Proton S70 to have enough spare parts – new measures put in place to ensure stock availability

Proton has assured S70 buyers that there will be enough spare parts for the sedan as it has implemented new measures to ensure stock availability. This was revealed by Wan Hazran Wan Mustafa, Proton’s aftersales director, during a press conference at the launch of the S70 earlier this week.

“[We have taken] significant action to improve parts supply and also our warehouse capacity. We have opened a new regional parts centre in Sarawak. Besides that, we also expanded our central region warehouses to store more parts. We also streamlined our order processing to handle overseas shipments and maintain a larger stock of critical items for quicker repairs,” said Wan Hazran.

“Additionally, we have launched the Proton Operational Excellence (POE) programme. This is to level up our dealer operation management capability. In this programme, the dealer will be evaluated based on six focus areas, which are performance, customer satisfaction, parts management, customer management, manpower and compliance,” he added.

“With this platform, the dealer will be evaluated to deliver the best customer satisfaction. This has been a challenge for us to give our best commitment in our ability to address all the challenges promptly and professionally. In this case, we are improving our aftersales, especially for parts supply and so far, I believe there are not much issues on part supply. This is our commitment to all Proton customers that we are improving to be the best in aftersales,” Wan Hazran ended.

The issue of spare parts availability was widely reported over the past two years, with customers having to wait a long time to get their vehicles repaired or serviced – the matter even caught the interest of the transport ministry in 2022.

In the time since reports of Proton’s lack of spare parts availability surfaced, the carmaker has worked hard to address the issue by requiring its dealers to have a minimum number of months holding stock of fast-moving parts – this was announced in March last year.

The POE programme mentioned by Wan Hazran was launched later on in November 2022 for better aftersales excellence, and in February this year, Proton launched a new regional parts centre (also mentioned by Wan Hazran) in Kuching to reduce lead time for parts in East Malaysia by 30%.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Dec 01, 2023 at 5:37 pm

we shall see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • What parts dun have on Dec 01, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Pistons?

People said U believe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 01, 2023 at 9:54 pm

“new measures in place”…another big talk dude like the Roslan dude.
      Why is the spare part issue the hot topic still?
      Means,the problem is only partially resolved.
      Geely got into a marriage with DRB.
      They have differing work ethics n cultures.
      What do frustrated fanboys expect ?
      Pull out their vehicles from P1 workshops n void the warranty?
      P1…still on learning curve.But fanboy’s patience has a limit.

• Isn’t this what they said with X50?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • And they delivers. What’s the issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
      • Ethan on Dec 01, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Really? A recent post on Proton X50 group on facebook said he was waiting for side mirror for 6 months still didn’t get yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • Hamidikor,Ajibkor,Anwarkor (HAA) on Dec 01, 2023 at 9:56 pm

Side mirror…wait 6 months,you kidding?
          Go lah Lazada or Shoppee…60 hours dah sampai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • No spare Parts? on Dec 01, 2023 at 6:40 pm

STILL struck in COVID era?

PRC have already come out from their Caves months ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on Dec 01, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Its quite annoying to learn after 40 years in business, Proton still doesn’t know automotive parts warehouse systematic and efficient way.

No one knows what is Kanban? What is Genji Genbutsu? What is Just In Time or Kaizen from TQM TQS?

I wonder how they survives in the post until.today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • Proton sucks on Dec 01, 2023 at 9:41 pm

Simple, don’t buy Proton cars. Why take the risk with spare part issues, and sometimes, questionable service quality.

Pay a bit more for Japanese brands and you won’t have to worry about after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Penny wise pound foolish on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:14 am

Stretching the dollar doesn’t mean buying inferior products. Nak bermegah pun guna lah otak tanya dompet dulu

• Economics 101 on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:43 am

This is a free economy. Everyone is free to spend his/her money how ever he/she wishes. Why force other ppl to favor or hate certain brands according to your preferences?

• Sigh... on Dec 04, 2023 at 7:05 pm

And then jgn nk menyalak kalo nak kne tggu part smpi tiupan sangkakala.

Upskill diri tu dan work hard ya. Kalo x, P1 mmg selamanya utk anda.

• Fastback lvr on Dec 04, 2023 at 8:43 pm

Bruh, I’m owning Civic FE, but within 1 year steering rack got problem already. It’s HONDA civic FE, not PROTON Civic FE bruh!

• Jasonx on Dec 01, 2023 at 9:47 pm

Proton wouldn’t be just the proton of today if they really practice the above.

• Bigboytoy on Dec 02, 2023 at 8:30 am

Proton was hand over share to DRB Hicom in 2011 and Geely partnership since around 2017. They are good on promising anyway. Can complaint more because among the cheapest car in town and national project status.

• Newme on Dec 01, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Why is this a discussion? Is Proton known for leaving customers without parts thus unable to use the cars for months despite paying instalment to bank every month?

