Volkswagen Arteon 4-door coupe teased, replaces CC

db2016au01055_large

Volkswagen has released the first teaser sketch of its upcoming four-door coupe, the Volkswagen Arteon. Its name being a portmanteau between “art” and “eon” – the latter being an identifier of a premium model, much like the Chinese-market Phideon – it will replace the CC and be positioned a rung higher than the Passat in Wolfsburg’s range, making its debut at the 2017 Geneva Motor Show.

Does the sketch remind you of anything familiar? That’s because the Arteon is essentially the production version of the Sport Coupe Concept GTE, something which was apparent when patent images of the new car were leaked in August. The front end, with a wide grille and bars that extend into the three-dimensional headlights, have been retained.

Also retained are the fender vents, rakish roof line and pronounced rear haunches. Like the current CC, the Arteon will come with frameless windows, but it also adds a full top-hinged tailgate (a la Audi A5 and A7 Sportback, as well as the BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe), making it technically a five-door.

Expect the interior to be fairly faithful to the concept as well, with Passat-inspired full-width air-con vents, a virtual instrument panel and a tall, sloping transmission tunnel. Like the outgoing CC, the Arteon should come with five- and four-seater options.

Powertrain options should include the usual TSI petrol and TDI diesel engines from the Passat, as well as a range of manual and DSG dual-clutch transmissions. Also to be expected is a GTE plug-in hybrid that uses the Sport Coupe Concept GTE’s V6 TSI engine mated to two electric motors to produce a combined 380 hp, resulting in a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 5.2 seconds and a 250 km/h top speed, as well as fuel consumption of 50 km per litre, a 50 km pure electric range and a total range of 1,000 km.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Sport Coupe Concept GTE at Geneva 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rear kink looks like Perdana2

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:10 am

“Rear kink looks like Perdana2” !!? j, are U trying 2 be ‘kinky’ or U run out of bashing !?

• If u dunno what is rear kink, I suggest u read more b4 bashing

• Very soo pandai this vw group…recycle back old panamera chasis & rebadged it as vw….in few years time can rebadge further as budget skoda …no wonder they are the world biggest car co on par wt toyota, good cost mgmt

• Sackthedesigner on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:24 am

Pemalas, old recycled design.
      Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Yea….employ Protong designer..hahaha

• designgenes on Nov 29, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Panamera? This design looks better than Panamera. Panamera is too old school Porsche design.

• veedud on Nov 29, 2016 at 2:58 pm

This is called profit maximization…milk the product/chassis till the last drop…. hehehehe

• abc123 on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:18 pm

recycle Panamera chassis? is totally different chassis!!!
      pls do your research first before commenting…

• Ben Yap on Nov 29, 2016 at 9:55 am

99% of the time, during sketch and 3d rendering, the car looks sharp with big rims nicely filling up the wheel arches.

when the real car is being released and on the road, it doesn’t look that sharp and the rims miraculously shrunk into a small one.

• Najib 2.B Razak on Nov 29, 2016 at 10:55 am

It has a mercedes rear coupe like design

• Mikey on Nov 29, 2016 at 12:32 pm

You eyes are sharper than john that I must say. Yes, I agree with U that the rear looks like the C-63 Merc.

• veedud on Nov 29, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Aiyyooohhh…its soo obvious, VW group is just recycling either the panamera or the Audi A7 old chassis…semua org sudah kena tipu