FIRST LOOK: Volvo S90 T8 walk-around video tour

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) recently launched the S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription and Inscription Plus, retailing at RM368,888 and RM388,888 respectively. The pair, which is locally assembled at VCM’s production facility in Shah Alam, qualifies as Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) and therefore eligible for tax breaks.

The highlight here is its powertrain. Up front is a 2.0 litre four-cylinder Drive-E engine that is supercharged and turbocharged to produce 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque. This is paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission (no paddle shifters) which drives the front wheels. Sitting on the rear axle is an electric motor capable of 87 hp and 240 Nm of torque, sending power exclusively to the rear wheels.

When the two “engines” combine (making it an electronic all-wheel drive sedan), you get a total system output of 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque, good enough for a century sprint time of 4.8 seconds and a top speed of 250 km/h. Volvo claims that the car consumes 2.0 litres of fuel per 100 km and has a pure electric range of 50 km thanks to the larger 10.4 kWh lithium-ion battery pack. Charging to a full is anywhere between two to four hours, depending on the charging source.

Other notable features are full LED headlamps with Active Bending Lights, Volvo Intellisafe (comes with a plethora of active safety features), 12.3-inch fully digital instrument cluster and a nine-inch Sensus connect touchscreen head unit. For RM20,000 more, the Inscription Plus gets Premium Sound 19-speaker Bowers and Wilkins audio system with a 1,400 watts, 12-channel amplifier as well as electronically-controlled adaptive dampers (Four-C) for all four corners and air suspension for the rear axle.

Those who purchase the S90 T8 before October 31, 2017 will get a RM20,000 discount for either variants. It comes with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty and five years of free Volvo On Call roadside assist, whereas service interval is at every 20,000 km. For a more detailed look at the car’s specifications, head on to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Volvo S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription Plus

Gallery: Volvo S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:08 pm

S90 is considered a D segment car. Might as well use the same money and buy a BMW 730li. Now, BMW Malaysia trying to sell their pre-reg 730li for RM399k.

This is far bigger and more luxurious than the S90. S90 legroom is like sitting in a Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 51
    • najib on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:02 pm

How is it a D segment car? Where is the information u got that from?
      Cause all i know is that all reviewers including top gear compares the S90 to the E class and 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
      • BetterbuyBoy on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:32 pm

For $400k, better buy condo in Cyberjaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 17
        • Man of steal on Oct 14, 2017 at 1:30 am

The butt is just too ugly. It is going to be another failure in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
        • Rajan on Oct 15, 2017 at 8:34 am

Volvo forgot to tell the cost to repair the hybrid system. Do you know the battery for the BMW 740Le and Merceds 350e cost RM100k?

Think about it. After warranty over 5 years, anything happens….you will cry like new born baby.

then as the days get closer to the 5 yrs mark, 2nd hand buyers also will be to scared to buy the car. So, 2nd hand values will plummet.

This car might be RM400k but on the 3rd year, it will be RM100k

BMW Malaysia, Volvo Malaysia, and Mercedes Malaysia need to be honest and tell buyers how much the battery cost.

Also, need to tell the cost to repair the Hybrid Electronics. Each time….nothing less than RM10k. Ask the Prius owners, they will tell you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 5
          • Leafable on Oct 15, 2017 at 9:50 pm

If you worry about the price of repair or maintenance which mean you can afford the car in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
          • Andrew Yap on Oct 15, 2017 at 9:55 pm

2014 Audi A6 Hybrid now selling for RM100k from RM380k brand new.

Everybody scared to buy the car cause so problematic and many got to change the battery RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • No sir, without warranty, it is less than RM10k. And yes, I do own a 2012 Toyota Prius. Guess you have information dated like 5 years ago.

Technology evolves faster than you think… plus economic of scale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
      • 12yrsold on Oct 16, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Bro, E-class/5 series/Camry/Accord & this S-90 are D segment cars. That is what Curi Curi Malaysia is trying to tell U that the 730Li is a much more bigger, longer & luxurious car.
        As for which one is “better”, only the user can tell us so.

