PLUS should reconsider TnG reload facilities – Azmin

Highway operator PLUS Malaysia should reconsider its decision to stop providing reload facilities for Touch ‘n Go cards at all toll exit lanes, said economics affairs minister Datuk Sri Azmin Ali. He hoped that PLUS management will take into account the views of highway users in reconsidering their decisions, The Star reported.

This comes after the announcement made by PLUS that it is discontinuing the Touch ‘n Go card reloading service at all exit toll plazas from November 5, which the highway operator said was aimed at ensuring the safety of its personnel, as there have been cases of heavy vehicles crashing into toll booths, it said.

“They should provide options for the convenience of the road users. I believe that the views of road users should be taken into account because the facility is there to make their journey on the highway more comfortable,” Azmin said at the Paliament lobby yesterday.

PLUS also announced that it had attained a 48.2% reduction in traffic congestion at its central region toll plaza exit lanes since the reload service was discontinued at those locations from August 1 this year. The highway operator stopped accepting cash payments and replaced it with electronic operation in April 2017, which it claimed to be 300% quicker than manual cash transactions.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:10 pm

education will take time…soon..they will be more alert of their tng card balance.

• Kawasan R&R on Nov 08, 2019 at 5:00 pm

kredit rm 0.50 left in tng card , still can masuk highway. drive from kl to jb so no problem ..

• Hello Abang2 Tolong Bangun on Nov 08, 2019 at 5:49 pm

The bodoh people never get anything right. I already link my Touch and Go to my Pay Direct. Despite my balance always RM100, sometimes it deducts money from the card, sometimes it deducts money from TNG Pay Direct.

Sometimes it works. Sometimes it does not.

Real bodoh. I think the staff from PLUS are probably Uitm, Mara or UIA graduates. Unable to do anything right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
      • Rizal on Nov 08, 2019 at 8:12 pm

Till now TNG pay direct cannot be used on PLUS highway. Only open toll system such as SPRINT, AKLEH and the rest will utilize pay direct. Don’t generalize saying it local grad Uitm, UiA cannot work, I had ecountered overseas co workers esp from Aussie land that can talk ‘gajah terbang’ but do not know how to implement things less so working under pressure. They just run away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • S.Ibrahim on Nov 08, 2019 at 10:43 pm

You are the real bodoh because you never read that PayDirect is not applicable at all exits on all the highways.

Even Uitm, Mara or UIA graduates knows this.

• Rashid Sidek on Nov 09, 2019 at 12:02 pm

Singapore streamlined all their toll and Gantry 25 years ago. No wonder why Singapore is always ahead of us and is top country in the world

• Our neighbor could implement it cos its highways are directly under a body that represents its transport ministry.. Whereas here, its rather through a bunch of private concessionaires.. Each have its own interest rather that a collective interest..

• 4bini on Nov 09, 2019 at 12:24 pm

IT grads in Malaysia are not so clever. The education level here is very low so they cannot implement full scare in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Engineer on Nov 10, 2019 at 12:14 am

Don’t be stupid. Most of these systems are outsourced from other countries. Our IT grads can easily implement if there is clear direction which is not coming from our PH leaders.

• Bro, keep your kiasu stupidity and ignorance to yourself. PayDirect is only availabe for open-toll system.

• Razif Zaini on Nov 08, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Malaysia and Singapore Merdeka same time and yet, one country is FIRST World and the other country is still Third World.

We do not need tolls if money did not go into individual pockets. This is because Malaysia is a very rich country with the highest number of natural resources. Singapore has nothing and yet, they are so rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Loulou30 on Nov 08, 2019 at 9:34 pm

Don’t always vote .. Paul tan will remind you that you are stupid because you often vote !!!

• Engineer on Nov 10, 2019 at 12:15 am

Oh do keep reminding that to our resident troll who keep on hogging PT bandwidth by constantly upvoting his own comments.

• Footie on Nov 11, 2019 at 2:51 pm

S’pore is rich, not its ppl..

• Mata carabao on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:10 pm

TnG reload at exit toll. Add service fee RM10.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Puterajayanese on Nov 09, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Problem solved with Direct Debit every toll charges into that vehicle annual road tax with itemized e-billing. No more e-wallet plastic cards also good for the green environment

• Daily Toll User on Nov 08, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Enable reload using online banking rather than allowing the reload at the booth. So many years Touch&Go been operating in Malaysia but still unable to implement this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Where to touch your card? On your phone screen?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 08, 2019 at 5:05 pm

Azmin got a point though. minister yang prihatin dan berjiwa rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Many highways are changing over to TnG eWallet which works the same as you mentioned. Better still, you can reload eWallet using CC which allows you to collect points.

