Tesla Model S gains Novitec personalisation, tuning

German tuning and accessories company Novitec has released tuning parts and accessories for the Tesla Model S, which apply to both the car’s exterior as well as under its skin.

For post-2016 facelifted Model S, there is a body kit finished in naked carbon-fibre, which comprises a front spoiler lip, rocker panels, rear spoiler lip and a diffuser. All the parts are aerodynamically optimised, says Novitec. So too are the Novitec NV2 21-inch wheels, made with wheel specialists Vossen, featuring slanted spokes which are “always in an aerodynamically optimal position relative to the airflow.”

The changes don’t end with the wheels – which are available in 72 different colour finishes – as personalised wheels tend to go with at least a tweak in ride height. To this end, a coilover suspension kit is available for cars without air suspension, and the coilover kit allows variation of the car’s ride height by up to 40 mm, with Comfort, Normal and Sport settings for the dampers. Cars with air suspension fitted, meanwhile, can have the Novitec suspension module fitted which will reduce the ride height by 25 mm.

Better stopping performance is available courtesy of a carbon-ceramic high performance brake kit comprising 380 mm x 34 mm vented discs with six-piston calipers for the front axle, and 360 mm x 28 mm discs with four-piston calipers for the rear axle. These can be had as a set or for the fronts only.

The interior hasn’t been left out, with a range of leather or Alcantara upholstery and trim options available. There are even options for the layout and stitching of trim. What do you think of this kit for the American, all-electric car, dear readers?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 13, 2017 at 4:37 pm

What, no loud pop and bang Novitec exhaust made from carbon fibre or titanium?

• 12yrsold on Dec 13, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Great news from Novitec & Tesla owners who want a dash of looks to go along with owning a fast EV. I tot Novitec did an excellent job for Alfa back then.

What I cannot imagine is someone driving a super fast EV that looks the part but without a purposeful “sound” coming from the exhaust.

Maybe Novitec can make a sound specifically for a super EV for Tesla Model S. I think a growling V8 sound from MaClaren would be a gud start. What say U Novitec ?!

• What is the point of having ev if u want loud sound? Go get the mustang. Almost no sound with supercar speed, that is the beauty of this car. Not to mention to keep as minimal as u can for parts that increase the weight of the car. There’s alot of loud supercar out there people can choose, but not so many quiet fast car. Dont kill it.

• 12yrsold on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:56 am

With technologies like Ford’s “Sound Symposer” & Toyota GT86, U can piped-in exhaust Note into the cabin. U can divert the sound outside if U wanted to.
        Even Porsche, BMW & VW group has a similar system fitted to some models(911/Panamera GTS, M3/4 & Audi S3).

U didn’t read Semi-Valoo comment meh !! The sound is to disturb or annoy the neighbor that U dislike mah ! He he he. Thanks for asking. Cheers…

• Yeast Lump on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:34 pm

No thanks for adding more weight to the car

• Lembu Jinni on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:40 pm

Novitec can only provides cosmetic vanity to Tesla S but no gain in performance neither improvement in top speed nor 0 to 60mph!