MITI forms new trade advisory council, to discuss NAP

The ministry of international trade and industry (MITI) has established a trade and advisory council (TIAC), which will play a crucial role in shaping the ministry’s policies, strategies and potential reforms in international trade as well as investment promotion and industry development.

The council will consist of 12 representatives from different organisations such as the finance ministry, Bank Negara Malaysia and Khazanah Nasional. This will allow it to offer diverse perspectives and expertise in shaping policies.

According to international trade and industry minister Datuk Darell Leiking, the council will discuss issues on subjects ranging from foreign direct investment (FDI) and domestic direct investment (DDI) to the National Automotive Policy (NAP) in its upcoming meetings, with a minimum of four meetings to be held annually, Bernama reports.

He said that the next meeting – which is scheduled for August – will focus on aspects of trade and investment as well as the NAP. “In the next meeting, we will discuss NAP as well as the white paper on the steel industry and the shipping sector,” he said.

He did not however reveal the topics related to the NAP that would be discussed. “Ask further questions in August,” he said when asked about MITI’s commitment to facilitating potential investment in hybrid and plug-in hybrid vehicles.

The NAP revision, which was reported to be under review in June last year, was expected to be announced in Q1 this year. In April, it was announced that the revised policy announcement would be shifted to the second quarter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Open Letter to MITI on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:39 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 292 Thumb down 538
    • i totally agree u on that, but it won’t happened… you and i all know that…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Steven Kuah on Jun 28, 2019 at 1:12 pm

This entitlement mentality is very prevalent in Putrajaya. 1.6 million Government servants very used to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 130
        • Vezeroth on Jun 28, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Ya, and privatise all the hospitals too, let everyone pay for their own healthcare..

Left unsubsidised it will run in the five to 6 figures per patient.. We are lucky

• Thomas Matthews on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:09 pm

Too long being pampered, laziness has set in. Now, always hands out and always in expectancy for freebies and easy way out in life.

We need to break from this.

• Shaharul on Jun 29, 2019 at 9:40 am

Once we become a Meritocratic society, we will become like First World country like Singapore. Even Vietnam has overtaken us including Thailand and Indonesia

• redpilled on Jun 29, 2019 at 9:56 pm

Says the descendant of immigrants brought in by the British, and given free high value Malayan land by the colonizer.

By the way, Cuepacs claims there are only 500,000 civil servants. Stop the bs.

• Mohanarajan on Jun 29, 2019 at 10:05 pm

This is really the best comment. 300 thumbs up means so many people support this view

• Michael Goh on Jun 28, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Proton had so much of money reserves in the 90s, instead of giving 12 months bonus, should have acquired ailing car company like Kia.

Today Kia sells 8 millions cars per annum and Proton sells 55,000.

Maybe NAP can show Proton what they need to do to stay alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Mohanarajan on Jun 29, 2019 at 10:06 pm

Typical mentality of enjoy first and never think about the future. What’s new?

• Peter Yong on Jun 28, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Best comment ever. This comment should be 2019 comment of the year. Open Letter to MITI you got my vote!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
      • Thomas Matthews on Jun 28, 2019 at 5:29 pm

Truly spot on comment! We must aim to be like Singapore!

Next year already 2020. Supposed to be first world. Somemore 6 more months we become first world!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Bernard Kheng on Jun 28, 2019 at 6:03 pm

First comment in this post is BEST. We cannot sweeping things under the carpet anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Ya we sweep things under the flying CAR-pet now. Got even more space to sweep under, like where the millions went to make a drone toy.

• Open Letter to MITI and MAA on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:08 am

Open to all public in Malaysia and not just EV cars and flying cars. This entitlement should go for environmental friendly which is Hybrid and Eco-Car but not chunky Diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Peter Yong on Jun 28, 2019 at 4:28 pm

We should practice a fair system so that Malaysia also can become first world. Start with abolishing AP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Thomas Matthews on Jun 28, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Don’t forget too that our local universities must practice merit based system. Until then, we are still backward

• Open to MITI and MAA on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:09 am

Open AP to all public in Malaysia and not just EV cars and flying cars. This entitlement should also exempt cars for eco-cars and hybrid but not chunky diesel

• Alex Chin on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:17 am

This is the reason Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysia despite Merdeka same time. Also, currency is 3.2X the Ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • menteri pasola on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:35 am

The National Automotive Policy NAP, experts from MAI could help here. Their success facilitating investment in EV and plug-in hybrid cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • It will never happen as those ‘selected few’ are the ones in power. And they will do everything to maintain that power.

