BMW 1 Series Sedan – first picture of interior revealed

bmw-1-series-sedan-interior

After its initial reveal in July, and a leak in September, we now have the first interior photo of the upcoming BMW 1 Series Sedan. Nothing surprising here, of course, with the new dashboard taking cues from the closely-related 2 Series AT/GT and X1, and very much like the one seen on the BMW Concept Compact Sedan shown last year.

As a recap, the 1 Series Sedan is said to be a China-exclusive model, built on the front-wheel drive UKL platform shared with the BMW models mentioned above, as well as MINI’s new-generation range. Yes, you read that right, this BMW sedan will have its power sent to the front wheels.

bmw-1-series-sedan

Three variants are known so far: 118i with a 136 hp 1.5 litre three-pot turbo, 120i with 192 hp and 125i with 231 hp, both from a 2.0 litre turbo four. Transmission options in China should include both a six-speed manual and a six-speed automatic.

The BMW 1 Series Sedan will be launched in China early next year. Other markets are unconfirmed at the moment, but would you want this as an alternative to the Mercedes-Benz CLA and Audi A3 Sedan? Let us know in the comments section below.

GALLERY: BMW Concept Compact Sedan

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Kunta Kinte on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:08 pm

BMW is a no balls company. Everything also they do China only exclusive model.

china ask them to jump, BMW jumps. China ask them to sit, BMW listens and sits like a obedient doggie.

Worldwide people want long wheelbase E class and 3 series, but both Merc and BMW both tak ada bola. they only obey their masters in China and make for the China only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 54
    • Najibadut on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Msia apa beza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • AdmadbTaib on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:59 pm

@ kunta. I have been with PT post for some times. Seeing you bash everything without fact.

Mind to share What car that got ball that you are driving now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • nabill (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 2:44 pm

u should blame the Admin frankly for publishing his posts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Steve Millawi on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:16 pm

They want traffic only and dont bother about all those real or not real topic. Part of selfishmarketing.

• Let’s face the fact no company no country in this world have ball against China, that is how strong the dragon is…face the cruel fact!!

• lao yee on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:09 pm

Business sense. If you’re the country made of of thousands or millions of millionaires or billionaires walking down the street, any large corporations will produce anything just for you.

• lao yee on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Business sense. If you’re the country made of of millions of millionaires or billionaires citizens walking down the street, any large corporations will produce anything just for you. I believe you’re not an entrepreneur, does not have business minded

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Wouldn’t mind taking this over the 3 as the G20 is expected to grow in size again come 2018. We’ve seen them testing it in Europe so it’s only a matter of time. Now it would be wise for BMW Malaysia to bring in the xDrive version to negate the negative feelings from loyalists who swear by RWD. An AWD with a 4 pot turbo will go head to head with the CLA250 and A3 1.8 which all have AWD too.

• bimmerman on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:25 pm

BMW 330e smart move.

• Aikon on Nov 03, 2016 at 8:44 am

IMHO, there wouldn’t be any issues with the loyalists preferring RWD as BMW can reach out to non-traditional BMW buyers with this car. Mercedes Benz has shown that it is possible for them to attract a younger group of buyers with the FWD A Class and CLA. These buyers largely do not know or can’t really determine the differences in dynamics between RWD and FWD as they rarely take the cars to ten tenths of its abilities. So, theoretically, it would be fine to introduce this… if only BMW felt the same way though.

• Jimbo on Nov 02, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Civic 1.5TC > 1 Series

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 02, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Boring dashboard, always same like before and other model..habis cerita

• lao yee on Nov 02, 2016 at 4:15 pm

People could really afford Germans do not mind or thought about resale value unless you can’t own one but force to buy due to own ego, that’s another story, which not related to intelligent.

• Kunta kinte on Nov 02, 2016 at 5:03 pm

why low resale value?
      – always breakdown and expensive spare parts
      why always breakdown ?
      – parts are very very low quality , to make more profit
      why some people do buy them?
      – not so intelligent = stupid

there you go..logic rite?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 02, 2016 at 8:15 pm

nonsense fwd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Desmond Liew on Nov 03, 2016 at 12:42 pm

What to worry? Soon enough this car will land to our shore. Malaysia will soon be China’s territory what?