Toyota Camry updated in Malaysia – new interior trim at no extra cost, plus more optional accessories

Heading into its sixth year in the Malaysian market, the Toyota Camry has been given a mild update, bringing in a couple of minor interior trim changes at no extra cost, as well as a wider range of optional accessories.

All models now get carbon wood trim, with the range-topping Hybrid Luxury model receiving Kogane (Japanese for gold) leather upholstery as well. Buyers can also now specify USB charging ports at RM212 and auto-folding door mirrors at RM371, along with a RM2,650 360-degree Panoramic View Monitor (PVM) on the 2.0G X model – these items have also been introduced on the Corolla Altis and the Vios.

Otherwise, kit count remains identical, with the base 2.0E coming with xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, fog lights, LED tail lights, 16-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone auto climate control, a 4.2-inch multi-info display, fabric upholstery, manual seats, a radio/CD player, six speakers and a portable tyre pump.

The Hybrid Premium model adds LED headlights and fog lights, leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats, rear window blinds, cruise control, a digital video recorder (dashcam) and solar and security tinting. The 2.0G X goes back to xenon headlights, but throws in 17-inch alloys, a Qi wireless charger and a 2-DIN infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, a reverse camera, Bluetooth and a DVD player.

Lastly, the Hybrid Luxury brings automatic LED headlights, auto wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a nanoe air ioniser, blind spot monitoring with rear cross traffic alert, a built-in infotainment system and a 12-speaker JBL GreenEdge sound system. All models get seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC).

The mechanicals are unchanged, too, with petrol models getting a 167 PS/199 Nm 2.0 litre VVT-iW engine with D-4S direct injection, matched to a six-speed automatic gearbox. The Hybrid variants pair a 160 PS/213 Nm 2.5 litre VVT-i Atkinson-cycle mill with an electric motor to produce a total system output of 205 PS.

As mentioned, there’s no change in price, so the 2.0E retails at RM148,600, the 2.0G X at RM155,400, the Hybrid Premium at RM160,200 and the Hybrid Luxury at RM169,900. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and, on the Hybrid variants, an eight-year battery warranty.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Camry 2.0G X

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Camry Hybrid Luxury

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Honda Malaysia on Sep 05, 2017 at 7:50 pm

come on toyota..a USB wont cost you so many..why sell to buyers more than hundred.. a civic comes with USB across the range

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 30
    • Ismail on Sep 05, 2017 at 9:44 pm

(Like) Perdana3.
      (Dislike) Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 55
    • Nazee on Sep 05, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Other countries launching new camry. we get usb cost options. bravo bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • To tell u don’t support Toyota anymore, let them get out from local market.

• musangKing-originalz on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:40 am

Luxury car indeed, look at the classsic dashboard design with wood element! beautiful piece of engineering! market leader indeed! german brand need to be careful…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Phuiii on Sep 05, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Simpanlah kereta pencemar udara, standard Euro 5 pun tak lepas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 31
  • Toyota is getting desperado by the day. Even periperi must have been warned not to waste time post nonsense and instead focus on actually doing sales instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 31
  • WT Fuchhh on Sep 05, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Wood paneling…Uggghh! So yesterday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 28
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 05, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Yah, which grandfather at UMW decided that fake wood panelling is “ada gaya, ada class”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
      • Not just wood. Cause real wood can look good. But tacky shimery faux wood. Only UMW still use this. They still have this trim in their stockage by the loads. So expect this trim to be in every Toyota for eternity.

• Toyotarak on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:24 am

You dream la. It’s plastic made to look like wood only … kok kok kok you will hear the hollow sound

• TOYOTA FOR EVER ! LONG LIVE THE KING on Sep 05, 2017 at 8:10 pm

Its a good buy now…well than king of cars!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 79
  • The segment leader gettin’ more enticing.
    Only the best Camry real soon !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 79
  • All New Camry coming soon?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Kuinosan on Sep 05, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Stop selling dated and under spec cars to Malaysian market and your sales will improve UMW Toyota. If you don’t keep up with the rest,You can take a rest, a long good rest!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
  • Mystvearn on Sep 05, 2017 at 9:22 pm

I did not know that the civic was eating into camry sales as well. Hard to justify a RM 212 usb port when you can buy a USB port charger for RM 20

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 05, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Only give more goodies when sales are bad, I have traded-in my camry 2.0G for BMW 318i , delivery tomorrow, farewell umw toyota, saiyonara!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • sonyman on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:53 pm

well done, good choice. at least for the next 5 years no need bother about service and warranty.

• ryder0707 on Sep 05, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Toyota Malaysia, why dont you update the Fortuner instead? We need the Sportivo model like Thailand’s model with rear disc brakes not drum brake laa come on!!! Even my old kapcai is equipped with front & rear disc brakes!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Just bring in CHR now pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • The problem with UMW is not about what model their offer, but what comes with the model their offer. Not expecting much, seems like CHR also comes with very minimal spec by looking from their history.

• Yeah… low end spec will feature the manual key start system oh…

• safety 1st on Sep 05, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Syabas UMWT! Updated trims at no extra cost.
    Toyota Gogogo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • hippopo on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:12 am

Just look at those wood trim, it’s so dated. Also the aircon control is so 90’s. I’m wondering who are their target segment.

• Ben Yap on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:44 am

I’ve been a loyal toyota driver for the past 17 years. Lately, i changed to a Honda because when comparing what honda offers vs toyota, it is a vast difference.

Brand name can get you to certain extend only. it just needs another equally strong brand name to give a slight extra push to topple the king that has been reigning for the past decades,

• C. P. MOHAN on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:56 am

I think these “goodies” is to make way for newer more appealing designs and engines hence ‘clearing-stock’ since the current designs/engines looks dated.

• How many times TOYOTA need to facelift/Upgrade to their current model? Own a HONDA and is crap too. I’ll never buy HONDA and TOYOTA again.

• thepolygonal on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:39 am

Ni stock lama dari Singapura ke yang tak dapat jual?

• Tonghoi on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:43 am

Really speechless…for D-segment cars auto fold side mirror also cannot give it free..wtf

• Outdated on Sep 06, 2017 at 11:35 am

Lol! Hybrid is also considered luxury! Only Toyoda think like that!

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Camry will always be my favourite car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • New Saga also comes with 2 USB ports for all variants la..

• nemesis on Sep 06, 2017 at 1:20 pm

outdated engine and gearbox. Kia optima gt now is 245hp/350nm…come on toyota msia, stop giving us crappy tech.

• Ali Karim on Sep 06, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Still ugly…