MPs question cost to develop fuel subsidy mechanism

Certain members of the parliament have asked the government to provide a full explanation over the RM25.03 million that was apparently spent to develop mechanism for its new RON 95 petrol subsidy scheme.

Among them was MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong, who questioned the need to spend that much for the mechanism, The Star reports. He said the government already has a database for information about the targeted group and should not have paid to come up with such a mechanism.

“This is not something that is complicated. In the end, people are still angry and they are disappointed with the announcement,” he said. The Ayer Hitam MP added that the government should reveal the number of studies conducted, the purpose of the study and how much money was actually spent to come up with the mechanism.

The cost of development was also questioned by PAS deputy president Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man, who said he was shocked by the amount. “Why is it so expensive to develop a scheme for RON 95 petrol. Who are the people behind it? How many individuals? I think the scheme as a whole also is not a concrete solution to help the poor,” he said.

Under the new petrol subsidy programme (PSP), which is slated to begin in January next year, eligible recipients in the B40 group will receive RM30 a month (for car owners) and RM12 a month (for motorcycle owners).

The government will reimburse the subsidy once every four months, and so car owners will receive RM120 and motorcycle owners will receive RM48 each time, with the amount being directly credited into the recipient’s registered bank account. The first payment for the scheme is scheduled for April 2020.

The targeted subsidy scheme – which is expected to benefit 2.9 million people – will only be given to car and motorcycle owners who are also recipients of the cost of living aid (BSH). The government also announced that the current price cap for RON 95 will be removed and the fuel floated once the PSP kicks off next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Why nobody bring up issue on revealing the formula to determine fuel price?

Oh wait…nobody wants to be transparent about that.

• PM tepi on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:17 pm

https://paultan.org/2009/02/15/how-fuel-prices-are-calculated-in-malaysia/

• ameen on Oct 09, 2019 at 12:21 pm

Aduii typical pembangkang… Dr Wee Ka Siong & Tuan Ibrahim , they think 1 klik boleh link JPJ, JPN, KWSP & BSH…. and PDRM still got big isu, tracking down Saman to latest alamat. loloL

again nothing constructive, for the past 62 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
  • shibby on Oct 09, 2019 at 1:07 pm

The feasibility study for penang tunnel is 305 million

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Another clown act in the making. No other country does this except bolehland. Instead of tackling poverty they choose to feed them with money instead. How’s that gonna help anyone? It’s like the Saudis donating to Najib who was in need. Point in case, a 1l carton of milk use to cost around RM3-4 is now 7-8+. What they maintain in price was only a few select goods like Maggi Kari which still hovers around 3-4 or the infamous kangkung comment from Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Nabill on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Now you understand the full fallacy and nonsense we Msians endured for the last 60yrs. NEP the rot was unimagineable, bear in mind. Malaysia and singapore both started on equal footing 60yrs back, now we are struggling to compete vs vietnam indon filipina and kemboja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • hyin21 on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:05 pm

aiya Dr Wee….old database tak boleh pakai la because inside the database got people like family members of ministers listed as B40….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • FD Ish on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:39 pm

aiya… database. many pengarah, orang lama dalam Jabatan hantar email, pakeh Ms word dan excel pon tak reti. aiya… jom layan teh tarek.

• lilytan on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Nobita sidekick toni can perhaps explain. He now pull all the strings.

• John Doe on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:23 pm

Previously it was challenging for the government to explain technicality to the public who are majority laymen….

Today we have a government who speaks and work like a laymen, because we elected laymen.

When they don’t know (which is all the time) they will say it is still understudy. Study Study Study, might as well go back and study.

Stop using the public funds to try and offset your shortfall…resign immediately and replace yourself with an expert. And if it fails again, ask your party to pack your bags and leave all together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Gostansikit on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Maslan nasi goreng, jib kangkong, jamal jamban.
      technicality challenging laa sangat…. wokayyy

• John Doe on Oct 10, 2019 at 3:09 pm

I’m sorry but i don’t understand what you gibbering…
        But i do know a book called PH’s “The Never Ending Story” book, perhaps you can refer to that as it is more exciting.
        After you’ve learnt a few new vocabulary from that book, you can refer to something more advanced called Economic Transformation Plan, compare the both and you’ll learn two new words “Reality” & “Fantasy”…

BTW there’s a new book called SPV… that’s the second part to The Never Ending Story.

• manifestotototo on Oct 09, 2019 at 4:15 pm

Burrpppp.. Somebody dah really kenyang. 25 million wooo.. It is true that study n research need money but 25 million is a lot of money.. Furthermore it’s not a really complicated problem. No wonder sadik asks for 6 billion for 2020 budget.

• Ajibkor on Oct 09, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Hahahah.. mmg tepat bro. Filem si Riza, The Wolf of Wall Street tak semahal gitew.. hewhuhu

• John Doe on Oct 09, 2019 at 7:49 pm

The very fact that the Wolf of Wall Street made millions and the movie called Kleptocrat is making peanuts says alot. Nobody gives a living damn about a story written by the oldman’s desperate grandchildrens, where after all these resources they have accumulated, they come up with a destructive narration for the country based on lies. Shame, cant describe enough of it.

Kleptocrat is now desperately advertised under google junk ads where normally only spams and scams advertise.

Common sense takes wisdom, unfortunately not many see it.

• obviously you didnt see her birkins & equanimity

• Angry Voters on Oct 10, 2019 at 1:37 am

Obviously you didn’t read that they finally admitted all those wonderful promises were a lie just to win votes. 30million people got lied to.

• John Doe on Oct 10, 2019 at 4:46 pm

No i did not see.
            Neither did anyone in the world see the slightest proof it belongs directly or indirectly according to the story. Now that you brought it up, what happened to it? I’m out of touch.

But what I did see is wealthy Bugatti and Ferrari owned by some wealthy sons.

• njais on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:12 pm

Jkkk & Kafa. Kuat diorang makan dr 2010.

• Rm30 is about half a tank of petrol. How long it can last? Does it really help?

• john doe on Oct 09, 2019 at 7:49 pm

from day1, they wanted to spend this money to the contractor to do this lousy system…it will be replace after 1 year.

many good suggestion just using tax rebate is no cost and easier and still the gov go ahead to spend…

• IGP mom on Oct 10, 2019 at 12:17 pm

It makes perfect sense to question the implementation. Why spend $25Mil to exclude the rich from the system when the rich made up probably just 5% of the population. How much can the rich get from being included in the system, they they are already paying the majority of the tax money??