MCO extended in KL, Selangor, Penang, Johor till March 4 – no more 10 km distance rule in MCO areas

The current movement control order (MCO), which was to end on February 18, has been extended for KL, Selangor, Penang and Johor. The MCO will now be until March 4 for these states.

The rest of Malaysia, except for Perlis, is now under the conditional movement control order (CMCO). Perlis, which is clear of Covid, will be under the recovery movement control order (RMCO). Note that Putrajaya is now under CMCO, and not the MCO of WP KL. All the standard operating procedures will be similar to the previous CMCO/RMCO. This was just announced by senior minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in his daily press conference.

The defence minister also announced that the 10 km radius rule in MCO areas will be lifted. Yes, you can now travel further than 10 km from your residence; however, bear in mind that the ban on crossing districts and state borders is still in place. According to Ismail Sabri, the 10 km radius rule is no longer relevant as many businesses have already been allowed to open.

So it’s further, but still within your area. In any case, if there’s no strong reason to wander far, do continue to do the essentials nearby. Stay safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Feb 16, 2021 at 5:52 pm

MCO area, 2 persons in vehicle rule?

• Trump Ajibkor on Feb 16, 2021 at 7:36 pm

Dont you forum contributors find it very ambiguous for the removal of 1O km limit but no interdaerah travel?
    Ok,say from Gombak to Ampang ,where is the cut off point?In the jungle?
    Or Cheras batu 9..can travel up to Flamingo Hotel?
    Just allow travel within Selangor.Ban interstate travel.At least the Police can redeploy their assets at those considered state boundary areas.
    Already almost all sectors other than massage,nightclub,cinemas are operational now.
    Whats important is strict enforcement,which is still a myth,in many places.
    .Already a former menteri calls it Semua Orang Pening.
    Whats needed is clarity.The Police also need a break from manning redundant roadblocks under the hot sun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
    • Alive & kicking on Feb 17, 2021 at 8:47 am

Most private sector big shots are based in KL & Selangor. Have to at least keep these future potential election campaign contributors happy.

• Calvin on Feb 17, 2021 at 10:39 am

No i dont agree. Selangor itself is recording highest state cases so the infections are INTERNALLY. It is wise to limit travelling inside Selangor to reduce these internal infections. Whatmore it is strange for you to demand easing of travel ban and yet complain on enforcement. Which is it that you want? Ease of travel or enforcement? Dont say minister, what you said make us all PENING HABIS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • John Doe on Feb 17, 2021 at 11:07 am

This is to allow you to go Genting.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 16, 2021 at 7:44 pm

Now 10km running is rescinded people can go further for work now. So I hope certain ppl stop being naughty and complain xde keje, susah cari makan. Tengkiu very much caring gov!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • Anonymous on Feb 16, 2021 at 7:52 pm

Didn’t know there was a 10km radius limit during MCO2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Haidi on Feb 16, 2021 at 8:04 pm

Appreciate your update. Better to hear from Paultan.org than read from posts on FB.com

• Jalan 10km on Feb 16, 2021 at 8:20 pm

10km is just a real joke. Hahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • From Puchong to Bangi more than 10km can?

• george on Feb 17, 2021 at 8:31 am

You can find it at New Zealand MKN site.

• pengayuhbasikal on Feb 17, 2021 at 10:19 am

10km is a real joke , but not until when you’ve got infected by someone from further distance

• Sick & Tired on Feb 17, 2021 at 11:47 am

Typical malaysian attitude then. It is treated a joke and something to complain about until themselves got infected and then would complain why enforcement was lacking that caused them to be infected, and when enforcement did happen and they got fined they then complain about harsh and draconian rule, and when the authorities relaxes those ‘harsh’ and ‘draconian’ rules they complain about covid going up and getting infected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5