2023 Toyota bZ4X in Malaysia – EV crossover with 71.4 kWh battery, 500 km range, 204 PS, coming next year?

Toyota aims to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050 and firmly believes that “eco cars will contribute to the environment only when they come widespread.” However, with a presence in 204 countries, each with differing market conditions, offering a single solution that can meet the requirements of every Toyota customer is simply unfeasible.

For instance, the lack of proper infrastructure limits the widespread use of electric vehicles (EVs) in some countries, and the same is also true of hydrogen-powered vehicles. There’s also the issue of cost, as customers in certain markets may not have the same spending power as those in others.

As such, the Japanese carmaker pursues a multi-pathway strategy where a variety of low-carbon personal transport solutions are offered that best suit the needs of customers. This strategy involves developing powertrains of a various types, from hybrid vehicles (HEVs) that were pioneered by the Prius over two decades ago, to plug-in hybrid vehicles (PHEVs) and fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEV). Battery electric vehicles (BEVs) are also important in this strategy, with the carmaker announcing new technologies recently.

This strategy is being applied to all markets that Toyota is entered in, which includes Malaysia. At present, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) believes HEVs to be the best fit here, with the Corolla Cross Hybrid and Innova Zenix Hybrid already on sale. Long before these two, we welcomed the third-generation Prius in 2009 and the Prius c in 2012.

UMWT also sells models powered by efficient petrol and diesel engines, but it is now looking forward to the launch of Toyota’s first mass-market EV, the bZ4X, which is currently undergoing testing ahead of an official introduction this year. This unit loaned to us is one of a few registered units making the rounds, and we’re now bringing you a comprehensive gallery of the bZ4X for your viewing pleasure.

In terms of specifications, this bZ4X features a 71.4-kWh lithium-ion battery pack that is good for a range of up to 500 km following the WLTP standard. The battery powers a front-mounted electric motor rated at 204 PS (201 hp or 150 kW) and 266 Nm of torque, with this setup being the same one used in the Indonesian-spec bZ4X.

The Toyota EV is also available with all-wheel drive in Thailand, whereby it gains a rear electric motor and increased outputs of 218 PS (215 hp or 160 kW) and 337 Nm of torque, but range is reduced to 411 km. For charging, the bZ4X supports a maximum AC input (Type 2) of 6.6 kW as well as DC fast charging (CCS2) at up to 150 kW – the latter gets the battery from a 0-80% state of charge in just 30 minutes.

Equipment found on this particular unit includes LED exterior lighting, 20-inch wheels, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, a 12.3-inch infotainment touchscreen, dual-zone climate control with rear vents, a wireless phone charger, synthetic leather upholstery, a front dashcam, a powered driver’s seat and tailgate and Toyota Safety Sense driver assistance systems.

Final specifications along with pricing will be revealed later when the bZ4X goes on sale here, which could now be sometime next year. How much do you expect the Toyota EV to be priced at? For reference, the AWD bZ4X retails for 1.836 million baht (RM243,427) in Thailand, while in Indonesia, the FWD bZ4X sells for 1.19 billion rupiah (RM361,729).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments about the Toyota bZ4X highlight mixed reactions, with some viewers skeptical about its design and pricing, considering it overpriced compared to competitors like BYD and Tesla. Concerns are raised about its outdated tech, poor resale value in China, and limited charging capabilities, which may affect its popularity in Malaysia. Enthusiasts suggest waiting to see how prices and features develop, especially with government policies and potential local partnerships like Sime Darby. Some comments also compare it unfavorably to hybrid models like the Prius and Honda hybrids, citing depreciation issues. Overall, there is cautious optimism about Toyota's EV prospects, but many believe it will face tough competition and limited success unless improvements are made in price, technology, and features.

