VIDEO: Toyota explains Direct Shift 8-speed automatic

Earlier in the month, Toyota announced that it would be building a range of new engines and transmissions designed for the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA). Among them are new Direct Shift transmissions, an eight-speed gearbox for front-wheel drive applications and a 10-speed unit for rear-wheel drive vehicles.

The video above explains the workings of the former, which will likely be fitted to most new Toyota models from 2017. Replacing the current six-speeder in cars like the Camry, the new transmission will provide many of the benefits of a continuously variable transmission (CVT), such as keeping the engine at its most efficient speed for improved fuel economy, without the typical CVT “rubber band” feel.

An increase in gears provides a wider spread of ratios, enabling the car to cruise at high speeds at lower revs – this helps reduce fuel consumption and gives a quieter drive. There’s still a torque converter of course, which smoothens out startups and gearshifts, but on the move a lockup clutch transmits engine power directly to the transmission for a more direct driving feel and improved fuel economy.

In order to control the operation of the lockup clutch, engineers added a lockup control multiple disc clutch and a hydraulic circuit, increasing the lockup range and allowing for a driving performance which Toyota says precisely follows the driver’s will. Despite all these additions, the eight-speed ‘box is actually more compact than the six-speed unit.

The longitudinal 10-speed transmission, which supersedes the eight-speed transmission currently used on Toyota and Lexus’ rear-wheel drive vehicles, utilises many of the same advancements as the eight-speed unit, with the use of close-ratio gears optimising the range of use of each gear, particularly in the low-to-mid speed range. This gearbox is already being used in the new Lexus LC 500 coupé.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hayenadeblue on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Clearly, CVT is a cheaper option than this 8 AT. Now, imagine you spend RM350k on Vellfire and it has CVT. Clearly, CVT is a cheaper option (untuk orang kurang duit) than that 8 AT. Good bye lah kereta Jepun. Gua layan conti lagi baik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Copy-cat on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:24 am

Sama dengan dual clutch jer

• Sama L00 on Dec 21, 2016 at 2:02 am

Told you already, you won’t go wrong with Toyota. Whole world knew it!

• Nabill Babill on Dec 17, 2016 at 11:33 am

Don’t talk so much. Proton still using outdated gearbox and we are all happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 17, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Don’t talk so much. Pookeedua still using outdated crap 4E-AT gearbox (only brandished to look good, but for me it’s utter crap) and we are all happy to drive the shitty automatic tin cola can car from them (Getrag manual gearbox in Protong is million times better than them, but they choose the opposite from Pookeedua)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • So Toyota, Aisin CVT or This new 8AT? Which one is the future?

• ex-VGM staff on Dec 17, 2016 at 9:35 am

clearly mentioned from 2017 onwards. means the focus is more on 8AT FWD or 10AT RWD.

anyway, 8 speed gearbox is not new to toyota. it already started using 8AT from 2nd generation Lexus IS in 2007.

CVT is nothing new to Toyota, it began using them as early as in 1997 in the first generation Prius.

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2016 at 9:18 pm

To introduce in Bolehland by 2040? XD

• Wangsa Semai on Dec 16, 2016 at 10:02 pm

2017 Toyata Avanza with direct shift 8-speed coming soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • I thought toyota sapoters says dinosar 4AT is gud enuff…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Dec 17, 2016 at 10:06 am

U are right in saying 4AT is Dinosaur & its good enuff 4 U. U do know that Toyota in M’sia is under UMW which is partly own by our Gov under PNB(40%), EPF(16%), Bumiputra Investment Foundation(5.72%).

When U bash Toyota, U are bashing our Gov also. I hope U will stop bashing Toyota & stick 2 the topic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Dun care. When toyota jepunis determines what crappy spec to gip and how unsafe their junks pushed to us, i will bash ur jepunis overlord anyways. Same goes for their sapoters/salesmen as well. *Looks at u*

• camtakpro on Dec 17, 2016 at 11:42 am

One good dinosaur is not enough. Now they combine 2 dinosaur and become 8AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • RicoT on Dec 17, 2016 at 12:24 am

In Mazda, we called it Skyactiv-Drive, so now we can expect 8-speed AT in next gen Mazda Skyactiv and Toyota new cars from Mazda-Toyota partnership.

• Mikey on Dec 17, 2016 at 10:15 am

Toyota is telling us the benefits of the new Direct Shift transmissions(8-speeder for FWD) is an advanced CVT transmission which have a torque converter that enabling the car to cruise at high speeds at lower revs to save fuel & is quieter too.

