Public charging station etiquette 101 – some pointers

With electrified vehicle (plug-in hybrids and full electric vehicles) ownership now more common in our society, there have been significant changes to our local infrastructure to support the use of such vehicles.

Wander into most shopping malls these days, and you’ll find dedicated charging stations so owners can plug in their PHEVs or EVs to recharge the batteries in their vehicles. It’s certainly pleasant to see such initiatives to support the “green movement,” and if you’re among those who own such vehicles, we hope you’re enjoying these facilities.

However, there are times where these facilities are “abused,” and we’re not talking about vandalism here but the manner in which they are used. Whether this is due to absent-mindedness, plain ignorance, or a combination of both, those responsible seem to overlook that their actions make life a little less convenient for others around them. “Treat others how you want to be treated,” as the saying goes.

With that in mind, we’re here to reiterate the importance of etiquette (and common sense) when it comes to using public EV charging bays, in case the first time didn’t sink in enough. Without further ado:

Public EV charging bays are for PHEVs and EVs only

When you pull up to a charging station, there are most definitely wallboxes nearby so PHEV and EV owners can plug their vehicles in. If your car doesn’t have a charging port anywhere on its body, don’t park there, plain and simple.

More often than not, we’ve seen regular fossil fuel-burning and hybrid vehicles (non-PHEVs) parked in these dedicated bays simply because the owner felt the spot was most conveniently positioned near the entrance, denying people who actually want to use the charging station from doing so.

Public EV charging bays aren’t parking slots or personal spaces

This may sound similar to what was previously mentioned, but PHEV and EV owners are sometimes guilty of using charging bays as “reserved” parking slots or personal spaces, simply because their vehicles meet the criteria of having a charging port.

Yes, you are entitled to park your car there but if you’re not doing any charging while in the bay, why are you there in the first place? Wouldn’t this practice deprive those who want to charge up their vehicles whenever they can, because of your need for convenience? Please, use a regular parking spot instead.

Move your vehicle away once it’s fully charged

Imagine you’re at a petrol station and it’s packed. You’ve been waiting a good 15 minutes for a pump to be vacant so you can fuel up and head home. You spot someone who just finished his or her fuel up, and you’re getting ready to move your vehicle in when said person simply pops into the store for some light shopping.

Not the best feeling in the world is it? Well, the same can be said of charging bays, and owners should be mindful of their vehicle’s state of charge, as there are others who want to use these facilities as well.

Most PHEVs have apps to tell you when they’re fully charged, so the excuse of “not knowing what my vehicle status is” shouldn’t be valid. Some places even have visual reminders telling users not to hog the station, and even set time limits for how long you can charge your vehicle for.

Once again, it’s not your personal parking spot but a public charging station, so do move along when you’re done charging your vehicle’s battery and let someone else have a go.

It doesn’t take much to remain civil and to treat others how you want to be treated, so don’t be “that person” who ruins it for everyone just because personal selfishness overcame common decency – the latter shouldn’t go extinct.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 06, 2019 at 1:31 pm

Uncivilised people with don’t care attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Wait til u see abled pipu parking at OKU place. Orz!

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 06, 2019 at 3:18 pm

and cars taking up Motorcycle parking wehh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
      • Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:39 pm

Mostly motorbikes parking on car spaces. All the kutu and abang abang who are mainly rempits just don’t respect car parking spaces.

Oh, and don’t forget all the rempits on Federal Highway not using the Motor lane. Like barbarians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • SK Lim on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:05 pm

They had no choice because cars parked at their parking spaces. One bad deed deserves another is rightly served to inconsiderate car drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Super on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:48 am

No. They park there because no motorcycle parkings available infront shop entrance. Most of the time parking space for motocycle are at the side end of the road not directly infront shop entrance. This kind of people dont want walk.. If they can shopping with motocycle i bet my life they will do that. Just look at pasar malam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • They couldn’t park in front of shop entrance because got cars park there dy. And these cars the parking there whole day so how for motors to park in front shops? Impossible. I see pasar malam jam everytime because cars parking until 3 layers at roadside ngamngam beside the pasar. Quite sorry for the motor riders as they have to park further just to buy few things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • 4bini on Sep 06, 2019 at 10:12 pm

Motorbikes always do rempit. That is their mentality. So best to avoid this low mentality people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Lets See on Sep 07, 2019 at 5:07 pm

and Myvi drivers always do racing. We should avaoid these low metality people

• Sanjay on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:55 pm

I agree. See who are the bulk buyers of Myvi. They are all the same type who came from rempit days. Just that they got their GF hamil and now have to start a family. So, buy Myvi.

• Ikhwan Ramli on Sep 06, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Most important are the green Iriz owners. Their English not that good. They see “Parking for Green Car”, then they go and park their cars there.