• Ayahanda on Aug 25, 2023 at 7:34 pm

This EV sell here below rm130ribu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • all-lies on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:21 pm

heard they sell in china <150k to compete with byd…

i think here will sell min 250-300k

• gofarkla on Aug 27, 2023 at 10:38 pm

if china can sell so cheap then rakyat sini kena ayam la selling 250-300k….like sohai only…

• Yaris GR on Aug 28, 2023 at 8:03 am

But with Sime Darby, should be affordable and better than UMW

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 28, 2023 at 11:43 am

Tesla starting only 199K
            Why still Toyota? BYD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • joker on Aug 26, 2023 at 8:46 am

oh sure..yeah that’s totally possible – actually why not RM100k instead since we’re just randomly blurting unrealistic numbers.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 25, 2023 at 7:39 pm

Bigger the battery
    More expensive to replace
    Look at Prius… 10years today…
    Worth less than RM25K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Abang tesla on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:29 pm

Anak menantu Balik kampung pakai Tesla maa

• Ongtk on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Are you a Prius owner? I sold my 12 years old Prius with 150k mileage for RM28K.

• Yes. Dah Menang Semua sounds like had sold a lot of 10yrs old Prius or at least tried hard to make people think so. I had sold my 9.5yrs old Honda Jazz Hybrid which was over 160k km for rm31k. So reality, I don’t think 2nd hybrid is going to devalue the car if the car is in good condition. This probably applies to Japanese made hybrid from T & H badge.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 28, 2023 at 11:38 am

Yea man better buy Honda Hybrid than Toyota’s

• Still reliabiity issues for honda, sorry not worth buying. People already moved on to buy other brands

• mechanicnextdoor on Aug 26, 2023 at 8:12 am

That Prius is literally decade old car and engineering

• ZamZam on Aug 26, 2023 at 8:43 pm

Durian runtuh kalau dapat RM25k 2012 Prius Besar
        Cambodian will be rushing to buy this cheap Prius, thier ‘National Car’.

• chicken rice on Aug 26, 2023 at 8:54 am

step out of your boomer mindset – EV batteries can practically outlive the car. the rest of the car would probably be looking like a malaysian taxi before the battery reaches its end of life.

data already shows 10-year old BEVs on average still hold ~80% capacity. extrapolated data from current-era BEVs are projected to retain up to 90% with newer battery management systems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • majulahsingapura on Aug 26, 2023 at 8:56 am

patutla kita tak maju..still got so many old fashioned mindset like you. why choose to appear silly on the internet when the time spent could be used to do more research on technology first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Dah Menang Semua on Aug 27, 2023 at 8:40 am

Ya I still using subsidized RON95 now
        Which fuel U use? – RON97, 100, Vpower Racing?

• Look at Proton Preve… 10years today…
      Worth less than RM12K

• Dah Memang Semua on Aug 27, 2023 at 8:43 am

Yea Preve is better. Still worth 25%
        Prius left that puny 13% only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Yaris GR on Aug 28, 2023 at 8:04 am

Look at what PH7 had mentioned: Yes. Dah Menang Semua sounds like had sold a lot of 10yrs old Prius or at least tried hard to make people think so. I had sold my 9.5yrs old Honda Jazz Hybrid which was over 160k km for rm31k. So reality, I don’t think 2nd hybrid is going to devalue the car if the car is in good condition. This probably applies to Japanese made hybrid from T & H badge.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 28, 2023 at 11:37 am

Yea man better buy Honda Hybrid than Toyota’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • But reliability issues for honda, sorry not worth to buy. Even many people have moved on to buy other brands and toyota

• Squid on Aug 28, 2023 at 10:05 am

Try to not be so poor so resale value is not an issue lol

• anonymous on Aug 25, 2023 at 8:07 pm

wished this came with the JBL speaker upgrade because toyota standard speakers are truly a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Matti on Aug 26, 2023 at 2:07 am

UMW’s fault. They always shaft us when it comes to these sorts of features. I mean, just look at the photo of the interior showing that cheapo dashcam (same one found in the Vios).

• He Long Must on Aug 25, 2023 at 8:11 pm

Harga bulih lawan Tesla ka?

• Charging I was Informed in the web is too slow.

