UMW Toyota to introduce four new cars in 2016 – Sienta this month; new Innova; updated Vios, Camry

Toyota_Sienta_Ext-2

UMW Toyota is set for four new introductions this year, and they are the Sienta (August), new Innova (end-2016) and “improvements” to the Vios and Camry sedans. This was revealed by UMWT president Datuk Ismet Suki at the launch of the 2016 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire.

The Toyota Sienta needs no introduction, as the curious-looking car has been displayed to the public on more than one occasion. This includes a preview during My Auto Fest 2016 back in May, followed by a display at Toyota’s showroom in Mitsui Outlet Park. It’s good to know that the seven-seat MPV will be making its official debut here shortly after its larger siblings (Alphard and Vellfire).

Available in two variants – base 1.5G and 1.5V – pricing for both have also been revealed, with the former wearing a RM92,900 sticker and the former retailing at RM99,900 (prices are on-the-road with insurance). However, in both times we’ve seen the Sienta, it is only the high-spec 1.5V, and not the base 1.5G.

As for the “improvements” to the Vios and Camry, the former could possibly be a reference to the refreshed model already available in Thailand. We’ve already gotten up close with the new Vios during the 2016 Bangkok Motor Show, which comes with some pretty significant abbreviations.

Chief among them is the inclusion of VSC (Vehicle Stability Control), joining the already-standard ABS with EBD and brake assist. The other is the CVT that replaces the current model’s four-speed automatic gearbox, with a seven-speed stepped-ration mode. Said transmission is mated to a new 2NR-FBE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine capable of running on E85 biofuel.

Should the new Vios be introduced in Malaysia, we will most likely not get the 2NR-FBE powertrain, but instead, the regular 2NR-FE Dual VVT-i (Sienta engine), without E85 capability.

In terms of output, the Thai-spec engine outputs 108 hp at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,200 rpm, slightly down in torque (by 1 Nm) from our current 1NZ-FE Vios.

As for the Camry, we’re not certain as to what improvements can be introduced to it. If we had to guess, it could be something like the previous pre-facelift Camry 2.0G X (pictured here). Should that be the case, a new 2.0G X should slot in between the current 2.0G and range-topping 2.5 Hybrid, with more kit.

Finally, the new Innova, which has already been revealed for the Indoesian market. Featuring a brand-new design inside and out, the MPV has been made a little more upmarket than before thanks to its more expansive equipment list. This extends to the vehicle’s safety kit as well, which includes seven airbags and VSC electronic stability control for the top-spec variant there.

Engine options in the Republic include a 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i 1TR-FE four-cylinder petrol engine (139 PS/ 183 Nm) or the new 2GD-FTV 2.4 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel that debuted on the Hilux, with 149 PS and 359 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 2,600 rpm. The engines are mated to either a six-speed torque converter automatic with manual mode (replacing the four-speed auto) or a five-speed manual.

GALLERY: Toyota Sienta 1.5V at Mitsui Outlet Park

GALLERY: New Toyota Vios at the 2016 Bangkok Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Like toyota but disappointed with umw sc on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Good move.
    No business thats why improve camry and vios.

Both are good cars I say….but still not selling as well as before due to fierce market condition. Good that toyota climb back to top sales in boleh land…

Last but not least! After sales service deteriorate badly compared to few years back making it scary to buy toyota again.

Moved on to other brand which provide free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • BMW gives 5 years free service

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:54 am

Look at the car price. And how much margin bmw has inside. No such thing as free. Customer is already paying for it (inclusive in retail price)

• Same L00 on Aug 05, 2016 at 12:44 am

With so many good models, soon we will see Toyota sales number 1 again.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Thank you the government of Malaysia to screw up the value of the ringgit and the people here have to drive these overpriced carbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Operation Manager on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Oh sohai… how to price Camry X between G(160k)-Hybrid(170k) while E kosong(150k). How to sell…? Passat(115k), Accord(128k), Teana (120k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • isengard12 on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:43 pm

“with the former wearing a RM92,900 sticker and the former retailing at RM99,900”

Er, so what price is it?

