Skoda Kamiq – interior of B-segment crossover shown

The slow tease of Skoda’s upcoming Kamiq continues with the reveal of the car’s interior. As we previously reported, the nameplate – previously reserved for the Chinese market – makes its way to Europe as a rival to the ever-popular Honda HR-V and Toyota C-HR, as well as Continental alternatives like the Renault Captur and Peugeot 2008.

And like we saw in the earlier exterior sketch, the interior will again differ extensively from the Chinese-market model, bearing much greater resemblance to the one in the new Scala hatch. Instead of the sober horizontal dashboard, there’s now a wavy panel that surrounds the large freestanding touchscreen, which Skoda says gives you a place to rest your wrist whilst operating the display.

This wavy dash extends towards the side air vents that encroach into the doors, giving the car a more spacious feel. The Kamiq also features Skoda’s 10.25-inch Virtual Cockpit instrument display, first introduced on the larger Karoq SUV, as well as a new crystalline grain on the soft-touch dashboard. Other details include three-colour ambient lighting and a Suedia microfibre upholstery option.

There’s no word on powertrain options, but it’s expected to be propelled by a 1.0 TSI three-cylinder and 1.5 TSI four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engines from the Volkswagen Group. Both engines are already serving active duty in the car’s sister models, the Seat Arona and the Volkswagen T-Cross.

GALLERY: Skoda Vision X

GALLERY: Skoda Kamiq for Chinese market

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Calvin on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Interior looks waaayyy too cheapo. Looks even worse than some Chinese SUVs like Boyue. This won’t sell well.

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:41 am

You cannot compare VW German quality with China quality.

China cars cannot sell all over the world. VW engineered cars can

• nodsg on Feb 12, 2019 at 9:33 am

Who cares over the world or not, if the gearbox cannot stand bolehland traffic jams, it still sucks

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Such a beautiful car. Amazing, Skoda used to be the butt joke of Europe. 20 yrs ago, if you owned one, you are a failure.

But today, because of working hard, Skoda has turned its image to be a top car manufacturer with top quality and high sales. And now, to own a Skoda is prestigious.

I hope other car companies also work hard to improve their image

• Celup King on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:08 pm

Yeap. I hope Toyota works hard to regain their image. Having to rebadge a BMW as their halo model has truly sunken them to new depths of shame.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:18 am

BMW has high regard of Toyota, it allows Toyota to rebadge its cars.

Other companies can only dream of rebagding a BMW. Only China will kawin them

• taknaktoyota on Feb 12, 2019 at 9:31 am

Nobody has regard of Toyota, Toyota rebadges cause current cars not on par with quality standard. If you want to buy a good toyota, buy a mazda. Shame.

• Looks almost exactly like corolla’s