SPIED: Mercedes-Benz V-Class facelift winter testing

The W447 Mercedes-Benz V-Class is finally set to receive a small update after more than four years since its world debut back in February 2014. Our European spy photographers managed to catch sight of the facelifted model doing winter testing, and it’s only camouflaged at the front.

This points towards the obvious styling refresh, which may include revisions to the entire front bumper, front grille, lower air intake and headlights design. A closer look at the grille reveals a thicker set of louvres, and it doesn’t appear to be connected to the edges of the grille. There’s also a small cutout beneath the tri-star badge for the forward-facing camera and presumably for other driving assistance technologies.

Elsewhere, the V-Class remains identical as before, at least on the outside. There’s no pictures of the interior as yet, but all will be revealed in due time. Back at home, the luxurious people-mover is offered in two trims – V 220 d Avantgarde and V 220 d AMG Line. Both models share the same 2.1 four-cylinder turbodiesel producing 163 hp and 380 Nm, and it’s paired with a seven-speed 7G-Tronic automatic transmission with paddle shifters. Prices start from RM449k.

The options list include upgradable items such as a 360-degree parking camera, power-adjustable seats, dual-zone climate control, COMAND Online system with GPS navigation, a 16-speaker Burmeister sound system and swivelling middle-row seats, as well as bench rear seating as opposed to the standard six individual seats.

Safety-wise, it gets six airbags, stability control, hill-start assist, Attention Assist and Crosswind Assist as standard. However, features such as Collision Prevention Assist, Distronic Plus adaptive cruise control, Traffic Sign Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, Blind Spot Assist and Adaptive Highbeam Assist are optional.

For a complete look at the V-Class’ equipment and specifications, head over to CarBase.my.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jimmy on Mar 06, 2018 at 10:49 pm

Second row luxurious ottoman captain seats, and panoramic sunroof should come in as standard.

• Shahrin Abdul on Mar 07, 2018 at 8:57 am

Are you sure this starts at RM449k? No logic. First you talk about winter testing, then give Malaysian price.

Cannot be RM449k. Malaysia has the most expensive car prices in the world

• Hahaha! Why butthurt with PT when the source link is in the article? https://paultan.org/2015/09/08/mercedes-benz-v-class-now-here-v-220-d-rm435k/

Again I said, dun just see headline then bash. Lolz!

• Ahmadjn on Mar 07, 2018 at 12:10 pm

https://paultan.org/2016/07/13/video-mercedes-benz-vito-tourer-mpv-walk-around/

Mesidis MPV harga runtuh RM286k. So janji ditepati!

• 12yrsold on Mar 07, 2018 at 2:37 pm

This is 2018 john. Shah is quoting from current article which is written here at RM449k. If U still have doubt, please check again.

Its just above U with the latest photo caption from RM448,888. Your reference is a “2015” model which is already OLD. Now who is bashing who !!?

• Please read lah. Since when did i SAID must follow old price? PT alredi mentioned Rm449k which isnt too far from old price (435k) but u stubbornly said it wun be this figure.

So shud i trust PT or trust u? Wheres ur source?

• Hunter Zolomon on Mar 07, 2018 at 6:03 am

Perfect for kidnapping children….with class and style

• Young man on Mar 07, 2018 at 7:48 am

They should sell this with petrol engine