FIRST LOOK: Volvo XC40 T5 AWD R-Design in M’sia

At long last, the Volvo XC40 has finally made its launch debut here in Malaysia, and those interested will have the option of a sole T5 AWD R-Design variant. Priced at RM255,888 on-the-road without insurance, the 2018 European Car of the Year arrives in locally-assembled CKD form, joining the rest of the XC model range in the country.

In T5 spec, motivation is provided by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 252 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 4,800 rpm. The Drive-E unit is mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission (with shift paddles), and allows for a 0-100 km/h of 6.4 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 7.7 litres per 100 km (13 km/l) in the European cycle.

The equipment list includes full LED headlamps with the brand’s trademark ‘Thor’s hammer’ LED daytime running lights, 19-inch five-double spoke alloy wheels, 12.3-inch digital driver display, 9.0-inch Sensus Connect portrait touchscreen infotainment system, wireless charging pad, leather and Nubuck upholstery, and dual-zone climate control system.

There’s no shortage of driver assist and safety features either, with Adaptive Cruise Control; Pilot Assist semi-autonomous drive (these two are in the IntelliSafe Assist package); City Safety; pedestrian, cyclist and large animal detection; front and rear collision warning; Lane Keeping Aid; Run-Off Road Mitigation with Road Edge Detection; Oncoming Lane Mitigation; BLIS and cross traffic alert with auto brake being available for the compact SUV.

The XC40 is one of the most anticipated Volvo models to come to Malaysia, so find out more about the XC40 by watching the video above, and share your thoughts about the car with us in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Volvo XC40 T5 AWD R-Design

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ninja on Oct 05, 2018 at 7:57 pm

Nice but price must reduce by 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:00 pm

Even in Thai XC40 will cost u RM305k n u want 50% less.

• This is not for u. Wait for X70.

• Osaka boy on Oct 05, 2018 at 11:27 pm

Cx3 is more premium

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Osaka Boyle on Oct 10, 2018 at 3:48 am

CX3 SUCKS AND MILO TIN IN QUALITY @@

XC40 IS ANYTIME MORE PREMIUM THAN THE SQUEEZE SIZE CX3

• CheapO on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:48 am

You are not Volvo’s customer ..please turnaround walk down the street. Look for Dr Li from Proton .. he selling what you want… cheap SUV from China

• Please ask the grand daddy pskatan government to reduce excise duty and taxes so that prices can be reduced by 50% for all cars instead of burdening rakyat with heavy taxes to support the cronies re condition cars and proton.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Oct 06, 2018 at 10:58 am

This is 100% Geely DNA and parts. In the 90s you paid good money for your Volvo because it was 100% Made in Sweden. Only assembled in Malaysia. That is money well spent.

But now, every part of the Volvo has the words “Made in China” on it. I have opened the new XC90 up and I have seen every part having those words on it

Up to the buyer really. If you are fine with RM260k or RM430k (XC90) with 100% Made by China and Made by Geely, then it is up to you

As for me, I rather buy a X70 because it has exactly the same parts as this Volvo albeit a less powerful engine.

Remember car is car. Some fanboys will say iphone also Made in China. Well true but iphone is RM3k but this car is RM260k. That is the difference.

If iphone give you problems, you can throw it into the tong sampah but this Volvo give you problems, can you throw it into the tong sampah????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Mr. Octopus on Oct 06, 2018 at 11:00 am

Talk use brains la

• Crazy price on Oct 06, 2018 at 10:30 pm

Good luck Volvo, now less and less car on the road. Dont think consumers are blind. Good luck to all limited current and limited new buyer also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Lexus kaki on Oct 10, 2018 at 4:12 am

Hardly see Audi on the roads
        Should be bye bye bye to Audi

No matter what model Audi launches , Audi just cannot sell..

Lexus also selling less volume than volvo till todate

• Kimchi wong on Oct 11, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Please compare Volvo with Peugeot and Fiat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • CX3 Looks Junky on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:26 am

Kimchi wong,

Hyundai cars sales are dead almost collapse.

Please compare Hyundai to Perodua not even close to Peugeot and Fiat

kIA is a low class badge even Proton badge is much better and much sought after. What is happening?.

