Socar launches car-sharing programme in Malaysia

First launched in 2011 in Jeju Island, South Korea, Socar is a mobile app-based car-sharing programme which operates with a fleet of almost 9,000 cars, over 3,000 parking zones and 81 cities in the southern part of the country.

Now in Malaysia, the car-sharing app kicks off operations in Malaysia, with 240 cars available for use from 100 pick-up points across Kuala Lumpur. Currently, the line-up of cars is comprised of the Perodua Axia and the Honda City at a 30% split each, with the Honda HR-V and the MINI Cooper making up the remaining 40% of the available fleet.

Hourly pricing for the Socar programme is as follows: the Perodua Axia goes for RM8 per hour on weekdays and RM11 per hour on weekends, the Honda City at RM9.90 on weekdays and RM15.90 on weekends, the Honda HR-V at RM18.90 on weekdays and RM25 on weekends, and the MINI Cooper goes for RM25 on weekdays and RM30 on weekends (prices exclude GST).

To use, download the iOS or Android app from the App Store and Play Store respectively, and sign in. Details required are identification (NRIC or passport) and a valid drivers licence, which are to be submitted by uploading respective images of each. An image of the user is also required to verify that the document holder and app user are the same person.

Once the account is verified via SMS, bookings can then be made. Users can then head to a Socar zone where the vehicles will be located, and once pictures of the car are taken and uploaded to verify the condition of said vehicle, the user can be on his or her way.

There is also the door-to-door delivery service for added flexibility, where users can have the Socar vehicle delivered to their desired pick-up points and subsequently for their drop-off location of choice. An additional RM5 will be charged for this service, and is currently limited to the Bangsar and Damansara Heights areas.

The Socar Stress-free Pass is also available for those who want to use the service overnight on weekdays. Available Mondays to Thursdays from 7pm to 8am, the cars that can be hired out for the duration are the Perodua Axia, Honda City and Honda HR-V at RM28, RM37 and RM69 respectively.

Duration of hire can be from 30 minutes up to two to four weeks, the upper limit depending on demand and therefore supply. CEO of Socar Malaysia Leon Foong says that the vast majority of users thus far have been found to use Socar vehicles for round trips lasting a few hours. Times of higher demand, such as in the coming Chinese New Year season, will see the limit reduced to aid supply.

Fuel usage is covered by a fuel card provided within each Socar vehicle, with fuel costs included in the initial fee paid for the duration booked, for a mileage rate of 30 km per hour. Any distance covered beyond that will be subject to a charge of 25 sen per km. For the booked duration however, fuel card usage is unlimited.

Should tolled roads be used, SmartTAGs or Touch ‘n Go cards are not included, and therefore is a bring-your-own arrangement. Payment is via the Braintree payment gateway, and will support both debit and credit cards. Insurance includes comprehensive coverage as well as personal accident, provided by Allianz and Liberty Insurance.

Future plans include fleet expansion to 1,000 cars in the next 12 months, and to 10,000 cars by 2020. The company’s future plans will include seven-seaters as well, although makes and models are yet to be confirmed. Growth of pick-up and return locations are on the cards too, though subject to incoming data and user feedback; likely growth areas are the Subang Jaya and Sunway regions, Foong says.

What do you think of Socar, dear readers? Might this tempt you away from the now-familiar selection of ride-sharing apps, particularly if you prefer to drive rather than be driven?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• MeToo on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Seriously.. who wants to share cars with someone else in Malaysia? Sincerely doubt if our society is matured enough to make this work…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
    • Raymond Wee on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Homegrown app, Dacsee is a better platform.

• Either you are new here or you have been learning from Proton with their “Preve is better” in every thread.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • This “link every story back to Proton negatively” maybe was fun for you and some readers for a while, but it’s getting stale lah bang / kak…

• Fully agree. Next time they sakit perut oso say ini salah P1. Such mentality

• Dacsee is a diff app, its for taxis. This is more like Grabuber.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:45 pm

Am I reading wrongly or does the article mention its not a sharing service? U rent the car like how u rent from Avis.

• Volvok on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:18 pm

Kena summon how?

• Maybe next time they can include ferrari or porsche

• Vincent on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:23 pm

I will only use this if they go supercar which allowing me to experience the feel of below 3 second!

Others car that we can afford… no way..

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 25, 2018 at 8:13 pm

You don’t need a ferrari. It is a rental car. Its already the fastest car on the planet. Even the Axia.

