D27A Perodua Alza replacement to get a new name, pricing to be revealed on June 23, bookings open then

More on the new Perodua Alza, which was teased yesterday by the national automaker in a new video posted on its social media channels. We now know exactly when the order books for the D27A will officially open as well as to when the on-the-road pricing will be announced.

This will happen on June 23, according to an internal circular that was sent out to dealers yesterday. In the document, which was sighted by this publication, the company announced that the OTR price announcement for the MPV will be made on that date, and order taking – as well as price availability in the system – for the car will officially begin then.

That’s not all. The circular also specifically mentions a “model name unveiling” on the day, pointing towards a likelihood that the long-serving Alza nameplate will be retired. As to what the new name could be, it’s anyone’s guess, but some hints may have been dropped last month.

Then, it was reported that the company had filed a couple of trademarks with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO), registering the Traz and Nexis names in April. Both were filed under class 12 and class 37, encompassing categories that are car-related.

These of course may or may not make its way on to the model, given that the carmaker did the same back in 2014 when it registered the Eliana and Atrivia names subsequent to a trademark filing for the Axia, the nameplate that was used in the end. Guess we’ll find out on June 23 whether the new car will still be called the Alza, or something else.

As previously indicated, and reiterated in the teaser video yesterday, the new D27A will be based on the Toyota Avanza and Daihatsu Xenia. The profile of the Perodua MPV is virtually identical to its close cousins, albeit with some noticeable styling differences.

In front, the D27A appears to have an X-shaped face styled along the lines of the Ativa, and as illustrated by Theophilus Chin in his earlier renders (sans the vertical DRLs). The headlamps have also been reshaped to be more angular compared to those on the Avanza and Xenia, which likely means a Perodua-specific grille is on the cards. Also to be found are rectangular fog lamps.

At the back, the tail light design doesn’t seem to differ much from the Avanza’s, as it bears the same L-shaped signature, with the clusters bridged by a trim piece with the Perodua logo in the centre.

As is already known, there are three variants, a base 1.5L X CVT (variant code BP5XZ), followed by a mid-spec 1.5L H CVT (BP5HZ) and a range-topping 1.5L AV CVT (BP5VZ), with five exterior colours (one solid and four metallic) to pick from. The solid, Ivory White, as well as Glittering Silver and a new Elegant Black, are available for all three variants, while Garnet Red and new Vintage Brown will only be available for the H and AV variants.

As for what will power the D27A, we previously reported that the model should get the Avanza’s 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i four-cylinder mill with 106 PS and 138 Nm of torque. This looks to be pretty much confirmed, judging by the ‘Dual VVT-i’ badge on the fender as seen in the teaser video. The 2NR-VE in the Avanza is paired with a D-CVT driving the front wheels, and we should expect the same for the D27A.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Eat My Smoke on Jun 16, 2022 at 3:39 pm

From the front headlamp can tell is the Daihatsu version. No luck to get the more handsome Toyota style

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 16, 2022 at 6:48 pm

That’s why Toyota Raize bodykit for Ativa so expensive

• Raja Celup on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:08 pm

Perodua with Bridgestone tayar vs. Geely with Linglong tayar. ;-)

• yawnz on Jun 17, 2022 at 4:46 pm

Tyres you can change. Pisspoor perodua you can’t unless you sell the car. Buyers regret?

• Celup King on Jun 18, 2022 at 11:22 am

Tyres you can change. Pisspoor perodua you can’t unless you sell the car. Buyers regret?

• Singaporean Malay on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:33 am

Here in singapore…. i got see some Toyota Raize cars. they are parallel imported from japan. To be honest the car is so small, but ya the front grill is very garang

• Sohai on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:48 pm

Which also means there could be another Toyota version by UMW coming.
      So unlikely Alza will have the 360 camera. Hope it will still have Apple car play.

• you are wrong on Jun 17, 2022 at 8:17 am

You are wrong. it is Toyota version!

