Kia Picanto – Malaysia to get KX, GT Line with AEB?

Here’s some interesting news – photos of a brochure of what is purportedly the updated Kia Picanto lineup have found their way onto the Kia Picanto Club Malaysia Facebook group, and they show two new models that will be joining the current 1.2 EX variant.

These include an entry-level, low-spec KX as well as a sportier-looking, top-of-the-line GT Line with a few added goodies – the latter, if you remember, was shown in Malaysia last year as a preview for the A-segment hatch. Both cars retain the same 1.2 litre Kappa II naturally-aspirated petrol engine making 84 PS at 6,000 rpm and 122 Nm at 4,000 rpm, paired to a four-speed automatic transmission.

We’ll start with the KX, which drops a number of items for a lower price. The EX’s premium-looking projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights will be replaced with simple reflector units, as have the LED tail lights. There will also be no front fog lights, wing mirror indicators or chrome door handles, and the 14-inch alloys will be swapped with steel wheels with plastic caps.

Other features to be removed are keyless entry, push-button start, leather-wrapped steering wheel (just polyurethane here, but still with multifunction controls), reverse camera, auto-up function for the driver’s side window and, amazingly, rear power windows.

As for infotainment, the EX’s segment-leading seven-inch touchscreen system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto will also be gone. Instead, there will be a Bluetooth-enabled radio and four speakers rather than six. What will remain at six is the airbag count, and the rest of the safety kit such as ABS, stability control and hill start assist will also been retained.

Next up is the GT Line, which in addition to all of the EX’s kit adds sportier front and rear bumpers, side skirts and larger 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels. There are also colour-coded accents on the grille, front air intakes, side skirts and rear diffuser, while on the inside you’ll get a flat-bottomed steering wheel and leather seats.

Additional equipment includes a sunroof, a Supervision instrument cluster, auto air-con, a front armrest, an illuminated vanity mirror and a tyre pressure monitoring system. But the big news is that the GT Line will apparently come with autonomous emergency braking, joining the Myvi 1.5 Advance as the only cars (well) below the RM100,000 mark to have it. It will also be the first Kia model in Malaysia with the system.

No details on pricing have been revealed so far, but considering that the GT Line comes with plenty more equipment on top of AEB, we’re expecting it to be pushing closer to the RM60,000 mark. As for the KX, we wouldn’t be surprised if it dips below RM45,000, such is the paucity of kit. What do you guys think?

GALLERY: Kia Picanto GT-Line in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• danggg on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:06 am

Dammit, just booked one recently, could’ve had the GT line instead

• still possible to change order as long your car is not delivered yet. discuss with your SA

• Noturbonobuy on Jun 13, 2018 at 6:03 am

As above

• TheDeal on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:08 am

Was really hoping they’d bring in the 1ltr turbo version. That’d seal the deal for me.

• Turbo pricing will be unrealistic for Malaysia, and it’s only paired to the manual so that makes it even harder to sell

• The GT-Line trim is damn good looking. However, like you, I prefer that they bring in the 1.0 turbo over here, although the 1.2 NA is no slouch either.

• I shudders thinking about how harsh the ride would be with 16 inchers on the GT-Line. The EX has a very comfortable and well-balanced ride quality with 14 inchers. Having AEB is good, as long as it’s not the “low-speed only” crap like in Myvi. Otherwise, it will just be a gimmick with little practical use.

• change the 16 inch rims to light weight 15 inchers, perfect ride

• theanswer on Jun 13, 2018 at 11:00 am

ford focus also use the same tech..active city stop(up to 30kmh). some of the safety system build for pedestrian too or traffic jam.

• My Titanium Silver 2018 Picanto has been serving me well up to this while…good car this is…

• Bernard on Jun 13, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Problem is it’s the furthest thing from titanium:)

• timmy on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Same here. Immediately cancelled the stupid New Myvi after test driving the latest Picanto. Excellent little car for drivers who prefer a foreign branded entry level automobile.
      The Myvi is still overhyped just like the infamous Honda HRV and City. Terrible cars. All show,no go.

• So they delayed the launch huh? Supposedly was in 1st Q

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:25 am

That was for the standard Picanto, which was launched in January.

• Rooney on Jun 13, 2018 at 8:26 am

Picanto GT-Line with all the bells and whistles.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:06 am

The GT-Line’s specs is actually better than that sold in the UK.

If they can price it around the original Picanto price of 59,000 it will be a steal. Although mind you, with the introduction of the SST soon it will push the price up to 60K.

• TheBreaker on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:17 am

Is the GT Line come with sunroof?

• Rumoured pricing to be around 55k – 57k. Picanto AEB uses radar mounted on the bumper instead of stereo cameras like the myvi, this enables it to work up to 60km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Mivi AEB is tipu one, only works up to 30kmph. Like that I oso can Ebrake to stop.

• Mikey on Jun 13, 2018 at 9:31 am

This Picanto is a cute car. It comes with many features & then some. My ONLY gripe is the 4-speed Auto. When U need to rev to 6,000 rpm to make 84 ps & 4,000 rpm to make 122 nm. Maybe a 5/6-speed manual can justify the high revving engine better.

• I bought the new Kia Carnival last year. Good build quality and suspension. For me the biggest plus point buying Kia in Malaysia is getting the best for that price range.

• Bernard on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:07 pm

No manual transmission or paddle shifters??

USELESS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Jun 13, 2018 at 12:39 pm

84 PS at 6,000 rpm and 122 Nm at 4,000 rpm, paired to a four-speed automatic transmission. HAHAHAHA…… slow cars will be seen hogging the road…

make way for the mighty Civic FC turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
  • Angeleyes on Jun 13, 2018 at 2:15 pm

Hope this move will be followed by Kia Rio. At least equip the Rio with cruise control

• I was Expecting the GT-Line will arrive in Malaysia
    Like the Grand Carnival Got SX spec after the launch the EX specs
    What in the hell is Kia Doing launching high spec models after the launch the low spec models……. Eat our money or save our money??

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 13, 2018 at 5:56 pm

Alamak only thing missing in the GT line is the LED headlights to give the Myvi a run for its money.

• Hazmi on Jun 13, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Shouldn’t the GT line at least come with manual transmission (optional). Sigh.

• Maria on Jun 14, 2018 at 12:47 am

Wowowowow! GT-Line with AEB! Good job! Also hoping for Rio GT-line with 1.0 TGDI 7DCT like in europe will land in Malysia. I’m also hoping active safety feature like aeb ldw for all kia’s car line up

• cruise control for picanto is rm550. go to picanto club msia facebook and kia sc will fix for u with kia resit. no void warranty. no wiring. plug and play only. the ecu already buit in can display cruise on dashboard meter panel

• 5250rpm can get 180km/h
    u can test urself