MetMalaysia predicts major floods in end-Nov – don’t forget Special Perils coverage for your car insurance

How’s the weather where you are? It’s been gloomy all morning here in KL and it even rained just now – yes, in the morning. Such is the unpredictability of the weather these days to the common man. But our meteorological department has the expertise and tools to predict the weather, and it has a warning for Malaysians.

MetMalaysia is predicting that the country will face continuous heavy rains from the mid of November, and this might lead to big floods at the end of the month. The impact is more significant this time around as northeast monsoon is active that time of the year, and the La Nina phenomenon will be present till early next year. This will add to rainfall.

According to MetMalaysia’s director-general Muhammad Helmi Abdullah, in October, the weather risk only involves thunderstorms that potentially can cause strong winds, heavy rain and small scale flash floods in short periods. He told BH that most places are expected to receive normal rainfall in October.

Typically, Malaysia will face the changing of monsoons from end September to early November.

“During this period, weather is usually good in the morning, whereas in the evening till early night, thunderstorms are more frequent especially at west coast states and the interiors of Peninsular Malaysia, Sarawak (west and central) and west Sabah. The risk of flash floods is high in this period, especially in low-lying areas in the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia,” Muhd Helmi said.

Whether it is flash floods from our “usual” thunderstorms or a major event as predicted for end-November, we need to prepare for them by having Special Perils insurance coverage for our vehicles. This add-on covers natural disasters and acts of God, including floods. Tick the optional box when you purchase your annual car insurance and you’ll be reimbursed by the insurance provider should your car suffer damage from natural disasters.

It’s not super costly. Late last year, we tabulated the various costs of adding on Special Perils coverage from most auto insurance companies in Malaysia, including AIA, AIG, Allianz, AXA, Etiqa, Kurnia, MPI Generali, MSIG, RHB, Takaful and Tokio Marine. The rates vary between 0.15% to 0.50%.

For example, if you’re insuring a car for RM50,000, you’re paying as little as RM75 with MPI Generali, while other insurance providers like Allianz, AXA, MSIG and Tokio Marine offer the coverage for RM100. With higher rates like those provided by AIA, AIG, Etiqa, Kurnia, RHB and Takaful, the payable amount is between RM125 to RM250. Click on the table above for a better view.

Unless you drive an old, non-collectible car that’s “disposable”, surely the extra cost for peace of mind is worth it, right?

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• John C on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:40 pm

What is there to predict when every year end weather since ages ago has been like this? The more important question is what has been done by the leaders to prevent flood from happening? Anything?

• Unknown on Sep 10, 2022 at 1:51 am

Since it is this weather ages ago, what can the leaders do anything to prevent mother nature from flooding when she wishes? You don’t fight nature as you will never win.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • last yr wa under which government and took no action, we should change it to teach it a lesson, thrn only they will do something. Otherwise, do or don’t do still can win, who want to do anything?

• Maverick on Sep 10, 2022 at 3:24 pm

Dear ABC no need time consuming lesson.
        Lets sokong FM Zafrul to run for ADUN coming GE15, to become Selangor MB. We know the current PH gomen is useless and lead to more floodings,thats why things are not progressing.

• twin outboard 550bhp sampan on Sep 10, 2022 at 4:39 pm

Stay inside kampong cottage on high stilts and travel on sampan follow the good example of ancestors no worries when flood

• smokeonwaterrr on Sep 10, 2022 at 8:23 pm

hmmm wondering EV + flood = ?????

• Ya Mentri on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Dah bagitau, so jangan buat tak tau!

• Kea Was on Sep 09, 2022 at 6:09 pm

Maybe Malaysian can claim the damaged through the Environmental Man who told us Malaysia is not a climate vulnerable country a year ago and yet nothing has been done to alleviate the problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Since flooding is a yearly phenomena, it has nothing to do with climate change bro. Some countries, ie ASEAN, does flood you know. We are not Europe or America where floods are unheard off.

• Kea Was on Sep 11, 2022 at 4:50 pm

Bro I have no idea where you have been, flood has been impacting Europe and UK in 2022 listed as one of the major disasters and global climate change does not only affect a single country but globally.

Also dont quote a yearly phenomena especially on the locations going from the north, centre and south which now affects everyone.

• Aura89 on Sep 12, 2022 at 7:56 am

Climate change is more felt in Northern Hemisphere as such floods are almost never heard of. In Malaysia the effects are less felt as Bro said, flooding is a yearly event up north. Flooding in central regions are more caused by unrestricted developments (see Sri Muda) rather than climate change per se. Those places are in flood prone areas, nothing much so with global warming.

• Aura89 on Sep 12, 2022 at 7:52 am

Idk, seems like responsible governance to me.. but then I believe in climate change.

• normal_user on Sep 09, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Any Honda owners insuring using Honda insurance plus (underwriten by Etiqa) here?

My Civic FC has 100k sum insured. To add flood coverage, need to topup rm1500 which is too expensive.

Can I purchase takaful from other underwriter just for flood coverage?

• not normal user on Sep 10, 2022 at 4:52 pm

that a absurd amount for a civic my 2021 530e with perils only need to top up RM1500

• Dear normal_user on Sep 10, 2022 at 7:55 am

Who you trying to lie la
    My 2 year-old 330i also only need to add RM865 for special perils lmao

• AIA staff on Sep 10, 2022 at 10:29 am

AIA has also reduced the rate to 0.2% recently

• Makchah Japli on Sep 10, 2022 at 1:04 pm

Jaga jaga johor bahru city centre.

• Makchah Japli on Sep 10, 2022 at 1:05 pm

X tahu tapi Jaga jaga johor bahru city centre.