Road charge for Thai-reg vehicles still being studied

The proposed road charge (RC) or Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) charge for foreign-registered vehicles entering Malaysia via the Thai border will only be implemented after the completion of a technical study conducted by the transport ministry, Bernama reports.

According to road transport department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Nadzri Siron, the study on the installation of VEP in states bordering Thailand was still ongoing.

“We will then be able to implement the VEP charge as that already implemented in Johor Bahru. However, for now, we have not decided on the timeframe as the study is still in progress. We will also discuss with the state government to work on the appropriate time to implement VEP charge at Kedah’s border with Thailand,” he explained.

The move to implement the road charge, which has been approved by the cabinet, was originally set to begin from the end of 2017. It was reported earlier this year that the system was slated to start running from June.

He reiterated that the fee will be RM20 per entry for foreign registration vehicles coming in from Thailand. Nadzri added that the RM9.1 million had been collected from Singaporean-registered vehicles from November 2016 until July this year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Aiseh, tak payah all this road charge lah JPJ. Just clean up your officers. They are all asking money from road users. This is why there are officially 3 million motorists in Malaysia riding and driving without lesen. 20 years ago it was few thousands only without lesen. the figure has balooned up so much cause JPJ clowns are always asking for duit kopi. This is why accidents berlambak

Same with lori hantu. Every year, hundreds of Malaysians get killed by lori hantu. Cause JPJ tahan, get duit kopi and release them without presecution or cinfiscating their lori.

JPJ pls concentrate your energies on cleaning your officers. Tak payah road charge for Thai vehicles la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • i think the studied show not much thai cars entering vs singapore, so no need la

• On contrary, tomyam comes over for same exact reason as SG cars. Goods & fuel.

• Some bashers said My sucks compare to Up and Down. But Up and Down keep drive in.

• Ohwai on Aug 22, 2017 at 3:38 pm

So shy that ONLY RM9.1 mil collected from Singapore vehicles when Singapore charge us so much to enter.

Singapore cars think the toll is super cheap cause their currency is SGD1 to RM3.40.

Our gomen is so stupid. Don’t know how to make money from SG cars. Somemore, they increase the cost of living for JB people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Said someone who bash the G when G want to impose entry fee from Sg drivers.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Tit for tat. Expect Thailand to do the same for Malaysian cars.

• kangkun on Aug 22, 2017 at 4:36 pm

tak payah study so hard.. if they increase we also increase la..so easy what.. no need to do anything in the office until thai announce price increase. but make sure we charge extra u know coz we got world class road.

• kopiokaokao on Aug 22, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Wayang je….it takes u 1 mth to fully enforce on SG…but it took you more than 1 year to “study” on Thai….Liaw Tiong Lai still dare to talk rubbish initially…BN big liar…only know bully on small country :p

• To slow. They started long time a go

• Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:51 am

how come singapore so fast study can complete but thai so slow?

must be boh song singapore already.