RFID disruptions continue on Malaysian highways; transport minister to discuss with works minister

One year on from the initial rollout of RFID as a highway toll payment method, disruptions with the system persist as former minister in the prime minister’s department, Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan stated his frustration with the use of RFID lanes on Twitter, and had mentioned transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook in his tweet in a bid to have the situation rectified.

Loke replied to the tweet, clarifying that RFID operation at highway toll plazas “is under Lembaga Lebuhraya (the Malaysian Highway Authority)”, and that he will discuss the matter with works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi.

While there is response on a ministerial level, RFID users should, in the meantime continue to take the necessary steps to ensure that there are no other factors contributing to any technical issue with its usage.

Firstly, users need to ensure that the RFID tag is correctly affixed to their vehicle, especially if one applying the tag themselves using the self-fitment kit. This RFID tag need to be positioned at least 5 cm away from metal parts to prevent any possible interference, and applied on the windscreen, this means away from the A-pillar, and if placed on the headlamp, this needs to be in the middle to be distanced from the bodywork.

If one chooses to affix the RFID tag to the vehicle’s windscreen, be sure to place the tag away from the wipers’ paths, and take note if your window tint film of choice, if applicable, has a high metal content which may cause interference; if this is the case, the headlamp will likely be the preferred site of RFID tag installation on the vehicle.

Also, users need to ensure that the is sufficient balance in the Touch ‘n Go eWallet for the payment of toll fare. Users also need to be sure to have sufficient balance in their Touch ‘n Go card where RFID is not applicable; in any case, the Malaysian Highway Authority instructed highway concessionaire PLUS to maintain operation of both SmartTAG and Touch ‘n Go lanes at toll booths.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Still using my same old reliable Smart Tag that is already 17 years old.. Never bother to install RFID pun…

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 13, 2023 at 3:52 pm

If RFID deduct toll fees along the highway then good. The further U travel, U paying more along these checkpoints. Smooth traffic all the way. Why bother to build so many tolls??

• The RFID is crap. I will not use it. Smart Tag also problematic but only half as much. Surely the intelligent people at PLUS can do better.

• Newme on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:04 am

Hahaha… this RFID… I know it’s lousy, you know it’s lousy, road users know it is lousy, TnG knows it is lousy, highway operators know it is lousy, the ministers know it is lousy… everyone know it is lousy. Buy why still want to defend this lousy system?

• Hidup umno on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:10 am

Same problems but different government. Malaysians mentality at its best.

• Flex innovations on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:20 am

Just fix the sticker on number plate problem solved! even installer themselves also don’t know this. everyone has installed on wrong place.

• Richard on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:24 am

Even former minister is confused with our ministry’s jurisdiction. Anyway RFID needs to be seamless & pls standardize the lane position in all tolls so that we are not confused.

• @Snakebabu on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:26 am

JPJ pls issue multi-purpose number plate for vehicles la..RFID / police scan /etc..make it simple, make it easy..
    No think tank in your jabatan / ministry meh?!

• 50+ year old tech brooooo… SG rolled out this old tech (ERP) back in early 90s brooooo
    ERP = Electronic Road Pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Hidup umno on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:54 am

We have lousy government.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 12, 2023 at 6:06 pm

current RFID prone to clog up as U only have ONE CENTRALIZED deduction only at toll. TnG OK because the value stored DECENTRALLY inside the card. SmarTAG lane got TnG scan as backup

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 13, 2023 at 3:49 pm

Wait until another TM cable being stolen again. Semua turun bayar tunai

• Sohai on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:35 am

Traffic jam root cause is bottleneck , bolehland rfid juat sane as smart tag 0% impeovement and dunno mana satu sohai minister approved to use it. singapore rfid 110kmh pun boleh detect no needed gantry no neeed slowdown your vehicle to cause traffic jam… yg kasi approval to implement rfid tu betoi betoi sohai…

• Tanah Monsoon Semenanjung Durian on Jan 16, 2023 at 3:28 pm

Problem is non-standard issue of alphanumeric plate, every kedai assesori abang adik can taylor-made according to customer’s preference. All your neighbourhood nations have standardized car plate compliance so Automatic vehicle plate recognition camera can reads even you speeding pass 70 mph passing through the toll gantry

• newme on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:40 am

Saw a TnG counter at Mid Valley lately. Long queue. People thought can buy TnG card.
    It’s disheartening seeing people left in disappointment after finding that they can’t buy TnG card without first purchase the RFID tag.

• Jeremy on Jan 12, 2023 at 11:54 am

This system, in this century, is a great joke.

