BMW 330e iPerformance teased on official website – to be revealed at BMW Innovation Days on Aug 26 to 28

Screen Shot 2016-08-11 at 3.38.43 PM

The BMW 330e iPeformance has been teased on the BMW Malaysia website as part of its promotion of the BMW Innovation Days event, happening at Desa ParkCity on August 26 to 28. The plug-in hybrid sedan will be unveiled there, weeks after it was confirmed that the car will make its way to the Malaysian market.

It’s a big deal, this car, mostly because of its expected pricing – although the exact figure has yet to be confirmed, dealers have intimated that the 330e will slot in around the RM240k to RM260k mark. This means that this 248 hp petrol-electric sports sedan will undercut the RM297,800 330i M Sport – which comes with similar performance – by a fair margin, and put it just above the RM231,800 320i Sport Line.

The banner image for the event shows a Sport Line-equipped car, and while that may not be representative of the car that will be sold here, it does corroborate with what was reported earlier – that the 330e could be offered in either Sport Line or M Sport variants.

Under the bonnet sits a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine developing 184 hp and 290 Nm, meaning that it’s down on power compared to the same engine in the X5 xDrive40e and 740e. Boosting that engine is an 87 hp/250 Nm electric motor, putting total system output at 248 hp and 420 Nm – sent to the rear wheels through an eight-speed automatic transmission.

As such, the 330e will sprint from 0-100 km/h in 6.3 seconds before topping out at 220 km/h, figures that are comparable to the 330i’s 5.8-second acceleration time and 250 km/h top speed. However, the 330e will also return combined fuel consumption of just 2.1 litres per 100 km – compared to 6.1 litres per 100 km on the 330i – and it also has an all-electric range of 22.5 km, at speeds of up to 120 km/h.

You can register your interest for BMW Innovation Days by clicking here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Any idea how much it cost to charge the battery at our house scoket?

• RealistMon on Aug 11, 2016 at 6:24 pm

why so much trouble…
      Just BUY the cheapest variant BMW 318i @ RM200k & done with it.
      only the premium badge mattered anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Time to get rid of my useless Gen 2 which i hate

• U made the right choice. only toyota salemen still buys their junks

• Proton is a junk that everyone should get rid of

• Vellfire on Aug 13, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Wow….just buy 200k car?
        Even buying a 150k unregistered Toyota Vellfire wont be that easy. . . . .

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 11, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Whilst we are thankful this car is coming cheap, my advice to car buyers, especially BMW buyers, be careful when you buy the G30 5 series or the 730Li or 740Li. This is because, we got a flip flop government.

You see, the buyers who bought their X5 for RM580k are now crying cause the x5 Plug in is RM388k. So now, their car tak laku. Cannot sell. Bought RM580k, want to sell RM300k 1 year old X5 also cannot get buyer.

The same with the 320i and 328i buyers. Now this 330i Plug In come out, their prices will jatuh like crazy.

The same warning to the G30 5 series buyers. You buy the 520i and 528i now, when the G30 Plug in Hyrbid comes out and it is sold for RM300k…..you will cry like the X5 owners who bought at RM588k

7 series owners also beware. When they bring in the 740e Pug In Hyrbid, your 730li and 740li will be worth half in value.

We have to thank our flip flop Government for this. This warning extends to the new E200 Mercedes too. Buy today at RM380k. when a plug in hybrid is introduced, you will cry when it is sold for RM250k

The same with Honda Accord and Civic and other Japanese cars. They are all coming out with Hybrid Plug Ins. When that happens your Accord, Civic will drop in value like a comet.

What should we do now? Wait. Wait until all car manufacturers come out with plug ins and the market in Malaysia stabilizes. Refrain from buying any cars the next 1 or 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 48
    • Jual mahal, u bash.
      Jual murah, u pun bash.

U winliaolor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • durian durian kk on Aug 11, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Same copy paste durian story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • BMW Malaysia on Aug 11, 2016 at 7:46 pm

The new BMW 5 (G30) expected to be priced approximately RM270K. Please come to our Innovation Day for advance booking.

• Yippie on Aug 11, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Ppl are divided into class, there are those who can buy a civic in a heart beat, those that afford camry anytime they want, those who can buy a Audi just because they like it, and those who can own a ferrari in a blip as they are showy and rich. Based on your comment, you are the class of ppl who count to the cents. In other word, not into the class thus cant really afford. Look outside, did you see any german car driver pose a regret face or really sad unhappy unaffordable expression just because others got the same ride cheaper? No they just drive and enjoy it, why? Because it is affordable to them. They dont shout and lecture as loud as u did. Now thats what we call class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • The rambutan kinte on Aug 11, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Ex proton operator that hates proton and his proton so much. No medicine bang.

• Dude! What a class act of lecturing him in class! Hi five!

• I am just wondering about the reliability of the battery and how much will it cost to repair or swap new? because there’s not many review or feedback on the previous hybrid by bmw. Hopefully with this latest/current tech the battery will last longer

• Should i get this or wait for the soon to come (but would take a while to reach malaysia) next-gen 3 series?

• Petrolhead on Aug 11, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Please dont offer the car in M sport kit and small wheels…ugly lo

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2016 at 12:30 am

Some will bite the bullet and go for this model for sure. I’m more concerned with how long the battery within it will last before a five figure replacement battery is needed and this is the first generation of 3er with a battery in it. Maybe I’ll wait for the next gen whereby they would have ironed out the issues they had with the first generation model…

• Tahniah on Aug 12, 2016 at 7:30 am

“Terima kasih” – TNB boss