• Razif Zaini on Nov 08, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Touch and GO crony company…..inefficient servis and always give excuses when things go wrong

• zzzzz on Nov 09, 2019 at 10:53 am

Because the monopoly the market, no one can fight or compete with them, that’s why for so many years there are not much improvement……

• the driver on Nov 08, 2019 at 5:00 pm

An expensive but doable solution : partition the road way back leading to the toll gate with adequate markings to indicate top up lanes. Too often, drivers who aren’t aware wind up behind a line of cars topping up.
    That said, better to make or include in the current TnG app indicator of the balance in their TnG cards – notifications

• alveesyah on Nov 08, 2019 at 5:05 pm

provide a self reload machine at toll booth especailly at the left lane. it made easy for user to top up their TNG

• Haiya.. Lu olang letak itu mesin top up dekat itu toll booth la… Self service top up + drive thru.. No need for drivers to park at plus office and turun and queue sumore.

When paydirect is coming to PLUS? Sudah lama la sohai bila mau PLUS mau integrate maa…

• Bodoh Azmin ni. He is no different than those who complained many will struggle when PLUS removed the cash option some years ago, but now the throughput is much faster after people got used to cashless payment. Azmin is still hankering the days of Rindu Zaman Dinosaur Madey Cash is King. Move on lah!

The only problem is those recalcitrant idiots that do not ensure their TnG card have sufficient charge, and many of them are those looney conspiracy theorists who complained here about TnG usage of card stored value. Why does he even listen to these fringe idiots is beyond me, maybe he’s one of them.

To educate these people is easy, put reload booths at all exit points but penalise those who reload here with a RM5 deduction. In time, many will feel the pain and reload at appropriate rechargers and soon after the exit reload points can be removed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Rizal on Nov 08, 2019 at 8:17 pm

U cakap senang. What happen if you get emergency call parents dying another state in the wee hour, your touch n go left with few ringgit. Will you stop to top up at rnr ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Don’t procrastinate! Why on earth do you leave only few ringgit in your TnG card if you are likely to travel there? Even if I have to stop at RnR to top up, I will stop to topup, don’t go blaming the whole world for your misses.

• jane doe on Nov 11, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Takkan the person/s in emergency situation wan wait til u drive there to help.. ru GOD uh for the life to wait til u arrive so that it could be revived??!! fikir logic sikit la..

• I agree abolishing TnG reload for those PAY DIRECT highway only (LDP, Kesas etc)…
    But not with those toll that doesnt allow PAY DIRECT (NS HW, Elite, NKVE etc)

• asam_keping on Nov 08, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Plus will not be benefited form online reload..you transfer money from bank to plus>plus transfer to your card..bank charged you transfer fee then plus also need to charge..double fee izit? putting hidden charge?? sound simple to you but everything need to be transparent..that’s how huge business run.

• Shuuit Plus on Nov 10, 2019 at 8:32 am

Plus benefits toll money.. toll money.. and no manpower to operate.. so be greedy enough plus..

• Look South on Nov 09, 2019 at 9:02 am

Maybe our Minister not aware – there arw so many optioms to reload at so many convenient places. AEON SUPERMARKET, GUARDIAN, WATSON PETROL STATIONS. Perhaps he wasnt given the correct imformation by his…..

• zzzzz on Nov 09, 2019 at 10:52 am

Azmin, wake up pls. Look at the jam at the toll plaza, even without the top up lane it is already so packed every morning, imagine if there is top up lane, it would be worse lah…….

• I propose tng to allowing not sufficient balance to pass the exit and just make the card to have negative balance.Then hold them to enter the hiway till they topup their card.

• Brian on Nov 10, 2019 at 12:20 am

Talk is easy, they will just throwaway the old card and get a new one.

• Malaysiahighwayuser on Nov 09, 2019 at 11:44 pm

An extra charges should be impose to those do not hae enough balance in the card at exit. As a charges to inconvenient to other road user,

And PLUS should make sure it can do pay direct with touchngo ewallet before close the reload lane

• Abolish the toll as what you have promised in the manifesto you stupid shit

• KJ Lim on Nov 11, 2019 at 9:39 am

the leaders of the country need to think of go forward plan and not to back paddle. Plan and think ahead culture is welcome.