A90 Toyota Supra – listen to its 3.0L straight-six engine

Yes, the new Toyota Supra is still not out, and this is yet another teaser in what must be one of the most long-drawn car stories ever. Thankfully, the end is near, as next month’s North American International Auto Show in Detroit will host the unveiling of the much-anticipated reborn sports car.

Concept and camo-covered mules aside, we’ve had an (unofficial) look at the A90 Supra’s front end – now, here’s something to tickle our ears. Toyota has released a 30 second video of the Supra accelerating and sliding around, but the red car in the clip is blurred out. The point of the “Sound of Supra” video is for us to hear its 3.0 litre straight-six engine in action.

“There are not many things purer than the sound of a straight six-cylinder engine being put through its paces. So, while we can’t reveal its stunning curves just yet, we recently released it undercover and ahead of its international reveal in Detroit so that you can hear the sound of its harmonious song,” Toyota says.

From L-R: Possible production A90 Supra front end; Toyota FT-1 Concept at KLIMS

It does sound good. The clip highlights the sound made by the BMW-derived engine as it pulls away from idle, and you’ll also hear some off-throttle crackle and pop, plus the eight-speed automatic changing gears. Sounds sporty, for sure. What do you think?

The Supra’s sister car is the G29 BMW Z4, which was revealed in August. The third-generation roadster’s top M40i variant comes with a 3.0 litre turbocharged straight-six with 340 hp at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm, and 500 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm. It does 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and a capped 250 km/h top speed.

However, while both cars share a platform and powertrain, Toyota has done its own work on the Supra. According to A90 assistant chief engineer Masayuki Kai, his team has not spoken with BMW since 2014, when they agreed on the basics.

A90 Supra renderings pieced together from parts diagrams

“We agreed on the packaging, like where is the hip-point for the driver, what’s the wheelbase, the width, location of the fuel tank, A-pillar, and so forth. This was around the middle of 2014, and after that we completely separated our teams. There was no more communication after that,” Kai said.

“Tuning of the shifting, some of the shift shock, shift speed – all of this is specifically designed for our Supra. For the engine, we have tuned it for throttle response and a little more (sportiness),” he added. While we continue waiting, here’s five things you need to know about the new Supra, from chief engineer Tetsuya Tada himself.

GALLERY: A90 Toyota Supra teaser

GALLERY: Toyota FT-1 concept at KLIMS 18

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Listen to that BMW engine… oh wai

• Osaka boy on Dec 20, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Sweet straight six. Gogo toyota!

• Doesn’t sound special at all. Sounds like any other I6 BMW

• What so proud? Still using other company engine

• Betui betui betui! Lolz!

• ProRebadge john on Dec 20, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Same as your X70, using other company car with only redesigned grille. What so proud?

• Why not? Like someone above said, P1 how many years old, ur Toyota how many years old. So old still wanna rebadge, so why u bash P1 for rebadging too? Ur just slapping ur face lor.

• Robert P. S/O Kuppusamy on Dec 20, 2018 at 1:30 pm

hot damn.

• Ben Yap on Dec 20, 2018 at 1:40 pm

sounds like a proton with a changed muffler.

• scam callers worst nightmare on Dec 20, 2018 at 2:06 pm

will the carrot head ditched the bavarian after matrimony?
    there’s a saying “After crossing bridge, removes the planks”

• Raja Teaser on Dec 20, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Tease here, tease there, tease everywhere. Now teaser in sound? What next, teaser in smell?

• Hahaha on Dec 20, 2018 at 2:11 pm

Mehhhh

• benzs on Dec 20, 2018 at 3:13 pm

BMW. Not Toyota. Very sad to hear Toyota can’t produce own sports car anymore. Need help from German. Even GT86 also collaboration with Subaru.

• Darren on Dec 20, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Must be cuz the Japs were lepak, tidur, and minum teh 8x. They have lost their forefathers’ capability to produced good sportscars.

• Toyota Classics on Dec 20, 2018 at 5:20 pm

really hoping that one day Toyota will come up with the replacement for that legendary Initial-D sports car!

• Samuel on Dec 20, 2018 at 10:03 pm

Maybe I’m the only one see this way that this new Supra is looks a like mix between Rx8 and Fairlady.

• noname on Dec 21, 2018 at 8:22 am

“Hasn’t been spoken to BMW since 2014”
    You mean the drivetrain is at least 4-5 years old without any update before it rolls out to the tarmac?