Digital road tax in Malaysia – vehicle owner can now share e-LKM road tax with other drivers via MyJPJ app

Starting from today, you can now share your vehicle’s digital road tax (e-LKM) with others via a new function in the MyJPJ. This was announced by the transport ministry as part of the next phase of its digitalisation plan, which also saw changes to the road tax and driving licence formats.

To share your vehicle’s road tax with others, simply log into the MyJPJ app, head over to ‘Profile’ and ‘Motor Vehicle Licence’. At the bottom of the page, tap on ‘Share LKM’ and key in the recipient’s IC number and the duration that the road tax will be shared. A security code will be shown which must be shared with the recipient.

On the recipient’s end, head on over to ‘Profile’ and refresh the page to see the shared road tax. Tap on that and key in the security code and the road tax will be activated and successfully shared. In an official release, the ministry said the system will remove any record of the road tax being shared if it isn’t activated within 24 hours.

Digital road tax sharing process via MyJPJ app; click to enlarge

Now, why would you need to do something like this? Well, the digital road tax is tied to the vehicle owner’s MyJPJ account, so others don’t have access to it. Additionally, this system also means there’s no need to display a road tax disc on the windscreen.

If you were to lend your car to someone else, there’s no way for the borrower to have your car’s road tax available in the event the authorities request for it, like at a roadblock for instance. With the new sharing function, the borrower would have your car’s road tax in their MyJPJ app.

Why not just use a screenshot of the digital road tax? It’s possible that a screenshot can be edited, and viewing the digital road tax in the MyJPJ app would be more “official” and prevents fraud. We’re checking with the road transport department on its stance on this and will update this page.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sohai on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:38 pm

absoltuely useless function.
    why need to share the roadtax info? isnt he the one that said that law enforcement should have the access to the roadtax status?
    The onus is on law enforcement officer to prove that the car does not have valid road tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • seitha on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:08 pm

I totally agree!!. The onus is on the gov!!
      This is actually to trace everybody’s movement. That’s why the need to share the IC.

I have been driving since i bought my first car way back in 1988. I have never borrowed anyone else car!!

Why dont this s@#$ gov have a database where the car no can be input and and be known if the road tax is valid!!

• limpek on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:47 pm

just use ONLY the (non digital) physical version lah

why create another problem to solve your previously created problems

the original physical road tax has been working perfectly fine since the birth of the country

not every thing have to be digital
    you can have your digital NRIC

but please remain the physical road tax lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • You are idiot on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:22 pm

Iban have no problem too without any cars. Brainless minded

• You are idiot on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:22 pm

Iban have no problem too without any cars. Brainless minded

• Evolution of mesia rotek on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:30 pm

Paper rotek > stupid sticker rotek > now a dumb digital rotek

If pulis or jpj setup roblok in rural places phone no signal how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Chan Tuck Sing on Jan 03, 2024 at 1:52 pm

Yes,very inconvinence especially when you are driving your children car

• Victor Wong on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:06 pm

Overzealous to go digital. if change govt this Im sure will be reversed once again

• PeNcacai on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:34 pm

If (God forbid) PN wins the next eleksion, just stick a RM100 note on your windscreen. That’ll be your detachable rotek for the authorities to…..just replenish after use

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Care Rakyat on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:13 pm

this Tansport Minister cari pasal to complicate Rakyat life, he is too free and tries to make” invention of another wheel”! Your department shit got to get Rakyat to “clean-up” your “department shit” by introducing all kinds of impractical fancy implementation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Limpeh on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:22 pm

JPJ should let us to have the option to use printed physical road tax. Don’t forget there are some elderly driver who are not so tech savvy and do not know how to use a smartphone. Like my parents I manage their email address, government app, FB account etc . What if those children who lives in overseas that are away from older parents and elders that do not have children?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Say whut? I’m 98 and i manage my own socmed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • While it may be good sometimes to have choices to make life easy. But, too many choices and option will hinder the whole improvement and progress.

If there are always choices and option, then most people will stick with the old way and hence we will not be able to progress.

We may always say or envious that other countries are progressing so much faster than Malaysia. But, if you look further. How can they progress so much. Because once they set to implement some new policy, they never look back and take away options. It may be harsh and hard. But, that is how they progress.

• What's the problem? on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:41 pm

C’mon PH. You were voted into power because you presented yourself as progressive with fresh, new and useful ideas. After 1 year, you look digressive and no different from PN & BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Laugh on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:13 pm

What happen to JPJ & Police having to check the roadtax validity on their own?

