Perodua to maintain car prices, for now – raw material prices, forex, interest rates are determining factors

There have been some movements in car prices this week as we enter 2023. We’ve already seen bumps in RRP for certain Toyota sedan models and lower-end variants of the Nissan Navara, and there might be more to come. However, Honda Malaysia has declared that it will maintain prices, and now Perodua is saying the same – maintain, for now.

“We hope material prices and fuel prices remain manageable; at the same time, we also hope that foreign exchange and interest rates would be favourable to industry growth,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad said, adding that if these factors remain “within acceptable levels”, Perodua will maintain its vehicle prices.

“For now, our priority is to deliver to those who booked their Perodua within the sales tax exemption period as the price for these vehicles will remain as per agreed until March 31, 2023 deadline,” the P2 chief added.

This means that it’s status quo for prices of Malaysia’s most popular car models such as the Myvi, Axia, Bezza and Alza MPV. The latter, launched to much fanfare in July 2022, has a substantial waiting list, and Zainal’s statement is a reminder that P2 is aware of its commitments.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Jan 05, 2023 at 11:28 am

Read between the lines. They no need to increase because most best sellers like Axia will be replaced with new models with new prices.

• PHerodua kini & selamanya. Terbaekkk

• Why So Serious on Jan 06, 2023 at 10:51 am

Easy to maintain prices when their cars oredy overpriced crap. Paying RM 70k for a jacked up B hatchback? Hell no!

• macam on Jan 06, 2023 at 4:07 pm

come come.. you make your car, sell it cheap cheap…. we all support you.

• newme on Jan 12, 2023 at 10:12 am

What choice do people have? You can’t expect the people to buy Proton isn’t it?

• Ground europe passenger on Jan 05, 2023 at 4:49 pm

To maintain good price for car, please takeout unnecessary features that not really useful.

-Eco idle : irritating and bugging instead of useful, please give a maintenance free battery instead.

– reverse camera, blind spot monitor are useful but aeb, lka, auto cruise wasn’t 100% confident to use as distracting the driver driving. The steering, throttle pedal, brake operations should be 100% control by human instead of a system based on front camera.

• Justice on Jan 05, 2023 at 5:36 pm

Once a brukdua, always a burukdua…crappie cars like perodua no need to increase as they are substandard junks anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • md ramli bin hj kasmuri on Jan 06, 2023 at 10:33 am

please give my your price otr perodua myvi and perodua ativa