Unless you have been already driving quick cars, a 3 second 0-100 car will only result in only 3 things.

1) you shit your pants
        2) you crash and die
        3) too scared to go fast.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Finally, can be like Doug DeMuro and rent a Tesla or Maserati or some cool car. Then i can find it’s quirks and give it a score. Yeah if you can find someone willing to rent out their sports/supercar. Also, how does the insurance work? If it gets stolen while being rented out? Will insurance cover it, since owner willingly gave the keys to the “tenant”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • makes no sense on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:16 pm

why bother with KL traffic, parking, fuel, bring your own touch n go, etc etc… just use Grab or Uber. So much easier and cheaper too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:47 pm

It will only make sense if there is an airport drop off.

I frequently make frequent trips abroad (usually 2-3 days), and 1) parking overnight at airport for a few days is a killer. 2) Taxis to/from the airport (even grab and Uber) is expensive, and the service hit or miss.

So, pick the car up, drive to the airport, drop the car off. Say for a Honda City, it would be about 35 including fuel. Do the same on the way back. Multiplied 2 ways, that is a only 70.

Otherwise, i would rather drive or take UBER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Azmin on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:52 pm

That depend sir. Sometimes SOCAR better, other times it might be Grab/Uber. Pick a spot/location and study. I did mine at one particular location and select SOCAR over grab anytime.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Recently used it once over here. Overcharged my card despite applying promo code, but rectified after complaining. Still lots of issues regarding price/promo, beware.

Main complain however would be that the car only managed to unlock after 30 minutes. Not the most convenient if you have made plans.

Might be an unlucky one-off experience though, will try again in the near future.

• Azmin on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:37 pm

Nope. Mine on two rental periods (in between multiple lock and unlock, of course), the process completed within 10second. The process are done solely via apps so expect a lag.

• thepolygonal on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Hmm… I wonder what the Mini in this case scenario is for… people who can’t afford one but still want to show off / make an impression by renting one? The birth of the rent car nation. Now that people cannot afford housing, people rent, so next step is people cannot afford car, so rent / share. Good job!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • tansri85 on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:24 pm

Wow.. later maybe car distributor or dealer can use it as marketing for people to test drive their new model

• Azmin on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Yaa but it is limited (for now) to Honda breed (HRV, Civic), Mini and Axia. Well at least I can try HRV. During test drive, I might jump buying one but after rental of 2 hours, I might not due personal preference. Peace to all HRV owners.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 24, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Is it cheaper compared to Uber??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Pagana bandar on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Excellent work comes from developed nation keep it up

• This has its place. Why fret? We get to take part something new and have more choices for the way we travel. Win win I say.

• Bernard on Jan 24, 2018 at 10:36 pm

Jeju is quite different from Bolehland in terms of traffic and how society is.

Expect a lot of problems.

• Makes more sense if they offer MPV. Family comes back and need bigger car.

• Question on Jan 25, 2018 at 7:52 am

Anybody know if the cars can be had with child seats? Or is it bring-your-own like the TnG?

• Seriously with our kind of society, those cars will be vandalized or they will turn the interior into garbage. Just look at our MRT vandalized only after few days, bike rental parts stolen etc..

• Azmin on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:46 pm

That why credit card is there. Just keep your rental period perfectly “flawless”. Hey, I report if I can smell cigarettes or found any evidence related to cigarettes since smoking is a no-no as per SOCAR rules and regulation

• Wow, i can use this when my VW is down, thanks!

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 25, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Maybe you should find your neighbour with a Pug. You can probably get Socar to give you frequent driver discounts. :p

• Recently I used SOCAR service at Mont Kiara and quite satisfied. Convenient and bluetooth door open was sooooo impressive and fast. Price was much cheaper than I expected and MINI was perfect for hang-out. Try it!!!

• Ollie on Feb 28, 2018 at 8:41 am

Leon Foong is the former GM of Uber Malaysia. Based on my conversations with him, is a bit overconfident on startup ideas. Give it 3 to 4 years, will attract billions in venture funds, no need to roll a profit, the owners and runners will make their billion at the expense of consumers and car owners. See the fate of Uber drivers vs the billion dollar Travis Kalanick. Not surprised if Leon has made his own millions from Uber.

• Jasbir Kaur on May 03, 2019 at 11:03 am

I have a Honda CRV which I’m not using. Can I rent it out to you.