What if I don’t have a smartphone (rosak, tinggal rumah, tarak battery, Bla bla bla) or there’s simply no connection to check using phone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Busy sticking their heads into cars asking drivers
      Encik, dari mana nak pergi mana? Ada minum?

Drivers handing over license with something folded underneath
      Encik, tak bulih mcmni. Salah tau…tapi ramai kawan saya kat sini…hint hint

• Cerdik on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:57 pm

Why the need to share copy of road tax ? Enforcement officer can extract from agency record. If car is loan out and need to prove car not stolen can always do a simple verification such as asking name of car owner .

• Fz150 on Jan 02, 2024 at 5:26 pm

Previously at roadblock the driver stop, officer look at the roadtax sticker at windscreen and if all ok, off you go.
    So now, need to stop, lower window, take out phone, open the jpj app (might take a while if line slow), create unnecessary congestion hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Seitha on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:14 pm

Once they are in power, they lose their heads!!!.. well this story sums it up.

All the parts of the body argued over who would be boss
    Gastroenterology / 5 Comments

Who’s the Boss?

When the Lord made man, all the parts of the body argued over who would be boss.

The brain explained that since he controlled all the parts of the body, he should be boss. The legs argued that since they took man wherever he wanted to go, they should be boss. The stomach countered with the explanation that since he digested all the food, he should be boss. The eyes said that without them man would be helpless, so they should be boss. Then the ass@#$% applied for the job. The other parts of the body laughed so hard at this that the asshole became mad and closed up.

After a few days…

The brain went foggy, the legs got wobbly, the stomach got ill, and the eyes got crossed and unable to see. They all conceded and made the asshole boss.

This proved that you don’t have to be a brain to be boss…

Just an Ass@#$%.

• Susukotak on Jan 02, 2024 at 9:04 pm

Selama ada kereta ni, aku tunjuk LKM masa nak jual kereta jer. Fungsi nak kongsi2 ni buat apa?

• Watderfak on Jan 02, 2024 at 10:36 pm

Wtf with the system. Hey minister, Why don’t you tell JPJ to let post offices print the road tax like before… it’s not free. We paid when renewing but no roadtax ….

• UseBrainsLah on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:50 am

This implementation of “digital road tax” is stupid. The road tax should be linked to the vehicle not person.

So the police are the ones who should have an app not the driver. Then the police can use their app to look at cars and their license plates and automatically figure out whether the road tax, summons, etc have been paid or not, what car model and color it should be. Maybe even whether flagged for search/investigation.

• SAMAN on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:00 am

Encik Polis! Saman dia. dia pegang phone sebab nak tunjuk roadtax.

• Already in Database on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:37 am

Since it is digitized which means, there’s record in JPJ Database which means, JPJ officers already know the car is with valid RoadTax or not. There’s not a need for us to PROOF to JPJ officers with digital copy, they should have already knew!!! The digital copy is for our own safe keeping / records of payment. Traffic Police should have access to this database too!!! Unless, Traffic Police wants to find fault & minum kopi and ask us to proof it, or else, i dont see a need for us to proof to the authorities whereby I’ve paid and registered with the authority in digital form in the first place, just a search and they can have all the details.
    If JPJ wants to transform digitization, please do it properly.

• pomen on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:40 am

so it mean now everyone need to install this useless app??
    before this they said not necessary…ape benda dohh

• With all this hassle better just past the road tax disc on the windscreen. The authorities should have a system to check details of car by their own not asking driver to log in in myJPJ….if you go thru 2 or 3 block….
    Does lah.

• Use Fake App on Jan 05, 2024 at 6:34 pm

So how are the police going to know whether the app is fake or not? Maybe as a protest against this retardedness, all of us should stop paying road tax and use a fake app to show faked road tax status to the police.

If they are going to scan anything on the app to confirm, they might as well just scan the car license plate from far away. Or manually enter or speak the number to the app. No need to even stop the car.

• Stupid. making ppl busy only.

• Lim KC on Feb 04, 2024 at 7:05 am

It’s high tech era, young or old we have to learn to adapt to changes.

• Loong on Mar 14, 2024 at 10:57 am

I have 3 cars, being used by my children.
    I have tried to share the roadtax via the apps, all failed.
    Even my children cannot download and register the MyJPJ apps successfully, and each of them need to go to JPJ for the apps. If paper roadtax, nothing need to be done, just do it online and can be sent to house address. Hassle free!
    My roadtax renewed on 8 Feb 2024, till now, still fail to be shared…..