• horrayooi on Dec 17, 2016 at 1:41 pm

For B segment like Vios ,Sienta and Yaris they omit the temperature gauge and installed the cheap blue and red idiots lights. They have dumb engineers who are good at cutting cost for one miserable important gauge. Now they want to spent money on 8 and 10 speed direct shift. You better please your bread and butter customers first.

Why made it so difficut to service or replace the aircon evaporator coil. One example is the Vios. May be other models of Toyota is the same. The whole dashboard have to be remove to replace or service the evaporator coil. What is the lojic for the dumb Toyota engineeer to design this way. The workmanship is very costly to dismantle and fix back the dashboard. After fixing back the dashboard it may cause rattle sounds and wiring problems and etc. . Not good for Toyota reputation. Hope Toyota headquarter read this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota sappot on Dec 17, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Send this directly to Toyota Email in Japan , will be more effective, good if you cc a few newspaper or tabloid

• Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 17, 2016 at 8:12 pm

Not only Toyota, all new models from Pookeedua (except Myvee) also don’t have temperature gauge (even Mazda also not spared as well as few Honda models, luckily Civic FC already remedied this compared with previous Civic FB), just installed the cheap blue and red idiots lights (wait for red light icon flash, anytime your car can be condemned since the gasket already gone/fried due to overheating that came unnoticed.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2016 at 1:06 pm

yes I agree that its stupid to make maintenance difficult and expensive. Packaging and safety requirements and cost would have likely lead to these sort of shortsighted design.

But then again, it should have been the case that these evaporators are not meant to be serviced, and the only servicing is to the cabin air filter.

If there was no cabin air filter (and thus causing your evaporator to clog up), then you know who is responsible to cheapen out the car for profits.

• kaizen on Dec 17, 2016 at 3:00 pm

is it the same as vw DSG?

• Powertranny on Dec 17, 2016 at 6:09 pm

No car manufacturers can match the crisp, lightning fast, smooth, comfortable shifts of VW DSG. You may read review comparisons on the internet comparing dual clutch from other manufacturers Versus Volkswagen DSG . If it’s a dual clutch it has to be from Volkswagen.

• Not exectly..this still use torque converter..but vw use dry or wet clutch

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 17, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Just in time for the next gen Camry?

• long ago honda demonstrated an 8 speed dct with torque converter in an 8th gen accord test mule… for their earth dreams tech showcase

Is it similar to this one…? will that box make an appearance in d 10th gen accord….

Anyway, with toyota sales dwindling in malaysia, lets hope umw learn their lesson…

the next camry 2.0g with the new engine should come with all d bells and whistles, and this new gearbox, itll be d clear winner then..
    gx shud be introduced from the start as well with darker interior as per usual

• If VIos comes with DSG, I will buy one for myself, one for my wife, and get friends to join the crowd cause my current DSGed golf is very very very nice to drive.

• Adren on Dec 18, 2016 at 2:47 pm

This automatic transmission is way better than CVT transmission . Quicker acceleration and improved fuel economy .

CVT – hard acceleration the rpm meter goes higher and will not come down ! the higher the rpm go, the engine roar even louder . If you are type who drive slow and steady then CVT is sufficient for daily driving :)

Auto transmission – hard acceleration the rpm meter will go to the desired rpm and then goes down thus improve on fuel economy.

• 4speed auto with super ECT is the most sophisticated and technologically advanced transmission. It beats all other transmission. It’s the best transmission ever. UMW loves it very much. To save cost, just keep reusing it for all the ‘new’ models.

• Gaviny on Dec 19, 2016 at 9:57 am

Mazda cleverly avoided all this cvt nonsense when they designed their skyactiv gearboxes with early lockup.

Toyota marketing wank like it’s something new they invented

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2016 at 2:00 pm

The gearbox needs to be paired well with the powertrain.

In mazda’s case, the Skyactive engine makes a lot of torque lower down in the RPM range, so they can build the Torque converter to lock up early and this has in effect benefit high speed low RPM cruising.

If the engine doesn’t make enough torque low enough in the RPM band, just locking the torque convertor itself early wont work…it looses the torque converter’s “torque multiplying” effect leaving the car feeling sluggish off the line (the slipping torque convertor allows use of higher revs (and more torque) for the given speed.

In the case of Toyota, they made the First Gear very low to enable to torque converter to lock up early.