UMW Toyota renews “All About the Drive” direction – to target younger buyers with more exciting products

In conjunction with the launch of the Toyota Vios Challenge Race Season 2, UMW Toyota announced its new “All About the Drive” brand direction that focuses on targeting the younger generation. Apparently, this renewal is in response to the changing needs and buying behaviours of Malaysians.

The direction is led by two promises, which are to “excite the daily drives” of all its customers and deliver “prominence” through the company’s products and services. This includes adding more value-added products in the future, equipped with advanced safety and connectivity features.

Besides that, company president Ravindran K said “we will also ensure the ownership experience of a Toyota will be worry-free and rewarding through high quality services and strong network.”

“We understand that the needs of our customers are evolving and the behaviour of buying are also changing and we are prepared to respond to those needs and behaviours,” he added. UMW Toyota is also committed to deliver its brand messages to the younger generation through digital communication, and this will be complemented by exciting on-ground brand experiences, such as the Gazoo Racing Festival.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• godacr on Jul 04, 2018 at 7:08 pm

Nothing to excite as this car is a big joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
    • 12yrsold john on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:46 am

Despite all the bad publicity, I can still see thousands of Vios on our roads. Are these thousands of buyers a BIG joke to you ??!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • K Kinte on Jul 05, 2018 at 11:52 am

Toyota sales far exceeds Proton sales despite most of Proton cars are ordered by Government departments and Ministries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Yawn. That’s like saying Oppo outselling iphoneX makes them better than Apple. Cool story bro.

• loler on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:13 pm

You deduct commercial car sales number from total latest sales number you will get toyota passenger cars number is rare like Merc

True story brah, lol

• Let me correct that for u: “Toyota sales drop far exceeds Proton sales…”
          https://paultan.org/2018/06/26/malaysian-vehicle-sales-data-for-may-2018-by-brand-perodua-10-nissan-30-toyota-63-volvo-78/

• Proton sales far exceeds Toyota sales despite most of Toyota cars are ordered by Toyota Sales Agents

• Reads “more stickers and bodykit to attract the ah-bengs”. There’s virtually no driving excitement when in a Toyota, except for 86.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • passion on Jul 04, 2018 at 9:01 pm

On all the latest exciting Toyota car, CHR Harrier 86 & Sienta. Mr. Ravindran precisely right!

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 04, 2018 at 7:30 pm

But of course even the biggest player will feel the pinch when their sales are on a constant decline. What surprises me is the amount of time they took to turn around. The incoming next gen Camry might turn some heads but it will fall flat with its expensive pricing like the rest of its lineup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • camtakpro on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:53 am

Fix your infotainment unit first lah. Car move a bit and the infotainment become useless.

• sack the designer on Jul 04, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Waiting for vios to make plastic surgery so that it can compete with kimchi

• Toyota should target older buyer instead.. bcos.. that is what their products are for..

• The millennials they do like... on Jul 04, 2018 at 9:47 pm

…the faux wood trim. You are on the right path UMW. More faux wood everywhere pls. Also after market IVI, one thing we know is Millennial they like to wait for things to happen.

• Aryatama Aziz on Jul 04, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Unfortunately for Toyota, their current lineup of cars that target the younger audience aren’t very much fun to drive. Vios’s driving Dynamics simply lack a lot compared to Honda City and Mazda 2. It’s also more expensive than both and not offering anything special over it’s competition.

• Furthermore, those younger like to drive Toyota Vios speeding on the road often drive the car into the ditch or somersault after cornering.

• Wasn’t that Proton’s headline it it’s ad copy a while back?

• Interesting times indeed!

• Haysa on Jul 05, 2018 at 12:12 am

great that toyota realises this. Better late than never

• zztop on Jul 05, 2018 at 1:03 am

How about bringing in the 2019 Toyota Corolla Sport if you guys are really serious about to excite the younger buyers.
    Souped up Almera and Vios only excite younger uncle.

• Yebwoy on Jul 05, 2018 at 1:34 am

Toyota is surviving solely on loyalty and consumers who lack any form of interest/knowledge on cars. Cant believe how far behind the Corolla is compared to the Civic, whereas the Corolla costs more lol. The 86 could’ve been a game changer for UMW, but nooooo. Just HAD to price it higher than a GTI. What a joke

• Yeah right on Jul 05, 2018 at 2:38 am

If UMW’s plans to increase sales is by slapping bodykits on existing models and naming them X or Sport, better don’t waste time and effort. I have hardly seen any Innova or Avanza X. I have seen one lone Vios Sport, and it’s really looks like a ricer. If even your bread-and-butter models like Avanza and Vios needs huge discounts to move from stockyard, what UMW should do is a complete overhaul of how to do business.

• Jinbaitai on Jul 05, 2018 at 7:21 am

The problem is, Toyota cars are not exciting to drive at all. Reliable ? Yes. Fun and exciting ? No.

Rather than focus on marketing something they are not, why not UMW Toyota just focus on what their greatness strength – reliability and resale value. Focus your marketing resources on these factors, tell consumers your cars are damn reliable, amplify it, make owners’ video who own a Toyota more than 30 years that still runs good, make videos on car owners’ smiling face when they sell off their Toyota without needed to top up money to the bank. There are car buying crowds who will appreciate these qualities of a Toyota.

But sadly, Toyota waste time, money, effort to promote these “fun, youthful, all about the drive” billshit by hiring Japanese racers doing drifting in Vios, and these stupid Gazoo racing events. With all these money spend, sales still drop like a wrecking ball. No Toyota, your cars are boring as hell to drive, your cars handled badly, it is not exciting and it certainly has no place about anything related to “all about the drive” tag line.

Call a spad a spad, you cannot market a fat guy as a gym’s ambassador, Focus on your strength, not something you’re not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • technologyracelover on Jul 05, 2018 at 7:50 am

yes agree above comments. Toyota is just a piece of junk in racing driving experience except for AE86 and Supra. Please la one Vios tried to drive fast as me going back to Pahang regularly and his tire went into the small drain n body scratch. what an imbecile!

• Renew the “All about the drive” tagline, UMW’s promises as below:
    – prominence
    – added-value product
    – advanced safety
    – connectivity features
    – high quality service
    – strong (business) network

Checklist for you and me.

We are still looking forward for the long waited new Camry. And also the new Corolla.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:03 am

car cannot compete with City hence doing all sort of thing trying to get the sales back. I still recall first gen vios was such a hit that almost everyone want to get one. Now is a total different story.

• Think on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:19 am

Toyota had been the non national segment leader for many years…but significantly lost their value when Honda resurrected their entire range, which now Honda is the top seller in each segment..This was because Toyota was so arrogant thinking that people will always accept whatever they gave just by updating the looks..even brands from China had superceded Toyota in technology…Hope that all brands learn the competition well..

• Godacar on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:23 am

About time, great effort by Toyota to change in line with times

• albert on Jul 05, 2018 at 9:48 am

Sleeping is more exciting than driving new Toyota cars

• Ben Yap on Jul 05, 2018 at 11:14 am

anytime my civic FC turbo can smoke all toyotas on the road. that’s more exciting.

• vivie on Jul 05, 2018 at 6:51 pm

Whoaaaa what a move from Toyota! Now this is interesting being the first automotive player to realise this

• mazdabmw on Jul 08, 2018 at 12:19 am

Toyota makes the most boring car…boring look, boring handling, boring interior..”All about the Drive? ” …what an empty propaganda to attract ah bengs.

• Just give us a new generation Vios, one that can regain the “god car” status