GIIAS 2016: Lexus RC F – V8 coupe with carbon dress

Lexus_RCF-1

The Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) 2016 may be more about utility vehicles that serve basic motoring needs, but there are treats for car enthusiasts as well. Here’s one: the Lexus RC F optioned with a full carbon fibre pack. The carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) panels on the hood, roof and rear spoiler shave off 10 kg from the big coupe. Looks delicious in red + carbon doesn’t it?

The Lexus RC F is the F (for Fuji Speedway, the Japanese track where much of Lexus’ high-speed development occurs) performance flagship of the RC coupe range, which is the two door sister of the IS. This car fights the BMW M4 and Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe, but unlike the boosted German duo, Lexus kept faith with a big naturally-aspirated V8 engine that must be one of the last of its kind.

The 5.0 litre unit makes 477 PS at 7,100 rpm and 530 Nm of torque from 4,800 to 5,600 rpm. Drive is channeled through a close-ratio eight-speed ‘sports direct shift’ automatic with the option of a world’s first torque-transfer type torque-vectoring system for a front-engine/rear-drive car. It gets to 100 km/h in 4.6 seconds, on to a top speed of 270 km/h.

Lexus_RCF-15

Although it has 12% more power than the IS F’s V8, this 2UR-GSE engine adopts the Atkinson cycle when operating at cruising speeds for better economy. Comparable to a 4.2 litre engine at maximum at a cruise, Lexus says.

Seventy per cent of RC F’s suspension hardware is unique. The F has all-coil suspension, with double wishbones at the front and a multi-link unit at the rear. They include new springs, dampers and stabiliser bar with revised characteristics, as well as suspension bushing and bound stopper. The steering knuckle and lower arm have been redesigned to alter the king-pin offset. Also different is the suspension geometry.

The RC F gets upgraded brakes, with 380 mm spiral-fin front rotors, improved brake cooling and a vertical g-sensor as part of the ABS control. The latter a direct result of extensive testing at the Nurburgring, Lexus says. It allows for changes in vertical loads, and hence optimise control of braking force the instant load returns to the tyres after jumping a crest.

Available from Lexus Malaysia for RM743k for those who want a unique coupe, in both design and hardware.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Trademark Danny tan photos

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Actually, this time around I had (very good) help with me at GIIAS. Pics from the show are the handiwork of our photographer Sherman Sim :)

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Stunning…it makes the 4 series and c coupe look like auntie…only a5 comes close…bravo lexus bravo…

• Quote from Proton CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah:

‘We have the sexiest car, the Perdana’

The Perdana is probably sexier than Rosmah

• Definitely sexier than constantly anemic Nurul Iz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • Kesha on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:48 am

Not as sexy as hishamuddin in your case

• Hisha is actually quite photogenic, especially for a heavy smoker like him. So ur counterpoint is moot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • The model is sexier than the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Seng chai on Aug 15, 2016 at 6:28 pm

The model is more high mantainance than the car.

• I doubt it. I think both r equally high maintainance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • Potong on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

I think Proton’s car is higher maintenance than both

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Changed all filters, fan belt, spark plugs, labour cost, total is Rm180 only.
            If thats expensive for u, then u better ride kapcai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Change it 10 times in 3 years, it is RM1800, so dont get conned by p1 salesman. You will spend a lot of time and money at Proton SC.
            When RM180 can buy so many things, you should doubt of its quality. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Yes. Rm180 can definitely buy u lotsa maggi since u need it cuz sales month in, month out. Poor thing u.

• Lexus model is sexier than Proton’s model. Cars also the same

• But P1 outsell Lexus woh. So according to basher logic Lexus quality suxkier than P1 lah! Betui kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • john otak batu on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Oh no, you’re wrong john. Lexus actually outsells P1 worldwide woh, especially Sg. So you admit that P1’s quality is very sucky? Haha

• Nope. According to data, Lexus din outsell P1. So back to u, means U agree lexus quality sux?

• johorean on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:42 am

If want to compare sales number, nothing beats P1 that only sold 1 car in Sg. According to john’s logic, P1’s quality is the most sux of all car manufacturers

• But we in MY, so if compare P1 sales to Lexus, P1 outselling means Lexus quality ultimately suxcky, right?

Macam mana u mau pusing pun salah jugak.

• john otak batu on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:21 pm

May be in MY lah, but globally Proton still the most sux in the WORLD. Betul, john?

• Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:50 pm

In Malaysia, Proton outsell Lexus simply because Lexus is expensive, never because Proton is good. You are taxing the poor. Thanks god we still have P2. And Proton better be quiet with RM1.5bil. It is matter of time we see Proton close shop only.

• Same L00 on Aug 15, 2016 at 5:40 pm

Why Lexus so expensive in Malaysia? Thanks to Proton’s protection and its RM1.5bil pocket money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Tax the rich so no problemo. Wait a minute! Is that u Albert/ Albert Yong/ George Abdul/ Kuntilanak/ RBA john?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • AutoFan on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Why Proton no sexy model like this?

• Cuz they focus on car not on model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • ProTongkat on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:33 am

Proton only focus on sucking our RM1.5B. Proton is a well known ‘cheater’. All models also scared of Proton not paying them like the vendors

• And P2 only focus of reliably sending pipu to early afterlife, so whats ur point?

• ProTongkat on Aug 16, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Haha… Nothing to counter my point but want to talk about afterlife. P1 has been doing it for 30 years. Your point, john?

• Same L00 on Aug 16, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Your car won’t have accident UNLESS you drive it. Proton so safe? Bang it to the tree, you have your after life instantly too.
            Drive carefully then you can avoid accident. But drive carefully, your Proton still break down anywhere anytime. Don’t play play with Proton quality.

• Matchmaker on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:19 pm

Coz they run away when they hear the word ‘Proton’. If too sexy, they will be labeled as ‘haram’ by Jakim. Only Rosmah like models can ‘match’ Proton

• lowyat on Aug 15, 2016 at 11:51 pm

Proton cars are lousy like their models

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Cantiq.
    I mean the girl in white.

• Kesha on Aug 16, 2016 at 8:49 am

Cheap looking car