• Casual reader on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:40 am

Call it Perodua Auta haha

• Dompet friendly
    Petrol friendly
    Power friendly
    Space friendly
    Comfort pun friendly
    Hi-Tech, Solid

Syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • turkgucu_munchen on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:35 pm

Dompet friendly – but not for B40.

Petrol friendly – as a Perodua owner myself, this is doubtful.

Power friendly – heard that 1.5L for Aruz is a mismatch of body weight & engine power.

Space friendly – depends, usually a 7 seater for sure can fit 7 people, without luggage. With luggage, it’ll probably become 5 seater.. or less.

Comfort pun friendly – can’t judge yet.

Hi-Tech, Solid – err, really? Last time I bought Alza Advanced and thought it was hi tech. But once I got it, I can tell how insignificant the tech was compared to it’s standard or SE variant. Furthermore, I did not enjoy the tech very much. Those times, having a reverse camera is considered hi-tech, but mine was broken in just about 2 years. SC said had to replace the whole unit from media player to the reverse cam – no such thing as replacing the cam only – which kind of strange since the media player is working fine.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying Perodua is bad but sometimes they (Perodua or fanboys) exaggerate. I owned 2 Peroduas at the moment and probably will be buying another Perodua in the future; either this new model or Aruz. Not because I like Perodua or anything, it’s simply because it aligns with my needs and financial capacity and honestly there are not that many cars to choose from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 15
    • Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:48 pm

Selalu nk dpt comfort friendly, kete2 mahal ja ada.. tkpelah.. bukan nk comfort mcm mercedes.. tp sekurng2nya takde lah bising bunyi tayar atau gegaran enjin masuk dlm kabin bila bawak 70-90km cmtu. Kalu bwk laju 120-120km bising tu, dengan harga less 100k, faham la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Anelly on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Probably it’s rebadged from Daihatsu xenia not veloz one

• Rafizi & Co on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:44 pm

Elon Musk just retrenched 10% workforce.(out of 100,000)
    He foresee recession next year.
    So,good luck if u still one to spend on new Alza.

• That’s why should re-compare to Nissan Serena, Odyssey, Xpander, Xtrail, Stream, Wish,
      Which also not T01 super rich vehicles,

To this competent DNGA Alza Cross.
      Solid, Premium, Hi-tech at affordable price.

People should enjoy Lifestyle but no need Burden.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • A cross on a Malaysian national car? Did you see the flag? on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:21 pm

Which part of the car suggests it’s a Cross sir? It’s still an stretched MPV with higher ground clearance than previous gen. Let’s put it this way, since P brand likes to name their car starting with A (Barring Bezza), maybe call it Akolos? Across? Akolots? Akords?

Messing around a side, if this is really a Cross, do does Toyota Veloz Cross & it’s twin Daihatsu Xenia Cross, see how slight is the possibility here?

Even so giving it a Cross name still not gonna give this thing true ability in going off-road unlike Toyota Cross.

• Cashier on Jun 16, 2022 at 7:41 pm

So,, depends..
      If u just swap car, basically just swap loan,
      No increase in burden.

Unless you bought wrong car with loan, no value car,
      Trade in rugi habis, no rezeki laa

• Casual reader on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:54 am

He also predicted his buyout of twitter will be seamless but latest scene unfolding showed he is no oracle of omaha

• Up to you... on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:35 pm

Work harder B40…

• Haidi on Jun 16, 2022 at 9:22 pm

Nexis like Maxis

• Perodua Axeda

• Ex kelisa owner on Jun 17, 2022 at 9:35 am

Perodua tolong jangan bagi eco idle, ASA yg tak guna ya. Reduce price to standarize useful spec like leather seat, MF batteri, coil mat, boot tray.

• Fauzi b hak on Jun 18, 2022 at 4:57 am

Buat apa semua bagi tahu saya saya order saja dapat tidak