Mercedes A and B class are junk and low class Mercedes . Please do not compare to better and premium class volvo XC40.

• Really on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:48 am

Audi is already same category like FIAT and SEAT even peugeot is higher category than Audi nowadays.

Why Audi sales is so bad in Malaysia

Please also compare HYUNDAI and KIA to Proton , Perodua and Dacia

Even SKODA and OPEL ARE BOTH HIGHER CATEGORY compare to Hyundai and KIA.

• Khalid on Oct 19, 2018 at 3:56 am

Please compare LEXUS to
            Toyota , Honda , Suzuki which are of the same category ..

Please compare Audi to Vw , Skoda , Seat and Opel which are of the same category !!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Wait for pre reg next year and maybe you can own one at 25% off haha.

• Ninja Only on Oct 07, 2018 at 5:07 pm

Cut throat price?

• Mat pan on Oct 07, 2018 at 5:26 pm

Yup, should below 200k

• Camtakpro on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:31 pm

Overpriced Geely product. Fullstop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 45
    • Mr. Octopus on Oct 06, 2018 at 11:00 am

If u cannot differentiate Volvo and Geely means you are not a motorhead… Stay away from this site please…

• Hilmi gimmick on Oct 07, 2018 at 11:12 am

Mighy as well get a CRZ or CX5. Cheaper and more premium

• Chesney Hawkes on Oct 09, 2018 at 3:20 pm

You mean CR-V. CR-Z is a compact coupe, so not really comparable to a four door SUV, right?

• Shaun on Oct 10, 2018 at 4:19 am

I always laugh out rolling on the floor when some third world mentality China Abek or Malay Abek says japanese car is more premium than any European Premium car .

No medicine can cure such stupidity !!

• Elaine on Oct 10, 2018 at 4:28 am

How come CX5 is always runner up to awards when comparing with Volvo.??

Even most motoring judges around the world whom are not as stupid as you or buyers are always gave a lesser premium verdict to Mazda Badge especially CX5 in comparison.

• Monosaratiga on Oct 05, 2018 at 8:32 pm

U forget to do a review on their special car boot. Lol. I like the practicality.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Luckily they added the power boot option. Something even the cheaper CX5 has too lol.

• Volvo for Life on Oct 05, 2018 at 10:03 pm

If someone mentions Volvo, old looking boxy tank’s, your a bit old ain’t you… .. And then when introducing XC40 again mention stand out car, confident as an SUV & its boxy again pulak…. Who is old here… Lol

Many have commented, put better background music to the intro of your videos, music sucks big time like some oldies group, one has to wonder what ur trying to say really about the XC40….. Old & really old boring design but still good SUV ?

• Those air vents are definitely Chinese inputs while gear knob is swedish sarcasm aimed at their owner.

• Why not..but X1 more seductive

• Added on
      plus the fact that X1 is even more problematic and less standout currently..

• I’m a bit disappointed. Expected more for that price. Still this car won’t stand out compare with the likes of BMW, Merc and Audi.

• Fareed on Oct 10, 2018 at 3:56 am

Audi does not standout at all in term of design and demand for their vehicles in Malaysia
      Do not waste your time talking about Audi
      It so bloody boring to accept Audi

Current GLA and X1 stand out as a Pimp car or Ah Long signature car or Ah Beng or typical Joe’s car

• chrissy on Oct 06, 2018 at 12:18 pm

Hi Hafriz nice suit

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 08, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Indeed nice combo. But looks like the pants hem is a bit long, so can see some “break” where it meets the shoes. Pant break makes you look short. If it was straight down with no break, it would be better. Anyways, that’s just advice from another “blessed” brother. You should wear what you like.

• any car would look huge with hafriz reviewing,

should put paul tan himself at the front and back to measure interior space..

• Dave Chapman on Oct 06, 2018 at 1:55 pm

Volvo is not even a premium brand. This XC40 build quality for example, you can see better fit and finish materials in Mazda CX-5. So why priced so high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • In Germany ,
      Mercedes is used as Taxi and you say is Premium

Do not know what sort of stupid analysis is this??

Any car is not used as Taxi is considered premium especially volvo nowadays.