• Easy. When got sales and toyota head become big, expect the higher price. When no sales and toyota head become puny, expect the lower price.

So consumers, u know what u need to do.

• ahmad on Aug 10, 2016 at 1:45 pm

rm92k for low spec and rm99k for highest spec both for sienta model..
      already confirm..

• spongewai on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:45 pm

screwed that UMW Toyota always give a manual air-cond for Vios G-spec & TRD-spec

• Nelliel on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:27 am

I hate UMW but, manual aircon? Are you that lazy? My cars do have auto aircon but I still use manual configuration to suit my needs. Come on man… there’s not much difference between auto and manual aircon… I would understand if you need double blowers…

Unbelievable…

• camtakpro on Aug 08, 2016 at 8:08 am

Probably that’s the last thing to want.

Give VSC for all ranges all models please, rear camera, rear blower, and push-start. No reason not to since they can give DVDAVN rear camera push start for ViosJ.

p/s: Not the lousy Proton insert-key-fob-like-volvo push start.

• sohhai on Aug 04, 2016 at 4:59 pm

New Camry 2.0G X: got X got it all…NOT!

• hailthepurist on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:37 pm

‘updated’ simply means facelift by jepunis overlord standard..

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Wow interesting year for toyota…habis la honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Tell the truth la Toyota boyfan! on Aug 04, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Interesting? Nobody interested with ugly mpv Sienta.It just carry forward avanza with van look alike & hidious interior.Wait for Honda’s mpv BRV coming soon.Much sleek in design n performance.What kind of improvement vios is if facelift less power than current one? And overpriced Camry compared with better Accord in term of space,design,power? Don’t say about RV coz Toyota no more superior anymore.Selling the highest price but RV value less than Honda.Go check yourself!

• camtakpro on Aug 08, 2016 at 10:32 am

How to be interesting when VSC also available in Bezza and Iriz and both cost at least half of what UMW cheapest offering?

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Camry CBU in US comes with 10 airbags. Comes with about 20 safety features our caplang CKD Camry (with 2 airbags and no VSC) does not have.

Government owned UMW purposely take out about 20 safety features and the 10 airbags which come as standard. They take out a host of safety features that is standard in any Global Camry.

And yet, this Camry in the US is sold for US$22k and our old Camry 2.5 is RM180k, despite being CKD and despite being stripped botak and no VSC and just 2 airbags.

To all the pondans who say our Camry is cheaper than Indonesia and Thailand, please bear in mind, our great Najib has said, we will be first world in 2020. That is 3 years and 5 months time. Thus, we should be comparing to first world Toyota pricing too.

Australia even better. Australia CBU Camry Hybrid less than AUD29k. That is about RM90k. Comes to Malaysia tax free. But here, UMW sells CKD stripped down Camry Hybrid for RM175k.

Both Australia and Malaysia have 30 million population so market size is the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Siaran ulangan astro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Albert on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Dato AutoFrenz
        Toyota is no doubt nos 1 worldwide,with profits of US 17 Billion last year.
        However,in Bolehland….it has lost to Honda.
        We need some siaran ulangan…so that Toyota Japan will take note.
        UMW’s pricing is ALWAYS PREMIUM but with SKELETON SPECS.
        lOOK AT THE discounts today in the STAR.If they can give such discounts,it goes to show the DEPTH of their margins…easily 25-30 percent.
        I suspect UMW,in order to maximise profits…strip each Toyota to the bare minimum in terms of specs.
        Those extras that one can find in Hondas,are missing in the Toyotas.
        Thats why the CEO and top guns can relax in 7 star posh office at Shah Alam,while the rakyat become financial slaves for the next 7-9 years due to huge hire purchase loans.
        In UK AND aUSTRALIA,most of their citizens can afford to OWN CARS.
        In Bolehland….the BANKS mostly own cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Why compare jauh2? Thailand aint that affordable either..

• Dun know why bashers wanna go all the way to Mars for comparison. If they just go north, its not so different price. If go south, lagi most expensive in the universe.
            So ours not so bad after all.

• so what cars should i buy in malaysia for a, b, c, d segments?

