SPYSHOTS: Renault Captur facelift spotted in Malaysia

First unveiled globally in March last year, the Renault Captur facelift could be introduced in Malaysia soon, after a camouflaged unit was spotted on the PLUS Highway near Bangi by paultan.org reader Henriko Sjarifuddin.

As you can see in these photos, only certain areas of the Captur – front fog lamps and taillights – have been covered up. These parts are where you’ll find some of the changes that are part of the facelift, the former now featuring C-shaped LED daytime running lights. Meanwhile, there are new 3D-effect C-shaped graphics for the taillights.

Cues that are not hidden away include the new “skid plates” at the front and rear, which are meant to give a more rugged aesthetic. If that isn’t enough, the whole vehicle is wearing one of two new paint colours introduced with the update known as Atacama Orange. As for the wheels, they appear to be new 17-inch Emotion alloys with black inserts instead of the Explore set available on the current Captur on sale.

As for the interior, everything remains largely the same as before, although a panoramic glass roof has been added. However, this item is standard only on certain trim levels in other markets, and it’s hard to tell from these photos if it can be found here.

Under the bonnet, expect the Captur facelift to continue using a TCe 120 1.2 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, producing 120 PS at 4,900 rpm and 190 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Drive is transmitted to the front wheels via a six-speed Efficient Dual Clutch (EDC) automatic transmission. The current Captur on sale was launched in locally-assembled form last year, and the facelifted model will likely follow suit as well.

GALLERY: Renault Captur TCe 120 (CKD)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Launched last year, FL this year. Wanna piss off current owners izit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • 12yrsold on Jan 09, 2018 at 9:03 am

Current Captur on sale in Malaysia is NOT facelift la.

• Seriously. Do u even read the article posted? Please read it again and re-read what I said. I wanted to correct U here but on 2nd tot, nah… bcos U will not appreciate it.

• 12yrsold on Jan 10, 2018 at 12:59 pm

SPYSHOTS: Renault Captur “facelift” spotted in M’sia. It mean this facelift is NOT i repeat NOT sold here YET. U have reading problem or what?

Again, the 1st paragraph said the Renault Captur facelift “could” be introduced in Malaysia soon & that mean it was NOT here Yet.

Thanks for showing how egoistic U are by replying. He he he.

• Autocity on Jan 08, 2018 at 2:49 pm

That Nissan Renault 1.2l turbocharged is definitely a gem of an engine. Also used in the Nissan Qashqai, its refined and punchy performance proven more than enough for driving in town or North south highway.

• kanciul on Jan 08, 2018 at 10:02 pm

3 cylinders like a kanciul engine, a big NO

• Smarttess on Jan 09, 2018 at 2:05 am

You’ll also find 3-cylinder turbo engines in current Minis and BMW 3-series cars. So if they’re good enough for these pedigree vehicles, they should be fine for this Renault/Nissan. And more than good enough for small-minded complainers.

• applegreen on Jan 08, 2018 at 3:41 pm

FL after launched last year??

Meanwhile we haven’t see any FL for suprima S or preve for the past 4 years.

• Preve held out long enuff for a model change maybe this year or next, based on Geely platform. Perhaps a Final Edition enhancement to push on until this happens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Saiful Hamdan on Jan 08, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Headlight seem not the reflective LED unit. Hopefully the CKD facelift got the LED headlight as well.

• Whats the problem with Tan Chong planners? Why bring in something just to make changes less than 1 year later? This is the same case with Fluence owners. All Renault owners got shafted when their cars go “outdated” 1 year after buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15