• Bumi Dayak on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:41 am

Are Malaysian willing to pay for bidding COE like Singaporean?

• Gomorrah on Jun 28, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Does Malaysia have the same geographical constraints to necessitate COE for control of car numbers?

• Rahman on Jun 28, 2019 at 4:31 pm

If you earn like Singaporeans, COE is just kacang puteh. Toyota CHR is SGD65k, COE SGD35k. Total SGD100k.

Still very cheap. Average Government servant in Singapore earn SGD8k. Average Putrajaya Government servant earn RM1200

RM25,000 (SGD8k) vs RM1200

So even with COE, cars are cheaper in Singapore. In Malaysia Toyota CHR is nearly RM200k

• Ajibkor on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:52 am

Bolehland has created a monster mentality called everlasting perlindungan.Fron the cradle to the grave,it seems TONGKAT must be given.If not…mogok mogok mogok in front of sogo.

• EDITOR on Jun 28, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Same mentality as MAGA. Since the West can do it, then I see why not for Malaysia.

• Gomorrah on Jun 28, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Like it or not, we were never a world superpower that would warrant use of the word “great”. Maybe if/when we get there, your comparison will hold.

• EDITOR on Jun 28, 2019 at 5:38 pm

So when they’re superpower they’re allowed to give priority to their own people and industries via protection and unfair trade agreements but when we’re still 3rd world, we should not protect our people because it’s unfair to these superpowered nations? I see what you did there.

• Gomorrah on Jun 29, 2019 at 2:39 pm

Actually, you haven’t. If the so called “protection” hasn’t resulted in material improvement in our country’s standing after 50 years, then can it be called making us great? Don’t even need to talk about being a super power, how about eclipsing a former member of the federation down south? We have the natural resources and human capital necessary to have outdone them a thousand times over and yet we lag. You want to talk about 3rd world to 1st world, then look no further. You want to talk about whether we will get to call any shots when our biggest trading partners are 2 superpowers then think again. The world has never worked that way and it is pure fantasy to think otherwise. We can’t even get ASEAN to work together as a bloc so we can even think about a seat at the big boy table.

I mean if you want to talk about us in the same breath as the US, subjugating the true native population via systematic sidelining in terms of provision of basic necessities like power, water and health care, then yes, we are doing it so much better than the US.

No need to talk about our people la when it just benefits one portion of the whole, and just the elite at that. The rest have been fending for themselves.

I see what you are doing.

• EDITOR on Jul 01, 2019 at 6:48 pm

Your argument are flawed and erroneous. They don’t have MAGA because SG economy are controlled by their elitist so as long it churns out money, to hell with their true-borns to be replaced by mainland China-born. Many of the true-borns either left, leaving or stay and suffer.

Talking about having natural resources & human capital isn’t neither the determinant factors of being successful, otherwise how is Monaco which neither have natural resources nor human capital but became way more richer than SG? Or if human capital is the determinant factor, why isn’t Bangladesh many times more successful than SG? Furthermore maybe we could done better if we had all those resources that was raped & plundered from our earth for 400 years? We only had the land for the last 60 or so years, and got what’s left of them.

So yes, I’m comparing Malaysia with USA because we are charting the same policies: MAGA. Please refrain from further incomparable comparisons.

• This tongkat mentality should stop. It is a burden to the country

• Mario and Bros on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:54 am

Hope the government will extend for Hybrid incentives and EEV incentives for vehicles, not only for EV incentives. Without extension for Hybrid incentives and EEV incentives, the car prices will be more expensive as end up, people will be buying diesel cars in which gives out much air pollution. However, the government will only be exempted for diesel commercial vehicles such as diesel pick up trucks like Ford Ranger, diesel lorries like Hino Trucks and diesel trailers like Scania Trailers as it mentioned on first look list about NAP2019.

