, how the hell are we supposed to pay ? Put in RM10 worth of coins?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 27, 2016 at 5:43 pm

complain apa…double park triple park only la

• crash on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:53 pm

This only benefits the rich because they will not feel the pinch of increased parking fare and more parking spots for them at the expense of the middle class and lower class earners.
    Tengku Nan is just telling the rakyat , “you poor fags should get off the streets in KL to make way for the rich ” .

• dumb ass authorities… waste rakyat money on sign boards for new rates… then make a killing on inflated rates… then revise rates… again new sign boards…. taking us for fools…..

• Cakap Karut on Jul 29, 2016 at 9:25 am

You can’t simply drastically increase parking rates without providing efficient public transport. What green city are you talking about? Are our buildings using green technology? Do we have electric buses? Are there nice green parks all around the city? Are the facilities in the city even clean and well kept??? Please la Ku Nan…you’re just grabbing any excuse out of thin air. I remember him saying that new parking rates not DBKLs fault. It was in the NEWSPAPER for everyone to see. Enough of these half past six officials la.