Honda Malaysia recalls additional 28,399 units of 2013 City, Jazz, Insight – Takata front passenger airbag

Honda Malaysia (HM) today announced that it is extending the Takata front passenger airbag inflator recall to include a further 28,399 units of model year 2013 cars. The models involved are the MY2013 City (14,944 units), Jazz (6,874), Jazz Hybrid (6,211) and Insight (370).

As with previous affected models, the Takata front airbags may deploy with excessive internal pressure when activated. The airbag inflator casing might rupture, which may result in injury or death to car occupants.

HM will be informing all affected customers via notification letters that will include details of the recall. Customers who receive the letter are encouraged to send their vehicles to the nearest Honda authorised dealer for inspection and free replacement. Click here for more info and to check if your Honda is affected.

HM says that as at March 2018, it has replaced over 223,000 units of the Takata driver airbag inflator, which translates to an 84% completion ratio. Include front passenger airbag inflators and the completed figure is over 435,000 units, or 77%. The company says that no current models are affected by this issue and that it will “continue to uphold transparency and stringent controls to ensure customer safety.”

Excluding this latest round of 28,399 units, HM says that it has 100% stock availability for driver and front passenger airbag inflators and has increased service capacity via mobile hubs, hubs at selected Petronas stations, hubs at Honda roadshows and prioritising airbag replacement activities at dealerships.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• safety 1st on Apr 05, 2018 at 4:54 pm

JPJ need to contact those 2nd hand owner of 2013 Honda cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Not PersonaL on Apr 05, 2018 at 6:16 pm

Why New Persona no recall ? Front power window very weak go up, Petrol lid always jam cannot open, Radio always hang, Speedometer panel brightness got a mind of its own, Horn only works if press at “special” places, Front seat belt that pinches your finger when you fasten them, Walk away from car with keys the horn will shock you blaring loudly not beep, Front cabin no interior lights… Regrets and cheated again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Edwin L on Apr 05, 2018 at 9:00 pm

All those don’t kill you, this one will. And what don’t kill you, makes you stronger. So your car is trying to improve you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • 12yrsold on Apr 06, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Hahahaha. I have a Gud laugh reading your comment. In short, if anyone want to “improve” themselves, buy a Persona. I get it bro. Cheers…

• YB Albert on Apr 06, 2018 at 12:33 am

Brudder not personal
        Very surprise u get pesona.Perhaps u forget to read my comments on Protong.
        DR.Li Chun Rong said he needs the vendors to cut prices 30percent for car parts.
        Protong is overpriced n still bad QC.
        When they cut prices,imagine,they will have langsung zero quality.The power window will not go up.Now u got to help push it up.After 30 donkey yrs still got power window problem from waja and wira years.Just unthinkable.Never buy a protong unless the discounts are rm20K,then u wouldnt mind some discomforts from all these kacaau QC problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • After so many years these manufacturers still taking time to replace their faulty airbags. Is it really safe for their customers to drive the car in the meantime???

• As safe as grenade in front of u.

• My car don’t use takata airbag. How bout you and your love one?

• P1 dun use Takata period. Stay safe always with Autoliv by Sweden.

• 12yrsold on Apr 06, 2018 at 2:19 pm

Check out – In Cars, Local News, Malaysian Makes, Proton, Proton Satria News/ By Paul Tan / 8 October 2010 3:25 pm.
            U think Proton tada airbag problem ka ??

• No links? Whatcha tryin to pull?

• Ben Yap on Apr 06, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Honda is a responsible company. they are efficient in the recall and don’t hide it. safety of their customers are their top priority. Buy honda with confidence.

• Honda should have expedite and complete the recall earlier. At least they should have announce the models earlier and let the owner take precautions. This is about SAFETY AND LIFE!!!