• Alson P on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:06 pm

S90 is segment-E executive car, BMW 5 series rival, not 7 series.. S90 ‘T8’ high end retailing at RM368,888.. S90 ‘D3 and T5’ entry level RM 100k less.. You can’t compare segment-E with full-size luxury 7 series..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
      • Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:07 pm

This car looks solid. Thank you Geely for saving Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • alaa..topup sikit angkat xc90 la..legroom lagi besar

• Tokoking on Oct 15, 2017 at 1:09 am

E350 n 530e are considered a D segment cars. Might as well use the same money and buy a BMW 730li. Now, BMW Malaysia trying to sell their pre-reg 730li for RM399k.

This is far bigger and more luxurious than the E350 n 530e. E350 n 530e legrooms are like sitting in a Camry…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
  • sutheshkumar87 on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:34 pm

What nonsense “it doesnt get R-Design anywhere else in the world”. I am in Sweden and both the T8 S90 and V90 can be equipped with the R-Design line, and it is also available in most European countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 9:52 pm

We apologise. We got that info from VCM, actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • OK Hafriz, please take tips from this guy and Harvinder also in presenting (enunciation, tone) and dressing. You can do it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Enunciation and tone, I’m trying. Dressing, well, everyone has their own style right? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
      • Chee Lee on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:16 pm

I honestly prefer Hafriz at presenting. The new guy seems stuttered and too stiff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
        • Get more female presenters. More viewers, more subscribers, more fans, more ads sales, more profits, more brand value, more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 14, 2017 at 3:10 pm

do u really watch women reviewer for car? i don’t.. Girl car model yes but not car reviewer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
          • Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:09 pm

that is because you are unexposed and jaguh kampung. Vicky Butler Henderson of Fifth Gear presents well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
        • Matthew H Tong (Member) on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:43 am

Hahaha I have to admit to being both, especially stuttering. Words don’t quite roll of the tongue as well as Hafriz :/

• YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 15, 2017 at 10:01 pm

You have done a good job Matthew. Pls ignore all the pondans who are putting you down.

Infact, Hafriz and Harvinder and your goodself Matthew present really well. You all carry yourself well and convey the required information to the mass readership perfectly

• Dpillai on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:17 am

Good job PT boys!

• Keith on Oct 14, 2017 at 10:11 am

Try speaking slower. And articulate better. Take pauses in between. And edit better. PT’s editing sometimes a pain to look at.

• BowArrow on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:08 am

Mr Hafriz is good enough , i’m happy with how he presents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Vijay Kumar on Oct 14, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Hafriz presents well. Good tone, good voice throw.
        And his style? pretty damn good if you ask me.

• Uncle Sam on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:48 am

Hafriz is getting better and better, he used to be a bit scared when he started. Hafriz sometimes falls into giving an accented tone once awhile but that’s excusable since he’s driving and talking into the camera at the same time. He’s definitely more confident now and should also be presenting more in the future.

Matthew is new and sometimes talks too fast, mispronouncing words, I guess he’s from a Chinese school background. He needs to practice more in front of the mirror and learn from other foreign presenters whose English is their mother tongue by listening and pronouncing those words. As long does not pretend to speak with accents is good enough unlike the other presenter who is not around anymore, I really cannot stand the pretentious fellow. Speak like a local and get your grammar correct first before you want to ape the whiteman. The bhai on the other hand is quite comfortable when speaking as he uses local accents and is more natural.

Off course the Boss needs more time in front of the mirror and YouTube, enough said or I’ll be banned! :)

• Lisa Cult Jam on Oct 13, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Matt is kinda nice to look at

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • price on the high side? when a6 hybrid was introduced it wasn’t this expensive?

• rally_fan (Member) on Oct 17, 2017 at 3:33 pm

A6 hybrid took advantage of some tax breaks for hybrids at the time which are no longer available today.

• tokmoh. on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:44 am

Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Michelle on Oct 14, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Sir, you mean > All on car problem. True, lets see next month sales data then we know if it can sell well

• Eddie on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:53 am

Hi all, I’m really tempted to purchase a PHEV of either a Volvo or bmw, but I got 2 questions/issues regarding it. I have talked to both Volvo n bmw but they can’t give me an answer.

1. I’m staying in a condo, which we don’t have the power point in the car park, meaning the car can’t be charged daily. How much would it affect the battery life?

2. According to both, these cars are designed to operate both engines n electric motors.if the battery is at the end of life say in 5-7yrs time. We cannot bypass the battery pack to run purely engine. I asked the cost of the battery pack, it the turned out be around rm50k…. So meaning the depreciation value of PHEV will be much worse than normal car. Since I cant charge in daily basis, the battery life will become much shorter theoretically.

