Honda HR-V facelift – first minor change image leaked

Here’s a leaked image of the Honda HR-V facelift from what appears to be a Japanese brochure. In Japan, it is known as the Honda Vezel. We know that the minor change for Honda’s B-segment SUV is coming very soon, not just because it has been around in current form since late 2013, but because disguised mules have been spotted testing in Malaysia late last year.

We now get a good look at the upcoming HR-V facelift’s revised front end, and it’s no big surprise that Honda has only given the popular crossover a minor nip and tuck. The brand’s current corporate face is now on the HR-V, with the signature thick chrome bar as seen on the facelifted Accord (and the upcoming next-gen) as well as the Civic FC. Like top variants of those two sedans, the HR-V is now available with full LED reflector headlamps (projector LEDs now), which have the appearance of scales on Hondas.

Below the new grille is a reprofiled bumper with larger “side air intakes” than before. Like today’s car, those black pieces house the fog lamps, which are round instead of egg-shaped like on the original Vezel/HR-V. The 16-inch wheels seen here will be familiar to early Malaysian buyers of the HR-V, which has since gone on to wear 17-inch dual-tone rims.

If the recent trend continues, we should be seeing and getting the HR-V facelift very soon after Japan, if not the same time or earlier. The refreshed HR-V will be the incumbent that the much-teased but yet to arrive Toyota C-HR will have to beat, although the latter has a different price range (RM146k) and positioning. Like what you see?

GALLERY: Current Honda HR-V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• In some country, this car’s price can alredi get u a GLC in another country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Chris on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:24 pm

in some country, USD 1.50 / JPY 150 can only get you a can of Coke.

• Tf with Toyota past few years? on Jan 23, 2018 at 5:49 pm

1 HRV + Myvi 1.5 = 146k CHR
        Some more facelift HRV sure give you more specification upgrades than CHR
        (Like) HRV
        (Dislike) CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
      • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:18 pm

I like the HRV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Well said john, can alredi get a GLC in USA. Great mericans

• Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 4:00 pm

Our DRB Honda Malaysia is greedy. They refuse to bring the HRV Hybrid. With Government’s tax incentive given, they can price the HRV Hybrid at RM80k instead of RM100k.

I got no idea why GLC based DRB aka Honda Malaysia want to make people suffer.

Just bring in the HRV Hybrid and benefit from the tax savings given by our Gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 27
      • Thats probably due to DRB HM alredi have their plates full with 7 models launched last year, and then struggling to meet the sales volume. The max quota given by jepunis lords was 5 new cars but local managed DRB HM was smart & savvy enuff to wrangle 2 more models out from the clutches of those lords. Gud job DRB!

HRV hybrid is most likely slated for this year to coincide with CHR launch, together with new Accord and Civic FL. Another round of applause for locally managed and staffed DRB! U make us all 31 million MY pipu proud!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 27
        • basherlogic on Jan 23, 2018 at 5:41 pm

excuses excuses excuses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:23 pm

john do you work in DRB? Then, how do you know they got their plates full? 5 lah, 7 lah…mana betul??

Our hybrid tax incentive has been there 5 years ago. Why DRB did not plan the past 5 years to bring HRV Hybrid which will benefit the rakyat with cheaper prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
          • Then do u work in DRB? How do u know their plates aint full?

Its well known that HM DRB planned to bring in only 5 models last year. U wud know if u read the articles in PT instead of just scrolling down and started bashing.

And 5 years ago, the HRV that u seen now was just a JDM exclusive model. It wasnt meant for outside market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 18
          • Middle East Resident on Jan 23, 2018 at 9:15 pm

ooops john kena kantoi

• Err… like whut???

