Volkswagen Tiguan production ramped up in Malaysia; new Crimson Red body colour officially introduced

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) announced that it has ramped up production of the locally-assembled (CKD) Tiguan to meet the demands of Malaysian customers. In conjunction with that, the company also introduced a new exterior body colour for the Tiguan – Crimson Red – which is now available for booking. The second-generation model was launched in April, with two trim levels on offer – Comfortline and Highline.

The new colour joins the existing five colours (Pure White, Deep Black, Atlantic Blue, Tungsten Silver and Indium Grey) that were listed at launch. Additionally, for a limited time only, VPCM is offering the App Connect function as complimentary in the Highline (normal price RM1,099).

Pricing for the Tiguan remains unchanged, with the Comfortline retailing at RM148,990, while the Highline is priced at RM168,990 (on the road without insurance). Each purchase comes inclusive of a five-year factory warranty with five years of free roadside assistance. For detailed specs and figures of the Tiguan, head on over to CarBase.my. Also, don’t forget to read our review of the Tiguan, here.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Comfortline

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 16, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Though I usually bamboo VW, I have to admit one thing, this car is worth its value.

This Tiguan is the poor man’s ticket to owning the Porsche Macan or the Audi Q5. Though the platform is different, lets face facts, this Tiguan is more or less the same car as the Porsche Macan or the Audi Q5.

Instead of spending RM500k on a junk Macan, might as well buy this RM140k Tiguan. Same DNA. Same everything. Even 90% of the parts are the SAME.

I have driven the Macan and the Tiguan. Both cars feel the SAME. Porsche pondan fanboys will get angry with my statement but they are just sore losers spending RM500k on their junk Macan when you can get more of less the same car for RM140k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 19
    • Dsgpro on May 16, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Macan de-glorified.

• Operation Manager on May 16, 2017 at 7:05 pm

One things for sure, the anaCONda, when you grab it at 130k, later standby to vomit out blood whenever parts changed/repair at authorized service center, where inspected one part defective correlated others part to be defect, can’t believe it just spreading like canser infection, same to service cost from 1k-2k-10k+ … who can know isn’t all parts defective …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
        • zhang on May 16, 2017 at 10:24 pm

totally agreed. is like cancer, one part leads to another, your vomit blood dealing with them, by the way my Tiguan is in the workshop exactly 2 months, they telling its cost 12k to overhaul the engine which is not related during the first diagnosis.

• Demand gakda on May 16, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Din see any on the road yet. Same for Passat. Not many ppl willing to lose 50% in first year.

• Meanwhile ur toyota is dying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
      • Operation Manager on May 16, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Only UMW Toyota at bolehland is dying, then why …? Now SOHAI wake-up already, sohai now know kena CON of price no reduced after EEV incentives tax break… most ridiculous, you can see the Toyota Altis price not reduce but increased …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
        • Really? Look at what ur CEO says paultan.org/2017/05/15/toyota-president-worried-over-falling-profits-report/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • john bodo on May 17, 2017 at 1:55 pm

This article is about Toyota kah? Stupid basher

• Macan and Q5 are actually same segment as Touareg..

Tiguan is same segment as Q3, CRV, CX-5

• FakestoryKinte again on May 16, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Macan and Tiguan the same….hahahhahahahahahah…

• Heng Lee on May 17, 2017 at 10:31 am

“I have driven the Macan and the Tiguan. Both cars feel the SAME.”

Smallest engine for Macan available in Malaysia: 2.0, 252PS, 370Nm

Only engine option for Tiguan available in Malaysia: 1.4, 150PS, 250Nm

So 252PS and 370Nm “feel the SAME” for you as 150PS and 250Nm? :D

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 16, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Why would anyone buy a Japanese junk when you can get a German continental car for the same price?

Malaysians should take advantage of the fact that VW’s name sangat busuk in Malaysia. That is why the Tiguan is reasonably priced.

If VW did not have their busuk name, VW would have priced this at RM250k. Just like how they have priced their Toureg at nearly RM500k.

Even better, as you know, VW is the KING of DEPRECIATION. Wait one year and buy this Tiguan for RM80k. Every used car dealer will be begging you to take it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Inderaloka on May 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Side advert, 2015 VW Beetle rm76K dropped 60%.
      Hmm…it’s Tuesday. To pam petrol or not to pam? Choices, choices, choices….

• Global crude prices went up but im sure bashers says ini salah Gov, right?

• Gilbert Lee on May 17, 2017 at 12:26 pm

“Even better, as you know, VW is the KING of DEPRECIATION. Wait one year and buy this Tiguan for RM80k.”

Everybody knows that Japs are very slow (110km/h max.), thus they need the double time (in years) to cover the same distance.

• Gaviny on May 16, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Rush to produce to meet sales target = quality suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • sackthedesigner on May 16, 2017 at 6:39 pm

My kids dun give a damn to the big screen in the front nor the VW badge nor the auto air cond, nor the LCD dash meter display. They only want a huge playground when the third row seat being folded down flat.

Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • Mystvearn on May 16, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Never knew this was selling well

• camtakpro on May 17, 2017 at 9:44 am

Price & package. Good or not, have to wait 1 or 2 yrs or the n-th service then only know.

• Lucky Gong on May 16, 2017 at 10:51 pm

App connect complimentary for all highline booking or new booking?

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 16, 2017 at 11:56 pm

ramped up production…careful this also means worse qc

• Bring in the 2 liter!

• Wahh where all the vw bash comments went..??

• No more allowance to bash VW, all pegi bash P1 instead.

• New Customer on May 18, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Booked the car when launched in April, dealer said have to wait till Nov. only can get car.

• look at the front view….freaking ugly box car

• passion on May 17, 2017 at 11:24 am

enough of VW. damn expensive repair bills. DAMN!

• In Malaysia which car brand don’t offer cut throat price during service? Which car don’t have hidden servicing cost? For conti cars, VW offer the cheapest service. As long as given 5 yrs warranty, don’t think to sell your car in next year and don’t complain to overhaul your engine at service center n suffer taking bus to work. Come on, paying a RM1xxk and you need to take bus? Who willing to do it?

• Mikey on May 17, 2017 at 5:10 pm

The article only says production ramped up but did not say how many booked or sold. Basher will NOT believe until & unless there are many Tiguan on the road. Can VPCM backup its claim?!

Judging by its look, the Tiguan top spec does look better & value for $$$ than most Japanese/Korean SUV(same segment) especially the front LED lighting that comes with 5-year factory warranty.

• Front headlamps are boring, same design as last generation.

*yawn*

• kelkl on May 17, 2017 at 6:03 pm

VPCM need to launch the 1.8 and 2.0 version here