Over half a million cars in Malaysia have faulty Takata airbags; change them to prevent getting saman – Loke

There are over half a million vehicles in Malaysia that are fitted with potentially faulty Takata airbags, according to a Facebook post by transport minister Anthony Loke. In his public service announcement, the minister is urging owners to check if their cars are among those affected by the airbags recall, and to get the part(s) replaced as soon as possible.

The ministry announced earlier this year that it would be working closely with car companies and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to identify affected vehicles for reminders to be issued to owners, urging them to get their airbags replaced.

Failure to comply after two reminders will result in a RM300 saman being issued to the vehicle owner. Additionally, owners will be unable to renew the road tax of the affected vehicle. Loke had previously stated that the move isn’t meant to penalise anyone, but to ensure affected vehicles have their airbags replaced for safety reasons.

As a brief recap, defective Takata airbags have propellants in its inflators that degrade with exposure to moisture. This changes their chemical structure, resulting in the propellant igniting too quickly, producing excess pressure that causes the inflator to rupture and sends metal shards into the passenger cabin that can lead to serious injury or death.

This is a very serious safety concern, and it is imperative that you check if your vehicle is among those affected, and to carry out the necessary replacements as soon as possible. You can perform a check (normally via the VIN) through these avenues:

• Honda
  • Toyota
  • Mazda
  • Subaru
  • Nissan
  • Mitsubishi
  • Lexus – 1800-885-3987
  • BMW
  • Looking to sell your car? Sell it with Carro.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Syazzwan on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:16 am

I been to Tan Chong twice, still no stocks for my GTR.

• transformer on Oct 22, 2018 at 6:01 pm

Honda Msia did a great job informing and replacing faulty airbag. My Nissan Grand Livina passenger side airbag until now no stocks. Serv Reps said need to wait Roadtax exprired, Tan Chong will give priority. Who can accept this kind of answer Nissan????? It seem Honda owner life more precious than Nissan….. this will be my last Nissan…. i promise

• Chinaman not Black on Oct 22, 2018 at 9:18 pm

Whats with this ” hey bro ” thingy with pakatan ministers ? Getting really cheesy and bad taste

• bentley on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:28 pm

ive been to bentley they oso got no stock. haiyaa

• willie on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:18 am

Can PT compile a list of manufacturers or there must be a list of what model/year that need to be change as many bought used one, the letter from manufacturer will not reach these 2nd, 3rd, 4th buyer. likewise i guess for those imported cars will be subject or would likely not know if their vehicle need to change.

• My 10 years old gen2 CPS. Wit twin airbags. Autoliv hirotako.

• willie on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:53 pm

gen2 power window. which supplier?

• proton roti john on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:12 pm

AAaandd suddenly all those high end brand owners won’t admit it that the PROTON they love to condemn, overprice and what not, did the right thing by selling slightly pricier airbag in the name of safety, Autoliv..

Takata just shortchange their airbags to win more supply contract….. so much for the brand loyalty Honda Toyota & BMW owners.

• 10 years old gen2? Dude, you should get a new job.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:33 am

The problem is, our previous Government made sure all the car companies in Malaysia is owned by the Government. Ford is Sime Darby, BMW is Sime Darby, Hyundai is Sime Darby, Toyota is UMW, Honda is DRB etc etc

When the car companies have to replace the Takata airbags, the car companies lose money. And the owner of these car companies also lose money. And who are the owners? It is the Government.

This is why Government should not interfere in business as they cannot act neutral and instruct car companies to give the rakyat higher safety spec cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Separuh Nilai on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:59 am

This troll is at it again, owners of cars having faulty takata airbags who did nothing are the one to blame? Anti vaxxers should be faulted for not allowing their kid for vaccine injection, if going by this troll’s logic

• Kebal on Oct 22, 2018 at 6:36 pm

Are you serious?

• Car company willing to change foc, just bring your car to the sc. Yes, owner fault if they don’t do that.

• To Loki: “Hey bro, how about going after the brand holders instead of the car owners?”
          U think they care now that they r absolved of any consequences when car owners dunno or unsure? The car brand lobbies r strong with him.

• newme on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:06 am

Saman won’t work one lah.

The first person you saman will tell the press that he has no time to go change because he need to take care of his kids, his sick mother and pregnant wife. The he will ask for waiver because he cannot afford it as he’s the sole breadwinner in the family.

After that some political parties will offer to pay his fine and blame the government for being cruel.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:07 am

I sold my Honda 8 years ago and they are still sending me SMS to change the airbag. Can’t do anything about it since I no longer own it.

• So he backed down from blacklisting to just kena saman now? Then later more pipu complain, will he ‘just’ issue advisory only? Why cant he understand its not the owners fault but Hondas? Get HM to do better, bodoh! If u threaten to saman them instead of owners, u can bet they will get it done sooner!

• Sohai on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:30 am

Only airbag??? Where the important to summon that lorry & bus everyday smoke out dark black toxic polluted air drive pass by your eyes??? When want to stop selling euro2 petrol diesel and compulsory implement euro5 petrol diesel??? When polluted old car rosak road side jam >15yrs to be scrap with offer scrap incentives???

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:30 am

That’s a bit too much I think.

Just use JPJs system to block road tax renewal or registration should be sufficient.

Besides, me thinks a good number of these cars are sitting on 2nd hand dealer lots.

• Ben Yap on Oct 22, 2018 at 12:01 pm

I can’t help but LOL when anthony loke said “Hey bro, tak nak saman, tukarlah sekarang”.

so cool hahaha..

• lut you on Oct 22, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Saman on owner? Not saman Takata?

• What’s the point of saman them? To have more money for the G?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • There is no such problem under the previous G, why now got half a million cars have this problem? Shud the transport minister be responsible and resign?

• Well, mine 2008 Toyota Altis 1.8 still pending for Takata airbags replacement due to no stock available.

• Alamak on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:18 pm

Some of the links are not working.

• InpirationTan on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Proton Lancer no issue right? I mean, Inspira.

• Tan Fook Choy on Oct 22, 2018 at 6:03 pm

If Tan Chong does not have enough stock for replacement, will Tan Chong be responsible for any summon issued by JPJ?

• Tanchong says tanya Loki. Loki says this is ur fault. So apamacem?

• mat saman on Oct 23, 2018 at 3:27 pm

saman only u know ha. we rakyat miskin oredi u know