• Chris on Oct 06, 2018 at 11:54 pm

It is really a beautiful SUV. Have been eyeing on a Volvo lately for reasons which I do not know. It seems as though there is magnetic force pulling me towards it. It is just “Beautiful”.
    I wish I had just enough cash to purchase one. For now, I can only dream. Awesome…

• Leroy C on Oct 07, 2018 at 12:34 am

Overpriced. Should sell at Max RM210,000

• TreeHugger on Oct 07, 2018 at 10:24 am

How come they say no shortage of driver assist and safety features when they don’t even include the 360 all around view camera which the 2015 low spec nissan x-trail also got? Is tan chong generous or is volvo stingy and greedy?

• kzm (Member) on Oct 08, 2018 at 11:41 am

360° camera just for parking rite? X-Trail has Adaptive Cruise Control; Pilot Assist semi-autonomous drive (these two are in the IntelliSafe Assist package); City Safety; pedestrian, cyclist and large animal detection; front and rear collision warning; Lane Keeping Aid; Run-Off Road Mitigation with Road Edge Detection; Oncoming Lane Mitigation; BLIS and cross traffic alert with auto brake?

• stastasta on Oct 15, 2018 at 10:26 am

xc40 is only 4400 mm long, smaller than x trail , no need surround camera for parking.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 11:02 am

This is a very good looking car inside and out. And it does not look like a downsized version of the XC60. They actually tried to make it different. I think it provides good value for money. In fact, it’s so good, it makes the XC60 look pointless. The only advantage its bigger brother has is interior space (shoulder room) and boot space, and slightly more refinement. But the XC40 still has enough headroom and legroom for 4 adults comfortably. If you need to carry 5 adults only, that’s when you need the XC60. And if you need more boot space, just remove the rear parcel shelf and stow it below the floor (heck it fits inside there), then you have space all the way to the ceiling. Wish they gave option for the orange interior and gave option to further recline the rear seats (it’s too upright).

If I was looking for a safe and high tech family SUV for 2 adults and 3 kids, this would be good value for money. But I need an SUV with a bit more excitement. If Polestar made a RWD biased AWD system for the XC40, it would be perfect. All in all, think this is the best Volvo ever made in recent times. What an effort for a new model line.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 07, 2018 at 1:58 pm

Most anticipated due to its price. It is packed full of kit and poised to be the best seller… provided customers don’t look just at brand prestige. Another contender coming soon will be the next gen GLA with its fancy cabin.

• kumintator on Oct 08, 2018 at 8:53 am

the back seat position though, its too upright. must be uncomfortable for passengers on long journey. major turn off

• Sparcov on Oct 08, 2018 at 10:43 am

Went to Genting Highlands for the launch of XC40. Have a chance to sit in the car. Well the car look cramped inside, more or less the size of a Honda HRV. It is very stylish and solid car. The car will be available from March 2019 onwards and it is currently CBU from Sweden according to the sales person. Price at RM 255K without insurance, I think BMW X1 with lower price are more spacious but XC40 is AWD.

• Bosco on Oct 08, 2018 at 11:17 am

Went to Glenmarie showroom yesterday –
    I was so impressive with the look and the interior, especially the super sharp and responsive center touch screen panel. There is some hard plastic at the side doors but is acceptable.

It got me excited, though frankly I cannot afford.

However, after the test drive, I was disappointed. It has sufficient power and torque but you do not “feel” it like a GTI. Maybe it is tuned to be “smooth”. But that besides the point, the thing was that, when you rev it (both comfort/dynamic mode), the engine noise was loud and sounds so “hollow”, it just doesn’t feel solid and then noise that intrudes into the car does not make it feel premium, like a big opposite from just looking at the car.

Anyway, just purely my personal opinion and I am no expert, just how I “felt” when driving the car. Don’t flame it yeah if you disagree :)

• Old horse on Oct 09, 2018 at 11:44 am

Price at 190k under the x1 will sell.like hot cake…Since it fits both male and female category…At 250k?..BMW and Merc is laughing

• Keiran on Oct 10, 2018 at 4:15 am

NONSENSE COMPARISON ANALYSIS!!

Female had been values and virtual compare to Male counterparts nowadays