Ford Ranger 2.2L FX4 coming April 20 – RM122k est

If you’ve been hankering for a Ford Ranger but wished that it came with a bit more Wildtrak presence, here’s the Ranger FX4 – a 2.2 XLT with unique trim inside and out, which we’ve had an early look at ahead of its official release on April 20.

Mechanically, this Ranger is the same beast as before, with 158 hp and 385 Nm of torque from the 2.2 litre, four-cylinder turbodiesel engine. Ditto the drivetrain, comprised of a six-speed automatic transmission sending drive to a driver-selectable all-wheel drive system, with low range and hill descent control.

Here, the FX4 sets itself apart with an overall darkened visual theme – at the front sits a black painted grille in place of the standard XLT chrome unit, while the same gloss black scheme is applied to the side mirror casing and door handles. In terms of hardware, the FX4 gains roof rails (absent on the XLT), while the chromed side step bars have been replaced with wider, flatter units akin to the Wildtrak’s.

Joining the ranks of darker-toned items are the 18-inch double six-spoke wheels of a new design, while matte decals add subtle contrast to the bonnet and the tailgate. Inside, black leather upholstery adds some plushness to the 2.2 XLT’s interior, with ‘FX4’ embossed into the seats.

Elsewhere, it’s standard 2.2 XLT fare, with a reverse camera and rear-view monitor function integrated into the 4.2-inch SYNC screen. The same, therefore, goes for equipment – auto halogen headlamps, auto rain-sensing wipers, manual climate control, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, leather steering wheel, and four-way manual adjustment driver’s seat feature here. Dual airbags and stability control, too.

The Ranger FX4 can be had in Meteor Grey and Aluminium Metallic, and is priced at RM121,888 for Peninsular Malaysia and RM127,688 in East Malaysia; prices are on-the-road estimates without insurance. What do you think of the FX4 kit?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Looks cool.

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 08, 2017 at 2:15 pm

RM122k for a truck is crazy. Just few years ago, trucks were at RM70k to RM80k. Then slowly and slowly, under the pretext of more accessories and kit, the prices went up and up and up. Ford Ranger and Toyota Hilux started this nonsense and now, the others like Navara and Triton have followed.

Don’t be surprised in a few years time, trucks will be starting at RM150k and that will be the norm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 44
    • Ringgit devalue more than 40% in past 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • paultan.org/2017/04/07/2017-mitsubishi-triton-launched-in-malaysia/

Dun be nasi lemak… oh wait.. i see the irony here.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 09, 2017 at 9:37 am

type with brain and intellect not emotions. Factors such as currency exchange, labour and other matters does affect the pricing.

• Kunta Katak on Apr 09, 2017 at 1:13 pm

I prefer a Kuntamoto truck. It has VGT with 164bhp and 392bhp from a 2.2 litre engine.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Obviously, there is demand in the market for full-spec pick-up trucks. You can still buy a BT-50 for less than RM100k and all models have a lower spec version.

• Will still wait for the 6 airbags to filter down to the lesser models…

• Meanwhile Triton at RM 77k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Elchino on Apr 08, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Just by giving a darkened visual effects without additional specs like additional airbags, cruise control etc, who would be interested?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Sgt Scoop on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Isuzu has been pulling this trick for years with the diablo, artic and all those. It’s a way dealers to move old vehicles before the new model comes out.

• henry on Apr 11, 2017 at 10:07 am

Cruise control has long become standard feature in almost all ranger except the XL

• Elchino on Apr 08, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Just have it in dark visual theme alone without significant increase in its specs such as cruise control, additional airbags etc will make it any more attractive to buyers

• From the distributor tak laku, comes the underwhelming and underspecced, outdated pickup truck offer you haven’t been waiting for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Srich on Apr 09, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Right. 120k plus and no LED headlights, cruise control etc. Navarra VL comes with all these and more inc. 450nm of torque and softer springs for city driving.

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:21 pm

I will only pay that kind of price like a wildtrak otherwise 120k for a normal pickup is hilarious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • The 2017 Triton Adventure is more powerful, much better equipped and has longer warranty at the same price. What is AutoConnexion really thinking, that the Ranger is still hot like a few years ago? And what is the deal with the 6k difference between Peninsular and East Malaysia when other brands’ pickup is at most 4k more expensive?

• Fedap on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:29 am

Fun fact: What we got from XLT (kit) in Malaysia only equals XL in other countries. Even their XLT comes with Wiltrak like fashboard and sync 3.
    Take a look at AU’s FX4
    https://www.ford.com.au/commercial/ranger/special-editions/?intcmp=bb-fau-vhp-ford%20ranger-fau-vhp-ford%20ranger-new

• Titan RM77000 you can have 2 for the price of one and spent RM1000 on plastic panels…Mr FORD you are taking poss…! :(

• Mark from Predator XR on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Well this Ford Ranger FX 4 has a lots of potential then but the problem is the price tag, RM121k for just this Ranger with the standard trim platform? That’s won’t increase buyers for the Ranger instead.

• Peter Mendler on Apr 10, 2017 at 8:52 am

Your out of your mind …….50k for a ranger. My as well get a f250 with more balls.gonna stick with my Dodge ram .Much better towing capabilities.

• firegunz on Apr 19, 2017 at 4:32 pm

C’mon man, would you kindly enlighten us as to where we could find the f250 RHD in MALAYSIA? It’s not like we are presented with a wide array of choices for trucks.

• Pink Ranger on Apr 10, 2017 at 11:23 am

Wow RM10k increase just for a paint job and leather seats. Might as well use that money to buy 3rd party mods which are much nicer. At least put in the touch screen/SYNC3 infotainment system la like how they put it in the Australia/Thai model then only people will buy.

• ForEnd MarkCow on Apr 10, 2017 at 1:59 pm

This is something to envy or something to laugh about?

• I-Love-Petronas on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:11 pm

I just love this Ford Ranger. Macho, sexy and the performance….but I have to ditch my Toyota Hilux first….

• mat pon on Apr 12, 2017 at 10:17 am

awww. so sweet

• Elchino on Apr 15, 2017 at 3:43 pm

It would have been easier to bring back the 2.2 ltr wildtrak. There were a few units in d dealers’ showroom in a few towns when the wildtrak was originally introduced in Malaysia.