I have seen so many times. This is why we need to improve our English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
      • You really should get your eyes checked if you see that silver Lexus CT200h is a green Iriz. You need serious help bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • Raymond on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Well he’s not lying though. There was a viral picture of a green Iriz parked on a lot reserved for EVs only.

• mentegakacang on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:35 pm

he’s talking about the green coloured iriz which parked at the “green car only” spot. the pic spreaded around in socmed. never seen one? so pity. go check your head first before bashing others dear “mr-so-called-know-everything”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • English Teacher on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Clearly there is a good reason why PT chose not to include that picture here, and the main reason is; that car is hardly the only one so why bother to single that out. Most importantly the picture only showed one car while he claimed “owners”. Is his English that bad or is he just trolling?
            If his English was bad, he has no standing to lecture others. If he intended to troll, well it’s not the first time. So back off with your-holier-than thou attitude. It’s not welcomed in PT.

• How could you forget green Myvi drivers? No need see any signboard, just park where they want. Myvi not only king of highway but king of cincai parking too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Idrus Rahmat on Sep 06, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Most Iriz owners are UiTM, Mara or UIA grads. Their English memang out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
        • They park their green color car @ Green Car zone. nothing wrong there..

• Better than having a brain that is out of order like yours. Seriously, using dupes to support yourself is so obviously lame.

• Engineer on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Most Myvi owners are pricks driving recklessly on the road and selfishly park in front of other people’s houses. Their civic mind & human mentality memang out.

• No proof to back that up. Just the same BS from our racist troll.

• kadazan warrior on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:09 pm

whats so racist abt his comment?? he didnt even mention any race

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Amran on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Implied racism is still racism. Just like what Lukaku said.

• Jeremy on Sep 06, 2019 at 11:06 pm

The nick ‘Kadazan warrior’ is an insult to the real Kadazan because they wouldn’t be like those Inter Milan ultras claiming there is no problem with them monkey chanting at coloured players. So yeah, just as what Amran pointed out.

• knox0x1 on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:49 pm

Same racist statement in every comment

• stop disguise as a retard pls. that’s racist and btw your most likely NOT Idrus Rahmat.

• kiasu on Sep 07, 2019 at 10:43 am

i think their english is much better than average malaysian. everything in uni you mentioned is spoken and written in english. better than any kiasu english who driving myvis who not good at anything.

• Typical uncivilized, entitled and selfish attitude. When we dont have such facilities, we complain and say that other countries have it. When we have it, we abuse it and hog it. When we get reprimanded for being selfish, we scold the people instead of apologizing. This is why we cant progress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • your mommy on Sep 06, 2019 at 3:40 pm

this goes to show that the all spectrum of population suffer from lack of common sense. normally ppl would associate these kind of abomination with lower income group but those blue BMWs and Lexus prove it otherwise.

• IGP Mom on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:22 pm

our Nation thrives on the spirit of Toleransi. we tolerate ppl parking on yellow line whether its Sunday morning, Friday noon or Wed evening.

so just be tolerate gais

• msia driver on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:08 pm

i think gov should legalize to public for sabotage these car on the spot, then the whole Malaysian will consider this important rules.

• willie on Sep 06, 2019 at 4:13 pm

It will not really work at all this station. one will not plug in and go shopping as by the time they come back, the cable disappear, only perhaps for emergency whereby owner of the car need to wait under the humid,hot parking for it to charge. still cannot grasp the hybrid, either one go full EV or petrol, maybe such car, owner too free, hence they created/buy this hybrid, which what i heard is if no charge and use full petrol, it will void the warranty, correct me if am wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • dodgeviper88 on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Place the charging EVs at a place that is furthest away from the entrance. This way it discourages people from parking there and less congestion around the entrance.

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Unfortunately the smart & civilised people can’t afford PHEVs or EVs here… Deal with it..

• Rich but poor Malaysians on Sep 07, 2019 at 3:01 pm

Don’t think rich people are necessarily well educated and civilized. Expensive car drivers are also the usual drivers seen not only abusing charging stations but also abusing highway emergency lane, and cutting queues during rush hour or traffic jam. Their intelligence level and attitude are no different the rempits that they loathe for not using motorcycle lane and parking in car parking bays. Same like the Singaporean BMW driver using fake license plate.

• MrHukaka on Sep 08, 2019 at 8:56 am

Malaysian style you know la,you need to thanks them not parking in front your gate…..
    When I visit some public parking,they used the cable plug into the wall plug and charge their plugin hybrid car for free mall energy.

• Ben Yap on Sep 10, 2019 at 10:16 am

3rd world mentality people driving 1st world cars.