Honda Malaysia recalls 24,962 vehicles over Takata airbags – 2012 Accord, Jazz, City, Freed and Insight

Honda airbag

Honda Malaysia has announced that it is initiating a precautionary recall for 24,962 vehicles over faulty front passenger airbag inflators manufactured by Takata. The issue affects the 2012 model year Accord, Jazz, Jazz Hybrid, City, Freed and Insight. The company stated that so far, there have been no crashes or injuries that have involved this particular airbag inflator unit.

As with previous exercises, all affected customers will be informed via a notification letter, which will include details of the recall. Customers who receive the notification are advised to bring the letter and their vehicles to the nearest authorised Honda dealer for inspection. The replacement works will be carried out once the parts are ready, and all costs of parts and labour will be borne by Honda Malaysia.

The company adds that all dealers nationwide have new inflators in stock to cater to the newly affected customers, and has promised to continue urging Takata to speed up the supply of parts for vehicles affected in the Takata airbag inflator recalls initiated by the company.

Honda Malaysia recalls 24,962 vehicles over Takata airbags – 2012 Accord, Jazz, City, Freed and Insight

Honda Malaysia urges owners of vehicles affected by the recall to get their vehicles checked and parts replaced at any authorised Honda dealer or Mobile Hub as soon as possible upon receipt of the notification letters. The company adds that all of its current selling models are not affected by the recall.

The company will continue to recall vehicles proactively with regards to the Takata front airbag inflator issue, and will alert and remind customers on the importance of replacing the affected components via increased frequency of social media postings and SMS blasts.

You can check your Honda’s update status by calling 1-800-88-2020 or by visiting any authorised Honda dealer. You can also use the company’s online VIN checker to see if your vehicle is affected.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 03, 2017 at 4:50 pm

no worry….this is foreign brand car…everything good….now you see…new facelift honda city coming…everyone want it, praise it…still run for honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 03, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Issit…cannot be..honda is the greatest…this is a lie issit…want to downgrade the brand issit…we malaysians are so hadap of honda…this must be a joke hor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • menee on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:31 pm

This is enough to eliminate all jepunis cars from any awards. Buying it is like “Whoa, so sorhail life, want to go early afterlife!”

• shamefool on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:35 pm

OMG ! Honda you been keeping quiet all this while ??

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 10:24 am

Pity Malaysians. We have to worship Jepunis overlords cause 30 years our Proton still cannot come out with a good product to make us proud.

All of us want to be proud of Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
        • Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 2:58 pm

It is amazing in other countries, Toyota, honda and Nissan as well as Porsche, BMW and Merc have got loads of law suits for various breaches. So many class action suits too.

In Malaysia, no car company has ever been sued by the rakyat. Those who have tried have got their cases thrown out of court automatically.

Why are our car companies so kebal? They are like Ultraman. Nobody can touch them.

• Operation Manager on Feb 05, 2017 at 8:26 pm

The Takata airbag issues since June’2015, 1 & half years passed, still talking the issues, this is honda bolehland…

• kolos on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:37 pm

You know la gomen should say to them to kolos shop, more than 70 years old still cannot make airbags right! Killed pipu summore! This is much much much worse than any “cheat”gate

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:40 pm

Never ending recalls la honda…so cheapskate meh..no quality hor…oh no wonder all their cars are for 3rd world country…unlike toyota all premium models on Malaysian roads…alphard, vellfire, harrier, estima, mark x…pity honda fanboys…

• Cheater on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Why take so long to recall? The older units have been recalled since last year. Dont tell me honda only realized it now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Why take so long to recall? In US, even 2016 units are being recalled.

The problem in Malaysia, there is no body to force or penalise the car companies like in US. In US, car companies and US Gomen is two separate bodies. The US Gomen will sue the car companies to protect their rakyat.

In Malaysia, Msian gomen literally own all car companies. So, gomen cannot be neutral and act on behalf of the rakyat cause if gomen sue the car companies in Malaysia, it means, they are suing themselves!

This is why in Malaysia, until 2017, our cars got no safety features like VSC. Cause the gomen, who are owners of the car companies in Malaysia, don’t want to fork out extra cost to do recalls or install VSC as this will eat into their untung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • boooooo on Feb 03, 2017 at 10:33 pm

So which one takes the longest time to claim warranty/recall. VW or Honda? Or all the silent jepunis auto makers here?

• Buy P1 then. Tadak takata

• JIbril on Feb 03, 2017 at 5:42 pm

In the US, even 2016 models are being recalled. You guys can google it. 2016 models from Audis, Mercs, Ferrari, Jeep and so on are being recalled.

I have a sneaky feelings that many of us in Malaysia are driving with a time bomb. Time to buy cars with different make of airbag perhaps…..

• Buy P1 then. Tadak takata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 10:20 am

But P1 got no RV. Buy today, within 3 years lose 80% of car value. Honda got takata scandal but RV still very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Be Fair on Feb 05, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Be Fair. Don’t worry 2016 cars will be recalled in 2020. It takes 4 years before the igniter material (same chemical used for dynamite) to disintegrate in takata airbags. So all Honda drivers is still safe.

• Be Fair on Feb 05, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Don’t worry. Recall for 2016 will be in 2020. The igniter in Honda airbags, the ammonium nitrate (which is same ingredient of a dynamite used in landmines) will only disintegrate and becomes volatile in 4 years. So Honda is still safe to drive.

• Can’t fully blame H. Not enough stocks and can’t tell don’t drive the car until change. Chance of deflator problem increase with age. So prioritise older car was the better decision. Compare to other manufacturer, H quite proactive and among the most agreesive making the recall. Nothing perfect that’s the best they can do, what’s better? Or you prefer they lingkup and no change done?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • Cheater on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:27 pm

They can always remove the deflators of affected cars first and replace it once stock is available

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Bashers alwiz says kolos shop, but since this is their jepunis overlord then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 10:19 am

We need Jepunis overlords and China overlords to bail us out bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • razor on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:27 pm

stupid honda
    i did received call from them ask me to book appointment to change passenger side airbag..
    booked appointment went to sc, sc said passenger side not affected, driver side only..

now this.. waste my time

• Ken Cheng Kuat on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Toyota not selling any cars last year? Why haven’t read any news UMW recall their takata? Or Toyota using ‘tak kata apa-apa’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • karam singh on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Oh my god. Honda sold 190,000 cars in 2015-2016. Hard to imagine what may happen in 2-3 years time. Lucky I bought myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Kereta Kotak Kotek on Feb 04, 2017 at 8:19 am

Anyone will be ashamed to say they own a MYVI or even put the keys of Perodua on the table … Typical Perodua Salesman DETECTED

• Bapak Bangkrut Nusantara on Feb 03, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Now recall of front passenger airbags still ongoing… What next? side airbags, knee airbags, curtain airbags hopefully not faulty no recall ok.

• important question is are the new 2016 civic & soon to be launched facelift 2017 city also uses takata airbags?

i thought they CKD & assemble it in malaysia rite? why bother to fit in takata airbags knowing its flaw? ^^
    i hope the latest model are fitted with non-takata airbags

• Proton TerBagus on Feb 04, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I have no air bag problem. Thank you, Proton. You are the bestest!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Hopefully your Proton airbag inflates in an accident bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Ben Yap on Feb 06, 2017 at 9:43 am

honda cars is still very sellable even with this issue. no worries for honda salesman la.