• Middle East Resident on Jan 23, 2018 at 9:14 pm

another fake news

• Spoon lover on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:34 pm

This year come hrv hybrid

• Sean Liew on Jan 23, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Why Malaysian likes to compare other country’s car prices? Stop daydreaming or you can try to migrate to your preferred country of lower car price. I am not being sarcastic but you all are living in a pathetic state of mentality and assumptions. My advise to you is live in your own life. If you cannot afford it then don’t buy. Buy within your means. By comparing our car prices with other country’s prices is very backward thinking and immature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Nobuyuki on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:19 pm

(Like) Honda HR-V facelift.
    (Dislike) Toyota CH-R

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
    • So, in what possible way is this minor change/facelift an improvement over the original?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2018 at 4:46 pm

The CHR is going to get its butt handed back to itself by the HRV.

• Karam Singh on Jan 23, 2018 at 5:53 pm

CHR is best seller in Japan. Enuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • In Malaysia HR-V RM120k, C-HR RM146k which one will you choose? BTW the C-HR is same size as HR-V and not much better in specs.

• thepolygonal on Jan 23, 2018 at 4:59 pm

With the introduction of the City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid last year in Malaysia, don’t you think it’s time we launch the HRV Hybrid here together with the facelift since the City and Jazz hybrid already CKD, the shared components for HRV Hybrid should be lebih kurang here already for assembly? Would this bring the price even lower and make CHR obsolete before it’s official arrival?

• JazzHaiburitto on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:14 pm

Let us lab rat the iDCD gearbox for HRV 1st. At least wait a year or 2…

• hopefully look good in real one. that blue one looks like the cartoon’ed squeezed version of current accord

• Honda – champion in Malaysia. Not so much in all other countries.

• In tomyam as well https://paultan.org/2018/01/22/honda-tops-2017-thai-passenger-car-sales-3rd-overall/

Both were traditionally toyota stronghold. Now they turn to Honda fortress.

• Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:15 pm

That sounds like Proton. Cannot sell in other countries. Fail all regulations of safety, design and emission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Nah. More like P2. Cant sell anywhere outside. Jaguh kampung.

• According to that logic, 5star ANCAP means fail. So getting 5star in lower standard ASEANNCAP for those like Mivi means…

• timmy on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:08 pm

John, you do realize why Honda is Number 1 in bolehland. Its simple, their rivals like Nissan are still selling outdated Junk models. No Juke, Pulsar and Qashqai like in Singapore and Japan.
          Mazdas prices here are reserved for the upper middle class customers.
          Toyotas in Malaysians minds mean so called ‘Uncle, Aunty’ cars. Senior citizens who cant afford a new Mercedes or BMW.
          Hondas have good RV compared to others but come with a huge flaw, their quality which still S**** today based on their FB page.
          Cheapskate quality for premium prices.

• Hvannees on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:43 pm

Why use reflector type LED? is it more better than current LED projector?

• Bernard on Jan 23, 2018 at 7:57 pm

A low level employee at Walmart in the US can buy this no problem.
    Here you have to be rich to afford one.

• Problem is, that low level employee of Walmart constantly worries if his job is still there the next day he comes to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Not just that, that Walmart employee goes to work everyday in his cheap car worried if he would get shot by some crazy Murican carrying a gun. Check out the #edc hashtag on insta.

I’ll continue staying in Malaysia thank you very much.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 24, 2018 at 12:58 am

Worried of some crazy Rempits prowling the streets to rob & bash up the innocents.

• Rempits do it for money. Muricans shoot just for the lulz. Yeah, still better being in MY.

• Eugene liew on Jan 23, 2018 at 9:20 pm

The passenger aircon vent still awkwardly design and blowing to passenger face. 2nd roll passengers may not get sufficient air blowing behind due to the awkward passenger aircon vent.

• At least Honda didn’t reinvent the wheel. That would have been a worse inconvenience. LOL.

• SALgoodguy on Jan 23, 2018 at 11:39 pm

Should fix XC60 style aircon vents front & back.

• If thats a facelift, the surgeon needs glasses!

• come to our shores, probably only high spec v gets the led headlights. meh~

• PotentialHondaBuyer on Jan 24, 2018 at 9:46 am

The first Japanese words are “Midnight Blue”
    The second words are “Platinum White”

Anyone knows when this will starts selling in Malaysia?