• ROTI CANAI on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:20 pm

tesla model y. bye bye.

• Yaris GR on Aug 28, 2023 at 8:05 am

Why wanna buy overpriced service cost and low quality tesla when I can get better toyota electric vehicles

• Tesla Fanboi on Aug 30, 2023 at 6:06 am

Better ToYoDA electric vehicle
        Hahah Can I get some of that crack you smoking

• Alfonso Romeo bin Kelembai on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:28 pm

bZ4X… Busy For Ex… Kenapa aku rasa nama dia macam perli aku je??

• Dogbert on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:49 pm

Moving forward, SimeDarby will decide whether to bring in?

• Kony Chee Wah on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:53 pm

Can build one house price Toyota laughing all the way to the bank.

• dugongx on Aug 25, 2023 at 9:59 pm

More worthless overpriced crap from Toyota as usual.

• Civic Type L(ol) on Aug 26, 2023 at 12:48 am

Ugly, panel gap styling come as a standard feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • That model name can be better, just Z4X.

• The biggest issue with this car according to reviewers is the lousy range and the charging limitation where the 80%-in-30minutes charge rate is limited to once every 24 hours (supposedly to protect battery from premature degradation, according to Toyota). Either way, as long as the government gives Tesla special treatment, other manufacturers cannot compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • The final results once this car launch, your story will be different

• alibaba902 on Aug 26, 2023 at 9:59 am

should sell more than 300k since sime darby already a big stake holder in toyota, becoz it is a good brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • You don’t know why with under Sime Darby, will survive better than UMW. That’s why Sime Darby have importance on not only just BMW, but also for Chery, BYD too and mostly importance on Toyota and P2

• Mr Myvi on Aug 27, 2023 at 3:29 pm

In your dreams, no one loves putting higher price. Sime Darby will do better than before takeover

• 4GR-FSE on Aug 26, 2023 at 12:33 pm

For Toyota’s EV, I would say just wait and see first.
    While their hybrid models are the best in the industry.

• haha..
    EV cars cost >200k…
    Imagine need to pay tax…

• Mr. SAAD on Aug 26, 2023 at 10:01 pm

1- what are the prices of these cars???
    2-can you take my car with a fair price in order to be able to buy one of your advertised cars???

• the worst car from toyota for the past 20 years.

imagine the wheel falls off and they cant fix it, so they offer to buy it back from you instead.

• Nice.

• Ting Tong on Aug 27, 2023 at 7:49 am

Laku keras kereta ni jika di PETROL kan

• kckfen on Aug 27, 2023 at 3:46 pm

This car in China only sell at USD24.5k for the base model, smaller battery size at 50.3Kwh. If price over Rm200k in Malaysia i doubt it will sell well in Malaysia.. considering so many sub Rm200k EV available with better battery… going to hard to compete with BYD atto 3. In fact sales was so bad in China they have to sell at lost just to clear inventory…

• Mike Tee on Aug 28, 2023 at 12:52 pm

EV competition is brutal in China. Another round of price cut by Tesla on the 14th and the MY now starts at RM168k (264k CNY) means other manufacturers are being pushed harder to cut prices.

They cannot give the BZ4X away in China partly because of anti-Japanese sentiments also. In terms of range, charging, interior, autonomous driving, reviewers (CN) pointed out that the BZ4X feels like outdated tech. Resale value is really poor as a result.

In Malaysia however I expect *some* sales due to brand perception and also because this car looks and feels like a traditional car. I ordered a Model Y purely because of performance

• AppleTree on Aug 27, 2023 at 10:26 pm

ev or no ev aside…

i think quite ugly.

• Toyota oh Toyota. Bring in la diesel turbo hybrid. That’s the best way so far. Don’t need to queue to charge (electric comes from coal and fossil fuel). Pump in diesel and go.

• ThePolygon on Aug 28, 2023 at 10:25 am

This car was available before the BYD priced the market. It’s a big no today for this kind of price.

• The front looked damp ugly. Only toyota die hard fan will go for it.