Next-gen Ford Fiesta ST could use a 1.0 litre EcoBoost

ford-fiesta-st-7

According to a report by Auto Express, the future Ford Fiesta ST could ditch the current model’s 1.6 litre EcoBoost engine for a tuned version of the smaller 1.0 litre unit.

“We’re seeing more and more of what we can do with the 1.0 litre engine in development and the signs are promising. It’s a great engine – it sounds brilliant and there’s loads of torque when the turbo comes on boost, so we’re looking into things for the next ST,” said Ford Europe’s head of small cars Darren Palmer.

This expected move is also supported by the fact that Ford has announced it will halve production at its engine plant in Bridgend, Wales, which makes four-cylinder engines. This will likely allow for more three-cylinder engines to be produced there, which may be destined for the new Fiesta ST.

ford-fiesta-st-1

Currently, the 1.0 litre EcoBoost three cylinder outputs 123 hp and 170 Nm, but on the Formula Ford race car, the turbocharged mill has been modified to produce as much as 202 hp. If the new Fiesta ST is capable of delivering such numbers, it would be an improvement over the current car’s 180 hp and 240 Nm (not counting the ST200).

“There’s still a huge demand for the ST – we’ve seen that with the current ST200. But we want to offer more, so expect more performance and efficiency,” Palmer said, adding that the development team are also hard at work to “make sure it drives exactly how a Fiesta should.” With a lighter three-cylinder engine, the car’s handling should receive some benefit.

GALLERY: 2017 Ford Fiesta ST five-door prototype

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Thelma on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Ford dual-clutch transmission (DCT) OK tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • lolpanda on Oct 06, 2016 at 6:43 pm

the ST comes with a stick shift

• lolpanda on Oct 06, 2016 at 6:46 pm

not forgetting to mention the current 1.6 ST has transient over boost which bumps things up to 199PS and 290Nm. https://goo.gl/mPM9Y1 (and if that weren’t enough, a Stage 1 chip tune makes things a lotore exciting)

• RavenAii (Member) on Oct 07, 2016 at 3:28 am

I have an Austin Martin(front), I have a Hyundai(side and rear). Ughh! Ford Fiesta! Pen pineapple apple pen.

• Lesser Fiesta OTR nowadays…all kenna scrapped???