Infiniti Q60 spotted in Malaysia – launching soon?

First unveiled at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit back in January 2016, the Infiniti Q60 has now been spotted in Malaysia. The two-door coupe competes against the Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe, BMW 4 Series, Audi A5 and Lexus RC.

In other markets, the Q60 is available with a choice of three power outputs – a 208 hp/350 Nm 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder as well as a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 that serves up 300 hp/400 Nm or 400 hp/475 Nm.

Since the photos aren’t of a very high resolution, it makes it difficult to read the badging on the front fender that identifies the engine fitted. We reckon it’ll be the 2.0 litre turbo unit (sourced from Mercedes-Benz) but we’ll have to wait for it to be formally introduced to confirm.

Regardless of which engine the Q60 has, a seven-speed automatic transmission with Adaptive Shift Control directs drive to the rear wheels, or all four of them if the optional Intelligent All-Wheel Drive is specified. On the 3.0 litre twin-turbo-powered models, the transmission comes with dual automatic transmission fluid coolers.

As for the handling bits, Infiniti’s Dynamic Digital Suspension with continuously variable electronically controlled shock absorbers are claimed to offer best-in-class handling. There is also Infiniti’s second-gen Direct Adaptive Steering and Drive Mode Selector, the latter to allow for a more personalised setup.

Quite the looker, isn’t it? Even Kit Harington a.k.a. Jon Snow was left mesmerised after a quick bout behind the wheel. What do you think of the Q60 coupe? Does it have what it takes to go up against the German competition?

GALLERY: Infiniti Q60 Sport

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azhar on Apr 21, 2017 at 10:26 am

memang cantik…melelehhhh

• At least its proportioned to eu sizes.

• Zackyrul_hipsta on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:05 am

When you’re stuck in traffic, people look at the driver in the Mercedes as a person who has made it in society, and they will envy you. Lexus haven’t fully achieved that compared with the German big 3; Mercedes-Benz, the VW Group and BMW.

Volvo & Lexus also haven’t achieved that, so what chance Infiniti has?….Ahaks….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • The diff is a gweilo can easily fit into infiniti instead of contorting to sit in a lexus. An infiniti stands better chance to reach the sausage big 3 much earlier than lexus.

• Zack biscuit on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Mind to share got people look at you when u stop at traffic light so far?

• You’re right. Lexus is for people who try to make a statement but fail.

• Better than using rakyat’s money to make a statement like Proton but fail

• Bash Basher on Apr 22, 2017 at 11:17 am

If you buy something not for your own pleasure but to please people around you, then your life is pointless.

• Henry on Apr 21, 2017 at 10:44 am

Very nice. So will the price. :)

• I got invited to the event on 29th April. Hope to see Paultan member there!

Cant wait. Its around RM290k for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Mikey on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:20 am

Hehehe. Good 4 u john. I believe All PT.org people also are invited.

• Pipu wan free car servicing.

• Alvivi07 on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:35 pm

RM290k??
      Rather buy C350e.

• C350e? Hahahhaa!! C350e is for badge whore only. If C300 I will consider but with the extra weight due to the battery? I would rather spend my money on this beauty. Imagine u pay a premium just to look normal on the road. Since u are paying the norm price, might as well be special on the road? I am driving Q50 and I think my car beats most of its class except for Jag XE.

• ducatiscrambler on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Glorified overprice nissan = infiniti

• Henry on Apr 22, 2017 at 7:15 am

For once I agree with you. Mercedes and BMW are too common on our roads. Too many recons and used ones. Some salesman also drive one.

That’s why the moneyed guys are now buying Bentley, Aston Martin, Lexus, Jaguar or Infinity to be different.

• applegreen on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:10 am

Tan chong should assemble some infiniti cars

• Mikey on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:14 am

Infiniti is the luxury brand of Nissan. This Q60 will spread head Nissan into the burgeoning luxury market in China & the US of A.

As for M’sia, we will see some guys getting their hands on the Q60 simply bcos they want to depart from the “Norm”(Audi/BMW/Merc/Lexus).

As usual, most M’sian will buy the 2 liter turbo which is enuff to get going as U do not want 2 get a speeding ticket with your itchy right foot Right !

It will Not make U look out of place if park beside any of the Germans equivalent. I think Mr Carlos Ghosn business strategy is 2nd 2 none when he make the G series re-define Infiniti as the “Japanese BMW”.

• Stuttgarter on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Carlos Ghosn business strategy is 2nd 2 none collabo Mesidis engine.

• Looks like a Korean car, in a good way. Beautiful!

• Soo pweeety……soo pweetty….

• BowArrow on Apr 21, 2017 at 11:56 am

Mercedes sourced 2.0 turbo? so it should be the same found in E250 . And why there is no sharkfin antena same goes with some Lexus model.So a sharkfin antena cost RM 20k??that’s why MY model don’t get it = =a

• Henry on Apr 22, 2017 at 7:18 am

Nothing wrong with such cooperation between car manufacturers. This is a cost cutting measure. Some car companies even source the whole car and badge it as their own.

• I told my dad why not take a short look at infiniti showroom and had a quick test drive and guess what, my dad in dilemma hahaha whether to get Q50 or A4. Thanks Infiniti. LOL

• Das Auto on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:43 pm

A4 2.0tfsi. No regrets

• If u wan, 2.0 tfsi quattro. The basic 2.0 lose to Infiniti by some inch. Really. Handling wise, FWD will always lose out to RWD.

• kampungEGGpower! on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:25 pm

first time i heard this brand infiniti, china brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • BowArrow on Apr 22, 2017 at 11:31 am

Infiniti is luxury brand for Nissan , same goes with Lexus for Toyota which they both from Japan…=P

• Aiman A. on Apr 21, 2017 at 1:04 pm

As distinctive as it might be, ponderous steering, horrendous cabin proportions and a ridiculous infotainment interface means that buyers will, as always, continue to flow toward German alternatives.

• Gaviny on Apr 21, 2017 at 2:47 pm

They failed hard with te Q50, not handling better, not riding better, not performing better, except pricing higher than all rivals

• Er…Im driving one and i can tel you. The quality is a notch above 3 series and A4. It handles better than Merc and it is bigger than A4. So 3 German advantages in one car.

• Basheer on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:59 pm

But but…ur mom & her frenz thot U driving a nissan Teana.

• Lol… prob thats ur mom and mom-in-law and their frens? Everyone that sat in my cars praised the quality and power of the cars. Trust me, when i drive into Pavillion or any shopping mall in Klang Valley. It turns more head than the German trio. Thank god I chose this rather than 3 series during cross shopping time.

• Henry on Apr 22, 2017 at 7:20 am

No, it is a Nissan Sunny from the 1980s.

• TheDean on Apr 21, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Half a million RM and I pity the buyer whose front and rear bumpers are scratched by the dealer’s big metal plates.