More Touch n’ Go payment options at PLUS highways

Touch n’ Go stakeholders PLUS Malaysia and CIMB have announced that the two parties have come to an agreement for providing additional payment options at PLUS highways across the country, the highway operator and the banking group said in a joint statement. The additional payment options will be facilitated by Touch n’ Go Sdn Bhd via the TnG RFID tag.

The open payment facility will give users the options of linking their TnG RFID tags to a bank account, credit card or debit card of their choice, in addition to the Touch n’ Go e-wallet. Over time, the RFID-driven payment system is expected to replace the TnG card that has been the de facto mode of payment for toll transactions in the country, the statement said.

The Touch n’ Go RFID services will initially be available at 10 open-system toll plazas at PLUS expressways by January 1 next year, followed by all 83 closed-system toll plazas on PLUS expressways by April 1, 2020. It is also the intent of CIMB and Touch n’ Go to roll out the open payments facility to all highway concessionaires in Malaysia in the future, the statement added.

This scheme is being devised and coordinated in collaboration with the ministry of transport, minstry of works and the Malaysian Highway Authority, the statement said, adding that there will be ‘absolutely no disruption’ to the current services rendered by the physical Touch n’ Go card, SmartTag or PayDirect.

The Touch n’ Go RFID service have been in operation as a pilot on select expressways in the country from the beginning of 2019. There are currently over 700,000 tags installed on vehicles in Peninsular Malaysia, and the tags are currently linked the the Touch n’ Go e-wallet for funds, the joint statement said.

“RFID transactions will be real time, as our highway customers will receive immediate notification of their balance and CIMB/TNG have given their commitment to this high standard of service delivery,” said PLUS managing director Datuk Azman Ismail.

“We will continue to innovate from within and ensure we are always working with our toll concessionaire partners to bring convenience and effective multi-dimensional solutions to Malaysian road users. We see this as the next phase in the evolution of payments, one that is more inclusive and suitable for the future of Malaysia’s expressways,” said CIMB Group CEO Tengku Datuk Sri Zafrul Aziz.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ghani on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:09 am

Now we’re talking here! More RFID is good for all. Thanks to Najib for rolling the ball forward or we’ll still be stuck with Madey era obsolete infrared tech SmartTag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Rockybru on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:18 pm

What’s with the name throwings, bro? kemon laa… Najib la, Madey la. grow up la… kemon RFID.

• Why so salty? Isn’t that the truth? The world has moved on to RFID ETC yet we would still be using IR SmartTag if it weren’t for RFID. Move on with the times, bro

• ajibkor on Nov 12, 2019 at 1:36 pm

Move on with the times, bro. bide me farewell

• While Madey Empire Strikes Back, we await for The Return of the Najib. Have faith in the Force.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:17 am

Is Sg Besi to UPM toll plaza considered open system or closed system? What does it mean by open or closed?

• Acapan on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Sg Besi to UPM is closed system. Example of open system are DUKE and GUTHRIE Highway.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:27 am

Terbaik! hidup MY baru! rakyat selamat sejahtera

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:03 pm

Thank you pak najib! We luv you!

• Norlia on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:56 pm

I luv pak najib 2! But i luv those Birkins moar♡♡

• Amran on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:13 pm

Ask any woman on the streets who doesn’t like Birkins? Even fan lady got a secret stash of Birkins.

• Rosman on Nov 12, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Betuii brader.. be like Bik mama. Guna duit sendiri, menabung dari kecil …pastu ikutt sedap hati, beli lar Cincin ke Birkin ker #amalanbaik

• Betui betui betui. Bik mama teladan yang baik, jangan jadik macam daddykasi. Semua pun mau mintak daddy 90+ tahun.

• Ahmad Haziq on Nov 12, 2019 at 10:47 am

It looks like Touch n’ Go will continue to be the monopoly for all payments options at toll concessionaire.

And there is no timeline nor method to roll out the other payment options, which is exclusively linked to the TnG RFID stickers.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:04 pm

Do you prefer to have 10 different paysystems each with their own incompatible ewallets to use?

• Dear Mick Chan,

Then what is of the fate of the PLUS RFID that was launched in the Northern Region (mainly the Penang Bridge and BKE tolls)?

PLUS RFID was the first to have a more “flexible” means of payment, partnering with Visa, MC and Maybank. It ain’t perfect by any means, but it was way better compared to when the TnG e-wallet was first released.

• potato on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:44 pm

please introduce more payment alternatives and totally remove cash payment system. nobody uses cash nowadays and it’s dirty full of germs.

• Googaa Pay on Nov 12, 2019 at 12:50 pm

All those unregulated e-wallets mushrooming are ticking time bomb anytime soon will be hacked with all the store value zerorized. What is the contingency plan from Central Bank?

• Realist on Nov 12, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Finally the RFID saga is settled. CIMB owns Touch & Go and were trying to be the monopoly system for RFID with their E-wallet. Now, they are forced to open the RFID system (the transmitter Hardware) so it is not necessary to use the Touch & Go E-wallet but open to other banking apps as well. Good job to the Government of the day for negotiating this.

• Aura89 on Nov 12, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Being open invites hackers and scammers to come, the same reason why Applepay is still limited to… Apple. Is it US Government failure to force Apple to open up Applepay? I don’t think you thought of the implications beforehand.

• Adrian k on Nov 13, 2019 at 11:33 pm

Rfid to replace existing card? Like forcing us to use rfid only. Who wants to stick something on their headlamp unless they improve their rfid tag otherwise I would rather stick to my card, longer lasting while rfid only last few years