• Kenneth Seow on Jan 12, 2023 at 12:05 pm

Problem with RIFD is you can’t just go to another lane and use TnG card… you are potentially stuck there for hours on end as you can only exit via an RFID lane if you entered via the same.

• Frus-reverseforward on Jan 12, 2023 at 12:37 pm

Exactly. Rfid in PLUS is not performing till now. Far worse than smarttag tng. Very much agree on some users said rfid=reverse forward idle. Malu je..when this happen and seeing a smarttag user just swift through. Talk about high speed, free flow traffic toll collection with rfid, delay it till further notice …

• Gabriel on Jan 12, 2023 at 12:48 pm

Useless government. Small issue also cannot solve.

• Kerajaan gagal tak layak memerintah on Jan 13, 2023 at 11:40 am

Agreed. They busy travel to other countries and states instead solving rakyat problems.

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 12, 2023 at 12:51 pm

remove tolls la

• no competition (monopoly) = no worries, kan? cincai la

• macampondan on Jan 12, 2023 at 1:22 pm

Malaysia implement much later stage and should have go with GPS based tracker instead of this cheapo, easy to break, “try be lucky if kena” kind of RFID which is not cheap and unreliable.

The real question is, why we still stick to RFID when it’s give all the opportunities to adopt more reliable and advance method>?

Can’t beat the feeling that, someone is benefiting from this crap then the rakyat.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 12, 2023 at 2:42 pm

MACC should also investigate why an inferior half-baked system was implemented as the sole option. Were there no RFP and POC trials? All Malaysians would naturally draw their own conclusions about this issue..

• Levin on Jan 12, 2023 at 3:07 pm

RFID is already go live since a year ago, but most of the tolls we only have one or two RFID lanes and plenty of TNG lanes. Suggest to have more RFID lanes and reduce the TNG lanes. Wonder what is taking so long to add more RFID lanes? Just convert some more of the existing TNG lanes to RFID is you want to encourage users to switch to RFID.

• Bob Mal on Jan 12, 2023 at 3:22 pm

Actually isn’t RFID belonging to CIMB another monopoly Malaysian game just like TNG etc. Better just discuss with the bank and stop allowing all this 1 sided discussion / technology.

• If it ain't broken don't fix it on Jan 12, 2023 at 3:53 pm

What’s wrong with TnG and Smart Tag? Problem and hassle free. Suspect some parties personally benefitting from this RFID nonsense

• Jas vin der on Jan 12, 2023 at 5:01 pm

Please please please please get rid of this rfid tech and toll gates. If not might as well get rid of the minister whom is clearly not competent even since BN rule or whomever ruled unfortunately only this post of transport minister is always an idiot!

• TnG is so high-handed with their monopoly. I bought a new RFID for my car in Oct. Followed the instructions and installed on headlamp. Did not work. Got a free replacement and went to the installation centre at a Petronas. Agent there told me we should not install on LED headlamps as it will seldom work. Windscreen is best. Had issues activating this replacement card. Had to go home and come back to fitment centre the next day. TnG is absolutely cr*p because you have no other choice. I use the LDP everyday and you’d be lucky if you have a smooth pass 2 out of 10 times. It’s either congested (one lane only) or stuck due to human error (low balance) or unresponsive tag.

• RFIDrubbish on Jan 12, 2023 at 6:07 pm

In Malaysia, RFID refers to refuse frequency identification. Please spread it ya, thanks!

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Jan 13, 2023 at 12:02 am

Thats the problem when u give “NEAR MONOPOLY” to TnG,RFID.
    2 weeks ago..at LRT Setapak station,the blardy counter said they cant sell the blardy Touch n Go new cards for 2 consecutive days.
    Many people like me were stranded cos our cards were missing,we needed to buy new cards.
    The service is totally f…up. Santa Nanta ,pls f…those f..ing idiots.

• Luke Law on Jan 13, 2023 at 12:40 am

Well, ain’t it the classic finger pointing game we’re all used to. OPEN ROAD TOLLING is a system that came out in 1986, where cars just drive under what seems to be a billboard without slowing down.

Let’s be frank. Someone made the money already.
    We’re all just pawns in their game.

• Better cancel all RFID, just TnG n SmartTag is enough.

• Sohai on Jan 13, 2023 at 9:46 pm

I thought PH janji remove toll?
    Without toll where comes RFID problem?
    Thats your solution right there

• md21n on Jan 18, 2023 at 11:26 pm

Masih ingat. Lpt1 kta Julai 2022 pasang.. dah 2023… hampeh…

• Hasnul on Mar 03, 2023 at 7:23 pm

How about RFID for LPT1 and LPT2. When to be enforced