Mercedes-AMG GT 4-Door Coupe coming to Malaysia?

The Mercedes-AMG family was enlarged this year when the GT 4-Door Coupe made its debut at the Geneva Motor Show in March. While it is yet to be confirmed if the model will make its way to our country, a post on Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s Instagram page might be hinting it could happen.

The post itself features several photos of the GT 4-Door Coupe and the caption “more space, more power, more goose pimples,” which doesn’t really say if the model is on its way. Scouring through the company’s Instagram page, the last post about the model was made on March 15, with other posts since then involving models already available here (sans that big Maybach EV). With the renewed interest, is this cause for speculation?

As a recap, the GT 4-Door Coupe appears as a four-door version of the two-door AMG GT, and was first previewed by the GT Concept in 2017. It is offered in two forms, with the first being the GT 53 4Matic+ that sports the same powertrain as the CLS 53.

The setup includes a 3.0 litre turbocharged inline-six petrol engine with 429 hp (435 PS) and 520 Nm of torque. There is also an EQ Boost starter-alternator sandwiched between the engine and nine-speed AMG Speedshift TCT 9G automatic transmission, which provides up to 21 hp (22 PS) and 250 Nm of additional output. The result is a 0-100 km/h time of just 4.5 seconds, and a top speed of 285 km/h.

A more powerful version is the GT 63 4Matic+ that does away with the 48 V mild hybrid stuff and packs in a 4.0 litre twin-turbo V8 and nine-speed AMG Speedshift MCT 9G automatic transmission. The mill makes 577 hp (585 PS) at and 800 Nm of torque, good for a century sprint time of 3.4 seconds as well as a lower top speed of 310 km/h.

The most potent of the bunch is the GT 63 S 4Matic+, which has more power than the GT R – 630 hp (639 PS) and 900 Nm of torque – allowing for a 0-100 km/h time of 3.2 seconds and 315 km/h top speed. All models come with the AMG Performance 4Matic+ all-wheel drive system that can be set to be rear-wheel drive only when needed.

So, would you welcome the GT 4-Door Coupe, or do you still have your eyes set on the Porsche Panamera? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG GT 4-Door Coupe

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• “Make the MY rich, richer again”
    New MY tagline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 51
    • Rob Mugabe on May 28, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Better than your boss who went to US and said, we will make America great again.

And our country got no money also promised to buy USD20 billion of Boeings.

• Gov no need buy Boeing. But AirAsia got money to buy “AirAsia CEO says looking at Boeing 787 for AirAsia X fleet growth”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • New Malaysia on May 28, 2018 at 8:42 pm

“Make MY rakyat rich, not Bapak 1MDB richer”

That’s the new MY tagline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
      • Damon Lee on May 28, 2018 at 11:36 pm

“Make the Rich Richer, Make the Poor Poorer”
        That’s the new MY tagline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Bboss on May 28, 2018 at 7:33 pm

Getting one in Langkawi. Below rm300k.

• Wayne on May 29, 2018 at 8:52 am

I dun mind if it looks like beemer at fronto,jag at side pillar n posh at rear as long it cheapest among 3.

• Nicholas on Jun 01, 2018 at 2:17 am

This is the AMG GT 4 door, in case you aren’t familiar with it, it will likely cost a lot more than a Jaguar or a BMW, like, between 800k and 1 million + range…

• Uncle Sam on May 29, 2018 at 11:48 am

Bila harga M-Benz nak turun? Still expecting BN cronies to buy your overpriced cars at previous prices?

• Random dude on Dec 09, 2018 at 9:22 am

They wouldn’t really care tho.. not like msia is one of their major market..
      they are a luxury brand and would be like you can buy i serve you,
      if you can’t then this is not for you. They won’t lower the price to make you buy at most they make the car better and attract buyer instead.
      And also don’t forget bout our tax.

• Bismi Ibrahim on Dec 03, 2018 at 6:21 am

My eyes on gt 63s, love to have 1

• yfxix on Mar 23, 2019 at 4:08 pm

One day…