• Dun think, dun persoal. Just shaddup and buy my Bisa. Its untested, straight from prototype to showroom, therefore it will inspire confidence in u.

• i just need a sincere positive advice

• Megane on Aug 05, 2016 at 10:48 am

Buy what your finance allows and you are able to live comfortably . Target a 5 yr loan . ABCD is determined around what your family needs

• kzm (Member) on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:21 pm

I feel sad for whole ASEAN not just bolehland…Toyota in ASEAN pricing is quite ridiculous. Camry CBU in US price is bout $23k but when come to ASEAN country..they price Camry in boleh RM154k, Thai Bt1374k(RM159k), Singapore $150k (RM450k)n Indonesia Rp560M (RM170k)

• Wait a minute. This means MY price is cheapest in region? Imposibru!
        Ini mesti tipu muslihat NajibBNGovP1Tongkat…

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:59 am

I think Vietnam has the highest car price. There is one figure u need to add on top of the car price and it is known as Luxury Tax. Go check.

• Ben Yap on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:18 pm

oh my god! that vios performance figures is really a turn off.

• Then better buy my untested Bisa. U will likey cuz its superlight milo tin body will make u fly… straight to Nirvana. Have confidence in me! Have confidence in my Bisa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Finally, Toyota is inching out of the cave.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 04, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Boring…..

• Buy Toyota or any other sushi or Korean cars is the right way. As long as it’s not rubbish junk crap Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • horrayooi on Aug 04, 2016 at 6:30 pm

No close up photograph of dashboard instrumentation panel of the Vios. Probably they didn’t upgrade the bulb lighted temperature icon to proper temperature gauge. If that is the case another letdown. No reason to omit this item which don’t cost much. However the CVT with seven speed stepped-ration and dual vvti new engine beat the present City spec. Time for City to upgrade to paddle shifter which the Thai spec have.( Don’t forget the temperature gauge)

• horrayooi on Aug 04, 2016 at 8:14 pm

After I have written about no close photograph of instrumentation panel paultan edited to include one. ( It shows only lighted bulb temperature icons, no temperature gauge)

• Halimy on Aug 04, 2016 at 7:58 pm

That barger probably meant improvements to the Altis as the Altis was launched in 2014 and due for a facelift.

• Alan Tan on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Curious to know which engine they going to introduce for innova?

• old horse on Aug 04, 2016 at 10:49 pm

whatever Toyota UMW launch now wont bring them to any life back soon…

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:39 am

CVT? C’mon, where are the Proton CVT bashers? Sure to be noisy, no power, easy to break, right?

• KIA-IS-JUNK on Aug 05, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Punch CVT is outdated CVT like that use in Dugong City, This Toyota CVT is one if not the best CVT in the market.

• wawasan2020 on Aug 05, 2016 at 4:47 am

Why not rav4? Stop bringing ugly piece of junk into our homeland pls..

• Thankyouforlies on Aug 05, 2016 at 8:50 am

Thank you for the last 4 years, that price has been gradually going UP since the last GE.

So thankful that the gov is doing it’s BEST to keep the promise they like to break the last GE.

Good job…seriously. I think they can book another jet to go somewhere to collect awards or attend Grammy for best actor/actress.

• Toyota big headed cuz they r crony of Party Hard. So in Pinang & Sel, they lansi like Sammy and up price while down spec.

See Forrester from Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down. Janji telah ditepati

• Ng Kin Mun on Aug 13, 2016 at 7:02 pm

1.5 toyota sienna call an mpv? Under powered and so ugly looking. Better buy a van

• Robert on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:51 am

I do hope to see the Sienta here in the Philippines, this would be a great new line up for Toyota.

• Patricia Tews on Aug 30, 2016 at 4:51 pm

According to Toyota, the car is based on a ‘luxury-sport’ design for both the exterior and interior. The exterior has been enlarged, keeping the same width as the outgoing model. The interior is also made to be even more spacious than before, however its speedometer position is no longer mounted on the centre of the dashboard as with the earlier models of the Vios. As with the previous model, it bears much resemblances with the Toyota Yaris for the Southeast Asia market.