Anyone can help or have experience on it?

• Mr. Octopus on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:48 pm

It is perfectly fine to not charge the hybrid battery pack from the wall. The engine will do it when needed. You only lose the efficiency of charging externally that is all.

The hybrid battery pack is designed to last at least 10 years. With advancement in battery technology and development, you can expect to see a drop in price of hybrid battery packs so it most likely will not cost anywhere near RM50k in 10 years time.

The main motivation for anyone wanting to own a hybrid/phev should always be to reduce their share of pollution to their environment and savings on fuel as the next reason.

If residual value is the main concern, then you are not ready for it as it is still a pretty new thing and the scale could tip either side over the coming years.

• potato on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:07 am

remember, if you leave the battery flat often, this will reduce the lifespan of the battery. a healthy battery should be maintained around 70%-90% charged.

and even if your battery can last 15 years, there is no guarantee the charging components will last that long.

and trust me. the cost of repairing the hybrid system is alot more than replacing a hybrid battery and it’s not as simple & straightforward.

for example would be iphone charging IC plate. a original battery would cost you few hundreds, an official charging cable will cost you a hundred, but a spoilt IC will cost you over a thousand.

• tokmoh. on Oct 16, 2017 at 9:40 am

The Volvo is intelligent enough to not let the battery flat. It will use the power from petrol engine to charge the battery. The downside is at this pure fuel mode, the fuel consumption will take a dip.

The Volvo is even intelligent enough to not let the battery charge fully, full charge is not healthy either. It will max charge to around 90%.

• potato on Oct 15, 2017 at 12:04 am

you just be running on 100% petrol. this is what people have decided to deal with when they purchase a hybrid. lose abit of mileage only.

as long as the car functions normally without a healthy battery, and the battery doesn’t become a hazard.

• Matt’s presentation is not bad. I couldn’t have done it any better.
    May I offer some nitpicking comments about pronouncing 3, as in ‘th-ree’, not ‘tree’. Sort of rolling the tongue between the teeth.
    Sorry side tracked…

S90 is a great buy, which is why I commonly hear very rich people buy Volvo for its non-flashy image. Disregarding whatever RV everyone’s so concerned about.

• Nenek kau on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:54 am

Only stupid people always thinking “buying a car to sell the car”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Oct 14, 2017 at 10:44 am

the rear is too ugly…. i think it looks better with “Z” shape lighting than a “C”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Nenek kau on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:57 am

No no nooo….what volvo built is possible an iconic tail light design…..cant be the whole design dept in volve made mistake in their design and you are the right one….in your dream only Sir!

• rebadge this to perdana

• pondan4 on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:39 pm

better not. just find a new name cuz perdana doesn’t do s90 justice with full of bad history

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Pls elaborate how does Perdana “with full of bad history”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
  • potato on Oct 14, 2017 at 11:57 pm

this so called 4WD is really just a FF + motor driven rear wheels.

folks thinking this is the GT-R challenger please think twice. torque steer is inevitable with such high power on the front wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Alson P on Oct 15, 2017 at 9:07 pm

They call AWD not 4WD.. They are slightly difference in system how each wheel drive forces..

• Mr. Octopus on Oct 16, 2017 at 8:05 am

Folks thinking this is a GTR challenger please go jump off a cliff… Apples & Oranges la ayoo…

• tokmoh. on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:26 am

Which bodoh think this car is aimed at GT-R?

Did Toyota build Prius to fight against Ferrari? Topkek.

• where are hafriz and harvinder?
    you guys rarely make any more new videos.

• C. P. MOHAN on Oct 15, 2017 at 4:14 pm

EV is the future thus right now it is expensive and also technology-speaking outdated.

• ayoyo on Oct 16, 2017 at 12:10 pm

saw one on da road yesterday near Subang Airport…. blue colour.. the backside.. not as nice as i think…

• Karheng on Oct 18, 2017 at 12:44 pm

No comments on the presentation as many have already addressed it. Agree with the slowing down bit, but overall decent job with room for improvement.

There was one thing which annoyed me and it was the very poor subtitles. Many of the terms and words were wrong and should have been correct since there was a script to begin with. Should really look into that. Finally, would really help to keep the fonts more subtle.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 18, 2017 at 1:11 pm

Hi, the subtitles you’re referring to are auto-generated by YouTube, and not by us.