For the 2017/18 Formula E season, Audi will officially take over ABT Sportsline’s entry slot (currently known as Team ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport) in the fully electric race series to become a fully-fledged works team called Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler. This is a follow up to an announcement made by the carmaker in September last year, where it would step up its involvement in Formula E.

“We’ve been supporting the Formula E commitment with increasing intensity in recent months – on the race days, in the development of the new powertrain and in numerous off-track activities as well,” said Peter Mertens, member of the board of management (technical development) at Audi AG.

“That Audi will be the first German automobile manufacturer to be actively involved in the racing series starting next season is also a clear commitment of our brand to electric mobility, on the race track as of December and next year on the road as well with the new Audi e-tron,” he added.

The fourth Formula E season will start on December 2, 2017, with the first race set to take place in Hong Kong before proceeding to Morocco, Chile, Mexico, Brazil, Italy, France and many more. Currently, Team ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport is competing in the ongoing 2016/17 season, with the next stop being New York in the United States.

“Within the space of just a few years, Formula E has seen such a strong development that a team can no longer be competitive without the backing of an automobile manufacturer. That’s why we’re gladly handing over the reins to Audi – a partner we’ve been successfully cooperating with in motorsport and routine business for many decades. There’s no doubt in my mind that we’re going to continue this success story in Formula E as well,” added team owner Hans-Jürgen Abt.