A test session for the next-generation Audi A7 came to a fiery end in the Austrian Alps recently, when a test mule went up in flames, something was captured by our spy photographers.
As these dramatic photos show, the disguised prototype was towing a trailer along when a fire started under the bonnet. This prompted its occupants to exit the vehicle, swiftly remove the equipment inside, and attempt to extinguish the blaze.
Unfortunately, this proved to be unsuccessful, leading to the car being engulfed in flames and destroyed within 20 minutes. Soon after, a local fire crew arrived and managed to put out the flames, although there isn’t much to be salvaged by then.
Thankfully, no one was hurt in the incident, which didn’t reveal much about the design of the upcoming A7. Prior to being swallowed by the flames, the prototype looked almost similar to the current model, save for the added fender flares.
Not that it’s much of a surprise, as Audi had previously wrapped its new prototypes with familiar bodywork (like what we saw with the RS5). Nonetheless, this incident is a reminder why road testing is crucial, and also that a fire extinguisher is important for emergency purposes.
Going back to the A7, we already know that the fastback’s bodywork will be entirely new, as is the MLB Evo platform that underpins it. So far, our best look of the model is its rear, where it was spotted alongside the new D5 A8 sedan. The A7 will feature a few design cues from the prologue concept that was shown in Los Angeles in 2014.
GALLERY: Next-gen Audi A7 spyshots
Definitely a hot cake.
must be samseng battery inside…ohwai
Don’t worry Audi lovers. It was just a burning test.
Hot wheels!
The tires survived in the fire!
I wonder why can’t they have plumbed in extinguishers like we have in our race cars. Perhaps next time better train the test driver on how to properly use the extinguisher.
Looks like Audi doesn’t have much luck with car fires. Its had a spate of engine fires in the Lamborghini Gallardo….and just not 3 months ago, Aventadoes gets recalled after a few caught fire.
That said, engine fires are a true hazard not to be made fun off, especially in force fed cars. I had once overpressurized my crankcase during a miss-shift and blew the dip stick, spraying oil all over the engine and the hot exhaust manifold and red hot turbocharger.
Fortunately I had a plumbed in fire extinguisher at hand.
They did. Pls read “attempt to extinguish the blaze”. If faiya from engine, usual car fire extinguisher is not big enuff.
Actually john, U are right. The 3rd/4th picture show a man trying to put out the fire but its unsuccessful due to the intensity of the fire.
Surprisingly, this “test mule” have a number plate N4183. How can one tell if this is a “Test Mule”??! I tot test mule have camouflage on the car.
Lastly, I want to know What tires is fitted in the burned car? Usually the tires will catch fire too as they are combustible. It is a GUD advertisement for the tyre company. Cheers…
As i was saying. The man needs to learn how to use it. That’s not how you try to extinguish an engine fire
For a guy to use 4G63TDSM as identity, U must be a Mitsubishi expert. May i ask your expert opinion why/how did the A7 catches fire??
I’ve noticed that the A7 have wire strapped from the bonnet to the front wheel. I’ve read many of your comments & I’ve noticed U don NOT simply bash but always backup with facts & experience to go along with your comments.
I’m happy to learn a thing or two from my fellow experience commentator. Cheers bro.
Of course no one could be really sure what was the cause, but my guess would be electrical instead of mechanical given the source of the fire near the firewall. Engines normally just don’t catch fire unless there is a fuel source like oil or fuel acting with heat or a spark. An engine fire will also result in more smoke and quite likely be coming out from the wheelwells given how the engine sits in an audi. (the engine, turbo chargers and hot exhaust all sit ahead of the front axle)
We do know the A8 will be using a new 48v mild hybrid system, perhaps reason to believe the A7 prototype would be running the same system. Teething problems perhaps.
Thanks for replying 4G63. I got a feeling U must be a retired Auto engineer. Appreciate your time taken to reply. Cheers bro.
Audi & faiya berpisah tiada.
“why road testing is crucial”
Pfft. Audi still stuck in 2oth century carmaking. Deswai alwiz faiya. Come see our many Biza on roads no faiya. Where got superior P2 need road test or camo test.
This one is funny. Seriously, and some people said no need road test just launch it when P1 do so many road test for thier Iriz and Persona. Not remember any PT article regarding Bezza road test.
Bezza already road tested, it’s vios gen1 in disguised
Wheel base not same, crash structure not same, engine not same, transmission not same, body chassis not same. How isit same same vios?
If u tellings of current and incoming vios, then can belip lah.
bezza is not on par with Vios, bezza quality < Vios
I’m not sure u are ignorant or something but do u really belip cars can be sold without testing?
Tested using VR or AR but never on public road or highway
It is not new even Virgin F1 racing car was entirely computer tested. But for mass car it is DANGEROUS
Hot audi.
Nebermind. Aluminium from the car can be recycled later…..
Like a milo tin.
Maybe the 1 turbo per cylinder v8 was just a tad too much. They already run 3 , why not go for broke .
well its an audi…kind of expected
If proton cars like this dah sah kena bash kaw² like exora.
Maybe a n00b question but… If it’s in disguise how do they know it’s the prototype?
Audi’s are great cars. This will no way dent its image.
This is what will happened for most vw group product….kong! Hahahaha
Sui Kwan euro