As according to GE14 PH Manifesto, it says about reducing carbon emissions that makes the country more environmental friendly which is going to be greener. Why this is very important? This is because if there are no Hybrid vehicles, EEV vehicles and electric vehicles on the road, many people will end up they buy diesel cars in which it is not safe for the people’s health. That is why we have to protect our environment and people’s health too.

Besides that, since the our current government focuses on Next Gen Vehicles which means thatcher it has advanced technology like connected and smart mobility as well as green technology like BMW, Proton, Geely, Mercedes, Volvo and other, we expect some car models to be tax in which not qualified for Next Gen Vehicles about connected and smart mobility as well as Green Technology.

Lastly, Since the EEV incentives will resume after announcing NAP2019, we hoped that the government will continue would continue the efforts in NAP 2014, which focused on energy efficient vehicles (EEV) and hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • the energy efficient vehicles (EEV) incentives is not transparent, we don’t know how much is the incentive is given and how much is actually passed on to the consumer.

the energy efficient vehicles (EEV) is also most likely skewed towards Proton & Perodua as another form of protectionism (AKA ‘Tongkat’).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Mario and Bros on Jun 28, 2019 at 5:59 pm

User mat, however, the government will be given EEV incentives for commercial vehicles and motorcycles over 250cc. The government will also most likely to be given EEV incentives for hybrid vehicles besides given EV incentives, third national car and flying cars. Not only that, the government will also going to give EEV incentives for Petrol Vehicles but not Diesel Vehicles

• kebal on Jun 28, 2019 at 10:58 am

Invest in EVs also. That includes the infrastructure. All new house needs to be able to support EV charging, so do premises. Even balik kampung also can charge. Main concern of consumer towards EVs are range. The demand is there already.

• Bieight on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:14 am

Q2 is coming to an end

• Benard on Jun 28, 2019 at 11:48 am

Too many cooks! Who is in charge of NAP and automotive industry in malaysia? Datuk Darell Leiking? Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan? Datuk Seri Azmin?

• The NAP revision, was expected to be announced in Q1 this year. In April, it was announced that the revised policy announcement would be shifted to the second quarter…..AND SECOND QUARTER JUST 2 DAYS LEFT

• newme on Jun 28, 2019 at 1:20 pm

Why need advisory council when we all know how it going to turn out.

1. Help Proton, help Geely, help flying car, help 3rd national car by raising prices of other brands and pumping more “start-up fund”, “R&D grant” or whatever you want to call it.

2. Issue more AP to selected few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • Real World on Jun 28, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Tax for Hyundai, Toyota and Nissan. That haters will stop fighting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • munky on Jun 28, 2019 at 1:29 pm

12 representatives will form the council yet we have no idea if 1 of those representatives will represent the consumer’s voice.

It seems to me like this is a business council and it isn’t often that business objectives line up closely to consumer wants.

This is basically the same as asking cancer to cure itself.

• skodamalaysia on Jun 28, 2019 at 2:42 pm

The new NAP should be ; all new cars that are sold must meet the new regulation set by the department of standards Malaysia by :

2020 – euro 2 emission standard
    2021 – euro 3 emission standard
    2022 – euro 4 emission standard
    2023 – euro 5 emission standard
    2024 – euro 6 emission standard

• FudgeMeSideways on Jun 28, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Existence of Proton = High Tariffs
    existence of Perodua = Malaysians don’t get to buy Jap Kei cars

Tell us Malaysians again, which part of this we don’t understand? High Tariffs has regressed the Malaysian people by decades where funds could more efficiently distributed to other productive means.

• kpala pusing on Jun 28, 2019 at 7:23 pm

turnaround round….

• Khoo ChinEu on Jun 29, 2019 at 2:06 pm

NAP must serve the Rakyat, not automotive towkays. For far too long, Rakyat have suffered with low wages and high car prices. Not putting too much hope things will change. Narrow interests will continue to prevail.