LEKAS to be closed for RHB Shimano Highway Ride

Kajang-Seremban Highway (LEKAS) users, take note. The E21 expressway will be temporarily closed to all motorists from 5 pm on August 18 until 4 am on August 19 for the RHB Shimano Highway Ride @ Lekas 2018 event, as reported by Bernama.

According to LEKAS COO Wan Salwani Wan Yusoff, a total of 19 intersections from Kajang Selatan up to Paroi will be closed to traffic for the annual cycling event, which is expected to draw more than 4,000 participants this year. The 105 km-long race event will start and end at the Kajang Selatan toll plaza.

The concessionaire advised motorists to use alternative routes – namely Federal Route 1 or the North-South Expressway – for travel during the period. It was previously reported that the 11 hour closure of the highway for the event is expected to see a loss of approximately 55,000 vehicles in traffic volume.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why block this highway? Have it in Putrajaya. Cause there got no activity. Dead town. So roads can be used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:41 am

Why lose couple of hundred thousand just for this ride?

That money can be used to buy medicine for our budget cut hospitals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • cyclist on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:54 am

It’s not like you’re paying and joining this event

• LEKAS is not in the hospitality industry, just the hiway.

• Lets See on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:58 am

This is a car site. It is not a hospital or medicine site. You want to talk about hospital or medicine go to that site.

Here we talk about cars.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:23 pm

Cycling is good for our health

• Mikey on Aug 08, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Closing LEKAS for a good cause ie 4,000 participants in a bicycle racing event which is a healthy sport should be encouraged. Thanks to sponsor like RHB, Shimano & LEKAS.

Ini macam lah M’sia Baru patut di puji. Tak nak ProTiga OK!! Hehehe. Cheers…. to a healthy M’sian.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:59 pm

Closing an entire highway to inconvenient hundreds of thousands just to satisfy 4,000 egomaniacs…

Yeah right… Healthy my ass…!!!

• Mikey on Aug 08, 2018 at 3:24 pm

From 5 pm on August 18 until 4 am on August 19 is a weekend la U moron.
        Yeah right… “inconvenient hundreds of thousands” my ass…!!!

• SK, Lim on Aug 08, 2018 at 3:37 pm

According to “John May 9 Nangis” above, hundreds of thousands will be using it…

• 12yrsold john on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:37 am

U should comment base on your good judgement & understanding but not on someone comment. If that comment is not sound, U should not follow/repeat.

• Ben Yap on Aug 08, 2018 at 12:34 pm

the best part in joining this cycling events is not about the ride. it’s about showing off your bicycle and comparing yours with the others.

• 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Ben, the minute U start to compare, U start to complain. So joining cycling events to “showoff” your bike is not something U should be proud of or should be encouraged.

• cyclista on Aug 09, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Doesn’t matter, have a David & Goliath moment… ride the basic groupset to beat those so-called top groupset cyclists…

• your event is making local people suffering… damm it!