Ferrari’s 500th LaFerrari auctioned off for RM31 million

laferrari-500th-auctioned

The 500th example of the LaFerrari has been successfully auctioned off for USD7 million (RM31,097,150) during the carmaker’s Finali Mondiali event at the Daytona International Speedway in Florida. That makes it the “the most valuable 21st century automobile ever sold at auction.”

The auction was held in conjunction with RM Sotheby and in collaboration with the National Italian American Foundation’s Earthquake Relief Fund, with all proceeds going towards reconstruction efforts in the areas affected by the earthquake.

Visually, the car features a unique livery following an Italian theme, where the primary body colour is red, accompanied by white stripes on the hood and rear windshield.

The Italian flag is also painted just ahead of the front badge, serving as a reminder that this is a “gift by Ferrari to its home country.” Furthermore, the car will also be fitted with a commemorative plaque as further indication of its exclusivity.

However, no change takes place under the hood, with the car retaining its 950 hp and 900 Nm hybrid powertrain, which includes a 6.3 litre naturally-aspirated V12 engine is paired with Ferrari’s HY-KERS system. Originally, the Italian carmaker only planned to produce just 499 LaFerraris, but added another to aid victims of the August quake.

GALLERY: LaFerrari at Ferrari World Abu Dhabi

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:38 pm

RM31 million is small money. When you got RM2.6 billion, you can buy about 80 units of this car with cash. No need loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:39 pm

I wonder whether we also can do an auction to auction off the Juara?

Especially the yellow onw. I bet can get few million ringgit for it. Must ask Sotheby’s whther they can do auction for Juara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Ben Yap on Dec 05, 2016 at 5:43 pm

with that money, i rather get a high end property and rent it to expats, at the same time enjoy capital appreciation.

• Pipu who have that much money alredi owned whole blocks of high end property and this car is small change for them.

• LaFerrari Challenge Stradale?

• Najib 2.B Razak on Dec 05, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Aiyah.. Ty saudi for the donation now i can buy this car with cash and more Birkin for ma wife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • If u wanna slander, at least do it more creatively. This is just plain lazy.

• Jimmy on Dec 05, 2016 at 9:56 pm

The Italian is making their products more Italian and progress.
    The British is doing the opposite, their foreign owners are diluting the British Identity/taste.

• potato on Dec 06, 2016 at 10:20 am

it’s because the Brits has foresights, they sold BP off before the oil crisis, they sold Lotus, Jaguar etc off to other companies because it’s making less profit, so they could use the funds they received by selling & invest into other non-manufacturing industries which has bigger gains & requires lower running costs.

also notice most of the sales goes to Commonwealth countries.

• Mikey on Dec 06, 2016 at 9:19 am

Ah, I see. The 500th example of the LaFerrari has been auctioned off at USD7 million for the National Italian American Foundation’s Earthquake Relief Fund.

It’s specifically for reconstruction efforts in the areas affected by earthquake. Thanks to Ferrari & the buyer for your contribution to society. At least we know that there is a Billionaire that Cared.