• Sohai on Dec 01, 2023 at 8:51 pm

My friend’s saga recently had a circuit board problem and had to wait 3 weeks. Lucky the car still can drive lah while waiting.
    If you have a rm80k budget, Just stretch abit and get a vios and save your headache later. How often you hear people regret buying a Vios?
    Unless you really want a more powerful turbo car. But you get hit with higher fuel consumption.
    I don’t know friend that drives City so can’t judge it.

• Just get a Perodua or Toyota on Dec 02, 2023 at 12:51 pm

MR Sohai
      I memang agree with u.
      My aircon supplier..bought the Hyundai 4 speed auto Saga..twice,at P1 workshop due to gearbox operating up to gear 3 only.
      After first replacement n 3 weeks downtime..a month later,same gearbox issue..he got so pissed off..while car at Protong workshop…he get a used car dealer to “makan” the car..penalised by bank for early settlement..proceeded to book a Bezza.
      The Hyundai 4 speed gear box is an ancient gearbox.P1 should have sourced the Aisin 4 speed auto.

• Listen first, believe later

• Yalah on Dec 01, 2023 at 11:12 pm

The so call parts showing in the picture above is what? Battery??! Hahahaha

• only S70 guaranteed to have parts? what about X70 and X50 owners

• He forgot to mention that they recommend customers to buy 2 units of S70 each.1 for use, 1 for spare parts.

• Last car before ev on Dec 02, 2023 at 10:18 am

Owned 2 protons (not x series), 2 out of 2 window cannot scrow up regulator failed. When go sc claim warranty said no stock have to wait 2~3 months which is very troublesome. Hopefully proton have these area improves.

• Funny, my Civic FE steering rack got issue wait 1 month for parts. Honda also got spare parts issue, not just proton. Just dont see Honda owners making noise because malu.

• Chipi on Dec 02, 2023 at 7:17 pm

Equally you don’t hear Honda come out and say “we have enough parts”.
      I am buying a Proton, in Malaysia. If parts also don’t have, what are the chances in export markets?

• Honda don’t even acknowledge their steering rack got issue.( I was told Im the first person to report it) Plus Honda won’t admit got spare parts issue. I don’t really care about proton, but thing is Honda also got this kind of issue, why users are keeping quiet is beyond me.

• Just buy a Toyota on Dec 03, 2023 at 9:21 pm

Come 2024,My camry is 20 years old….no steering rack issue.ONly power window bracket tukar,absorbers,regular oil changes…itu je.
          The Honda Accords..plenty of steering rack issue from 2004 to 2010..a known manufacturing defect.2004 Accord..leaking all types of oil.
          Just buy a Toyota…peace of mind.Got repairs…but minimal.

• Mesilis fapboi on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:07 am

Don’t get me started on jenama kayangan but at least they steady give courtesy cars

• was googling and found that parts problem is not only Proton but with Geely as well..Geely philipines has the same issues..

• YEAH Rite NO Spare Parts on Dec 02, 2023 at 2:35 pm

BUT proton is churning out records new car from factory after MCO ends to meet huge backlog orders

NO spart parts still can produce new cars even during MCO lockdown

• Ya right

• Komen alternatif on Dec 02, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Terbaik proton! Janji mesti ditepati. Jgn kempen je.

• Front grill broken? Geely emgrand grill as replacement huhu

• Shafrul on Dec 03, 2023 at 11:17 am

Spare part isu sudah lapok. Rakyat Malaysia kalau jealous jangan politikkan isu ini. Cuba tanya P2 buat crash test sekali lagi untuk axia baru dengan speed limit sebenar….kalau tak suka proton beli kereta lain. Cuba tanya kenapa Toyota jual saham dari P2? Ada sesiapa ingin komen????

• Proton never changed. They never focus spare parts availability and customer service. No point having good car with bad service.

• John Gagal on Dec 04, 2023 at 7:49 am

Simple solution:

Just go buy Perodua, Toyota, Honda.

Tak nak pening kepala, tak payah fikir2. Beli jer.

• No Spare Parts on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:49 pm

BUY toyota sure alot and cheap spare parts

Alot Fake/used(sold as NEW) parts or use P2 parts also can

• Parts Shortage on Dec 04, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Parts available for factory to keep on pushing out new cars, cause capturing SALES is first priority. But once you are customer, after sales is just second priority, so good luck waiting for parts availability.

• NADARAJAN on Dec 06, 2023 at 8:45 am

17/11/23, Selangor City:Saga 2021, no spark plug & Oil Filter for 2 weeks. Engine oil came few hours later. X50 drive shaft still no stock after waiting 5 mths. X70 drive shaft changed after 11 months

• Nadarajan on Dec 06, 2023 at 9:11 am

All parts are melted & recycled to make new model, that’s y we have new model but no parts