G30 BMW 5 Series gains new engines and variants

BMW has introduced additional engines and new four-wheel drive variants for the G30 5 Series, which includes a new entry-level 520i, available from July this year.

The 520i is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with 181 hp and 290 Nm of torque. Mated to it is an eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmission that drives the rear wheels, resulting in a zero to 100 km/h time of just 7.8 seconds (8.2 seconds for the Touring).

In terms of fuel consumption, the Sedan is claimed to consume as little as 5.4 litres per 100 km (5.8 litres per 100 km for the Touring), and emit between 141 and 124 grams of CO2 per km.

Two new turbodiesel engines will also be made available for the 5 Series, beginning with a 2.0 litre four-cylinder unit found in the 525d, which offers 228 hp and 500 Nm of torque. The second is a 3.0 litre in-line six-cylinder fitted to the 540d xDrive with 315 hp and 680 Nm of torque, slotting below the recently-introduced M550d xDrive.

Both oil burners are paired with an eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmission, with the larger powerplant receiving BMW’s proprietary four-wheel drive system as well. In terms of performance, the 525d will complete the century sprint in 6.6 seconds (Sedan) and 6.8 seconds (Touring), respectively. Fuel consumption is rated as low as 4.4 litres per 100 km (Sedan) and 4.7 litres per 100 km (Touring).

The 540d xDrive meanwhile, is much quicker to 100 km/h from a standstill, accomplishing the feat in just 4.7 seconds (Sedan) and 4.9 seconds (Touring). Combined fuel consumption figures are as low as 5.2 litres per 100 km (Sedan) and 5.5 litres per 100 km (Touring).

BMW has also added xDrive as an option for the 520d and 530i. On the 520d xDrive, the 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel makes 188 hp and 400 Nm of torque, while the 530i xDrive’s 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine produces 248 hp and 350 Nm of torque.

Both powertrains feature an eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmission, and for the 520d xDrive, zero to 100 km/h is done in 7.9 seconds, with a fuel consumption of 4.9 litres per 100 km (lowest). The 530i xDrive will do the same feat in 6.3 seconds, consuming as little as 6.5 litres per 100 km.

Aside from the powertrains, new options from BMW Individual are now available for the 5 Series, including body colours as well as special metallic and Frozen metallic paint finishes. The interior can also be enhanced with Merino leather trim Merino and an all-leather Merino fine grain trim. Both are available in the colours Smoky White, Tartufo and Caramel.

Also new in the options list are interior trim strips in the BMW Individual wood finishes Sen Light Brown and high-gloss Plum Brown, as well as a leather covered BMW Individual instrument panel, Alcantara Anthracite roof lining and a leather steering wheel in piano black finish.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 12, 2017 at 11:53 am

In the UK, each variant is only about 2000 pounds difference. For example, 535i is only about 2000 pounds extra than the 530i

But in Malaysia, each variant jump so much. After 530i, the next variant is RM700k.

That is why in overseas, everybody just use 535d or 535i. More power and better feel

Pity Malaysians, always stuck with the 520i, and 528i (now 530i)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • chilex on May 12, 2017 at 12:19 pm

chill bro. n move on.

• tokmoh. on May 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm

So that clowns like Madani can take price of top spec vs entry level spec, then claim “harga kereta sudah turun lebih dari 30%, janji ditepati, kenapa tak puji kerajaan?

Bmw pecah sales record, mana rakyat terjejas? Inilah bukti gst menurunkan kos sara hidup rakyat hingga lagi ramai mampu beli bmw, cukuuur…”

• If BMW Malaysia bring the 540i (3.0L engine) the tax & excises duty will be higher because a large cc engine. The road tax will be RM2k compared to 2.0L that RM380. So not impossible if 540i bring to Malaysia will be above RM500k.

• Redidiot on May 13, 2017 at 9:54 am

Did account for kit options?

• The desperate merc salesman (YB KK), why don’t you compare the E200 and E class 43amg price different? This happen to all the car in Malaysia, but you try to con and put an impression that it happens to all the brand except merc.

• The Saint on May 12, 2017 at 12:00 pm

“Two new turbodiesel engines will also be made available for the 5 Series, beginning with a 2.0 litre four-cylinder unit found in the 525d, which offers 228 hp and 500 Nm of torque”

“On the 520d xDrive, the 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel makes 255 hp and 400 Nm of torque”

525d producing 228 hp/500 NM while 520d producing 255 hp/400NM….that does not seem right……

• Noah Thiruchelvan on May 12, 2017 at 2:05 pm

The XDrive models look absolutely beautiful

• Ollie on May 12, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Need more explanation on the turbos

one does 180 hp and the other does 248 hp. A NA 2.0 would put out about 160, but lower torque figures. Seems to be a micro-turbo?

• Pilot107 on May 12, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Still think underpowered for my preference..skip!

• Agent87 on May 12, 2017 at 6:16 pm

wait Kia Stinger