Proton X90 not launching in 2022 – new 7-seat SUV delayed to 2023 due to COVID-19 and chip shortage

This morning, Proton CEO Li Chunrong made the surprise announcement that the company will be launching three all new models over the next two years. Couple that with the increased sightings of a camouflaged Geely Haoyue/Okavango in recent months and you’d think the Proton version, widely tipped to be called the X90, will make its debut this year. It has to be, right?

Well, no. Speaking to the media at today’s 2022 Saga launch, deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah said the two-year period actually covers 2023 and 2024, meaning that any new model will arrive next year at the earliest. This presumably includes the seven-seater SUV, expected to be the national carmaker’s next big launch.

“It was supposed to be [this year], the original plan, if it wasn’t for the MCO [movement control order] last year,” he said. “It was supposed to be in Q3 this year, but then [the timeline] dragged on and on and now our friends in China [Geely] also got hit with a lockdown.”

Despite recent sightings of prototypes on the road, the X90 won’t be launched this year

Like other carmakers, Proton has also been impacted by the global semiconductor shortage. High demand and low supply have caused prices of chips to skyrocket, leading to the company having to idle its Tanjung Malim plant for two weeks – with April sales suffering as a result, said Roslan. He revealed that the LED headlights on the facelifted Iriz and Persona were some of the components affected.

Roslan’s comments are broadly in line with an investor report released in March, which stated that Proton had to postpone new model launches to 2023 to focus on fulfilling a backlog of orders and resolving supply issues. Despite the company’s best efforts, sales in April fell 32.2% to 8,839 units, including 456 exports.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bob Mal on May 12, 2022 at 3:25 pm

So Malaysian will have to continually buy the Proton Problematic Exora Turbo Engine for another 15 months with no solution by its maker or just live with it and buy another brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • Dong Gor on May 12, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Go to another brand lo.. It’s a free market

• free market ur head.
        if free market honda/toyota would be priced at proton price…more brands and models coming in msia and finally proton freely die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Najib Debat on May 13, 2022 at 1:09 am

Correcto. 2023 BN Bangsat Negara will be gone by then. aamin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 51
        • Rakyat Malaysia on May 14, 2022 at 4:41 pm

LOL. The world nations are moving towards strong stable governments, the latest is Pinoy voting for Marcos/Duterte. Here, only Better Nation can provide us that stability and sure navigation in these uncertain times, by 2023 PH is finished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Truth on May 16, 2022 at 10:19 am

Ah, yes. The Philippines. The benchmark of successful nations. I wonder if they too have an army of government-sponsored cyberbullies that downvote anti-kleptocrat comments and spread propaganda on popular websites. You are not fooling anyone la.

• You can’t just accept the reality that has been going on aren’t ya ? Lol Toyota, Ford, GM also has a problem with Microchip Issue …..

• All brands got chip shortage, not only just Proton, Toyota, Ford, GM

• No spare part no buy

• Kancil Hybrid on May 12, 2022 at 11:28 pm

Brand lain sekenhen banyak bagus2.

• Spin Too Much on May 13, 2022 at 1:09 am

Even with other choices, somehow or other Exora is still a C segment MPV leader, in fact it is the MPV market leader by far. If it were problematic as you claimed it would not have sold this many consistently over the years. Sales figures tells the truth as some haters claimed, right.

• dingdong on May 13, 2022 at 4:37 pm

Just buy 2nd hand la. Many brands in the market why choose exora. It’s not like exora is the only 7seater in the market.

• David on May 12, 2022 at 4:16 pm

No body waiting for it also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Merrick on May 13, 2022 at 12:09 am

Welp….take your words again pal….a year after this and Covid situation is getting better (hopefully), people are starting getting bored again…and wanting Proton to make something else ….

Think Again, and if the microchip issue is over…well…think again….

• Mantap on May 13, 2022 at 4:28 am

Sturdy speed to market philosophy

• Ben Yap on May 13, 2022 at 9:28 am

the X90 should come with sliding doors.

• When a problem just happened, you mau use it as excuse. When the problem is there for quite some time, try to solve it. If you are saying other car makers also facing same issues, then I have nothing to say. If everyone doing the same thing, how to stand out from competitors. You may blame me easy to say but I am just ordinary person who is waiting salary monthly. You are running big corporate earning billions of money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Casual reader on May 15, 2022 at 10:43 am

Even global brands are facing chip shoetages and none of the have a solution, whatmore much smaller ones such as proton. Perhaps you have a chip making plant that you will gladly prioritise chips for proton cars. That will surely help solve their problem. But if ur just a simple salaryman then it is easy for you to say!

• Proton salesman please update your knowledge on the cars you want to sell. Ini tidak, saya tanya jawab tak tahu. Learned from T salesman lah.