Lexus UX Concept – first preview ahead of Paris 2016

lexus-ux-concept

Lexus has released a first teaser image of its upcoming Lexus UX Concept, which previews an upcoming small SUV slotted under the Lexus NX, possibly based on the Toyota C-HR platform.

Lexus says the UX Concept was designed by Toyota’s European Design Centre, ED2. According to the press release that accompanies this image, it takes the Lexus design language to the next level, and its strongly differentiated identity is meant to appeal to a progressive, urban audience living in a connected environment.

We first heard of the name UX back in February 2016, where we learned that the Japanese luxury brand had trademarked the names UX 200, UX 250 and UX 250h in Australia. At that time, we sort of guessed it would be something small because of the engine sizes in the names.

Since the NX competes with the likes of the Mercedes-Benz GLC and the BMW X3, the UX would compete in a segment below with cars like the GLA and X1, a market that Infiniti has joined as well with the GLA-based QX30.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 09, 2016 at 6:22 am

Wow stunning as usual…lexus really nails it ..cant wait to see the front…will sell like hotcakes just like the RX…excellent job lexus…if only gla could look this good…x1 has finallly found its true competitor…

• Yokohama24 on Sep 09, 2016 at 8:45 am

What tyres are they using? I mean look at the tyre threads. :O

• passion on Sep 09, 2016 at 9:06 am

really wish prices could be lower a little.

• whateva…just glorified Toyota.

Lexus is totally irrelevant in Mesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • eVaz88 on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Yup. Irrelevant in malaysia while placing 3rd in Luxury market. So sad Audi shortfall a lot this year.

• And your comment are totally irrelevant to the world just like you Mesia country

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Lately, Lexus have comes out with beautiful if not stunning cars. Unfortunately, it’s not for the masses. Good job Lexus.

• Lexus sells less than my Biza. So according to basher logic, lexus quality is worse than P2.
    Hail P2!

• HAHAHHA!!! nowdays trend KATUN eh??

Just like P2 lah.. keta KATUN!!

• which is better?merc glc or gla with this lexus