February 2018 week two fuel prices – petrol goes up

It’s a Wednesday and that means new fuel prices for the week ahead. After last week’s increases, we will see another two sen increase in petrol this week, although diesel prices will go down by three sen from midnight.

From tomorrow, February 8, the price of RON 95 petrol will be RM2.33 per litre (from RM2.31 per litre last week). However, there’s a three sen jump in RON 97 pricing, meaning that the fuel will be RM2.61 per litre for the coming week (RM2.58 per litre last week).

As for diesel, Euro 2M will be priced at RM2.31 (from RM2.34 per litre last week), while Euro 5 diesel will go for RM2.41 (previously, RM2.44 per litre). These prices will be in effect until February 14, when the next fuel price adjustment will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 46th since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The current price of RON 95 petrol is three sen higher (from RM2.30 per litre) than at the start of the programme, while RON 97 is up one sen (from RM2.60). Diesel, meanwhile, is 11 sen higher than it was then (from RM2.20 per litre).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mohd Taufik Yunos on Feb 07, 2018 at 6:00 pm

OMG, petrol is going higher and higher. But don’t worry, we Malaysians already have prepaid RM3.00 pe rlitre for the next 20 years with our super expensive car prices already.

So, go up or down, don’t worry. We already kena hantam kaw kaw with our super high car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
    • Dr Mano on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:03 pm

Higher fuel prices & GST contribute to the highest inflation rate in 9 years since November 2008. Spike in transport, essential goods, food prices esp cooking oil, ikan kembong, poultry.

Malaysians with low incomes in general can’t afford nutritious food. Higher prices mean problems for poor and low-income households struggling to cope with the higher costs of food.

A family who previously spent RM150-RM200 a week. Is now forced to fork out at least RM300-RM400 a week to buy the same food items.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 1
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 07, 2018 at 9:13 pm

but …but…. fake poster always say cost of living in malaysia so cheap and car prices lowest in the world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
      • Hj Zain on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:05 am

Well said Doc… the reality reali hurt us Rakyat

• Kancil Hybrid on Feb 07, 2018 at 9:43 pm

Masih lagi rendah berbanding Singapura.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Pagana on Feb 07, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Pondan who approve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • John is Johny now on Feb 07, 2018 at 6:16 pm

whatever the price of petrol, we all must be grateful and in debt with the govt bcoz our petrol prices are still very cheap compared to Japan, UK, US and Singapore….

Thank you, for their perihatin and our leaders yang jiwa-rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 80
    • Sorry, still old John here. You are right, Malaysia got the cheapest petrol in the world. We should not complain. We should all be grateful to Government for keeping our petrol very cheap….oh wai!

I am proud to be Malaysian!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 93
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 07, 2018 at 9:16 pm

I am proud to be Malaysian too!

• Njoy betoi…
        https://paultan.org/2017/02/23/free-petrol-for-motorcyclists-every-month-for-a-year/

• This is day light robbery. There are flaws on the calculations of the fuel prices. Show to the nation how you derived the fuel prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • calculations are good. It is on their website. Stop complaining and work harder….you will see, petrol is so very affordable in Malaysia….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 78
    • Jack Mah on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:38 pm

If we are a good team and know what we want to do, one of us can defeat 10 of them.

• The Gomen taxed us left right n centre for cars eg excise duty, import duty, gst. The car manufacturer distribution kaw2 take profits, the banks kaw2 makan interests for up to 9 yrs. Gomen also kaw2 remove fuel subsidies. Rakyat kaw2 being conned but still a happy lot!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Vincent on Feb 07, 2018 at 7:12 pm

Hahahah… my fill tank will reach new high.. MYR150 per tank…Thanks G.

I wonder any one still believe that Malaysia oil price is follow international price trend…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • gottagoslow on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:42 pm

Brake less, accelerate slower, cruise at minimum RPM for the last gear, turn your aircond warmer or cycle off-on-off-on your aircon. RM150 can easily last 20% longer.

See how European or American highway drive. Don’t drive like idiot myvi tailgater, hard accelerate then brake after 5 meter.

Fuel is getting more expensive, adapt or suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • 12yrsold on Feb 08, 2018 at 9:20 am

Like that mean cannot enjoy all the power & air-con of the vehicle. Better use public transport or Grab car.

• IGP mom on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:03 am

And as more and more drive like you, it contributes to more jams and viola … your fuel efficiency drops further.

• Well said. Typical response from those who cannot “adapt”: Why must I lower my standards when gomen raise fuel prices?

• Mak dia on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:54 pm

Yeahhh..this is kepala bana..hidup bijan!!hureyyy

• SINGAPORE, Feb 7- Oil prices rose on Wednesday amid a recovery in global stock markets, supported by a report that U.S. crude inventories fell last week and positive comments by OPEC. Brent crude futures were at $67.29 per barrel at 0135 GMT, up 43 cents, or 0.6 percent, from the previous close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
    • Some My pipu don’t believe fact john. The calculation formula are long can be found in the web, even in PT. Some My pipu want cheap fuel but in the same time demand for higher grade of petrol. Typical My attitude maybe, want to stay at 5 star hotel but only want to pay for 2 star price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
      • 12yrsold on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:39 am

Sound like U have lots of experience staying in 5 star hotel but only want to pay for 2 star price.

• Said someone who want to enjoy all the power of the car, but complaint high fuel price.

• 12yrsold on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Obviously U cannot tell the difference between replying a comment & an inference.

• clown on Feb 08, 2018 at 8:39 am

takpe..beli myvi baru..jimat minyak..kahkahkah

• Therealmaserati on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:31 am

Diesel is down 3 sen not 4 sen

• Ah Fai on Feb 09, 2018 at 10:56 am

Petron Ron 100
    Price Rm3.05/L @ 8/2/2018

paultan.org Please update it tq.